We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine campground, mosquitoes bad this January” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flamingo Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Everglades National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flamingo Campground
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fine campground, mosquitoes bad this January”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Becasue water levels are high, the mosquitoes are worse than nornal right now. That said, this is a fine campground. Large sites, relaxed vibe, very clean bathrooms. Remember you are at the end of a very long road. There is gas, some basic convenience store food and a diner style restaurant. It is important that you think through your supplies and your sightseeing plans to avoid back and forth.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
8 Thank hap-camp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    16
    23
    1
    3
See reviews for
15
22
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Eden Prairie, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

We camped here for a couple of nights and i must say, have not seen so many mosquitoes ever ! But if you are smart you can avoid the dusk and dawn times when they are most hungry. A very good sized campground. The boat tour of back country from the nearby visitor center is a must. This is as close you can get to nature.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Preeti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEATTLE
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

I know it's in Florida and in the Everglades and bugs are expected. But the mass attack from mosquitos and no-see-ums was a bit much for me. I visited in December and wore protection head to toe (which greatly helped) but I lasted only one night. I'm a wimp.

Not factoring in the bug experience, I thought Flamingo is a very good campground. The best aspect is the separation of tent campers from RV campers; they go to different areas. I tent camped and did not hear any generators all night! Bathrooms have free showers with hot water. Tent camping sites are on mowed grass with picnic table and firepit, and are spacious. Most sites have tree cover while some have none. Coastal Prairie hiking trail starts at this camp.

Nice campground, just be prepared for bugs.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank B T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Staff was horrible and very misinformed. Absolutely a horrible experience. The staff made the campground not worth staying here. Worst customer service I have EVER experienced!!! I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank m v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

GO to the everglades and go all the way to the end to flamingo to see crocks and manatees. While I did not see one they have a listing of sightings and if you can swing it take a boat ride for a better chance of seeing these critters. Take a lot of bug spray and be on the look out for gators crocks and manatees plus all the blue herons you could imagine. This is an amazing place.

Room Tip: BRING BUG SPRAY!!!!! Campground rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Leeman7957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

First, understand that this is NOT a resort. It does not have the sorts of facilities that a fancy RV park has. But what it does have is proximity to some of the most beautiful nature you will ever encounter. And it meets all of your basic needs comfortably. There, having got that out of the way, let me tell you about why we love this place!
Everglades National Park is BIG. On the Miami side, it has one major paved road that meanders its way all the way the the southern tip of Florida, and that is where Flamingo Camground is located. Most visitors never venture past the first 10 miles at the north of the park, so as you go farther south, you will have less and less company to scare off the wildlife on the beautiful nature trails.
Flamingo Campground has never in all the 25 plus years I have camped there, been overcrowded. You can usually pick your campsite yourself. Campsites are massive and beautifully grassed, bigger than most house lots nowadays. Some sites have trees, some don't - take your pick. The washrooms are large, clean, and they do have hot water, though it is provided by solar panels and i find that how hot the water is does vary from time to time. I have always found an irritating lack of counter space or hooks to hang your toiletry bag however. Each campsite has a BBQ grill or firepit.
IMPORTANT NOTE: The campground is at the very end of the park as you drive south. So once you arrive there, you will face a long drive back north to get to the nearest grocery store or coffee shop. So go prepared with most of what you need. Right in Flamingo, there is a small store at the marina that sells the sort of things a corner store does and a small restaurant (Buttonwood Cafe) for those lunch or dinners when you just don't want to cook another meal. But other than those two options, you will be eating whatever you drove in with you. This is NOT the time to discover you forgot to bring your cereal!
From the campground you will have a multitude of lovely nature walks to do. Our favourites are the Mahogany Hammock trail which winds through hardwood jungle/forest and often has barred owls to be seen, and the Anhinga Trail, where you are guaranteed to see dozens of alligators and more wading birds and herons than you could possibly imagine - most only a few feet away from you and going about their own business oblivious to you.
From the marina you can rent canoes and you can go out on the bay, or down the canal into the backcountry. You can also take boat tours to the bay (we saw dolphins!) or down the canal to the backcountry. These are normal boats as air boats are environmentally damaging to the Everglades and are not allowed in the park.
FINAL AND IMPORTANT NOTE: The time of year to go is critical. Winter and spring are the dry season in the Everglades. Especially by March, this means that animals are closely packed into water holes, often engaging in entertaining mating rituals, making for great viewing, and there are very few mosquitoes. Summer is NOT the time to visit, as the mosquitoes can be unimaginably bad, AND there is less to see. Besides, if you go when it is cooler, there is a chance of seeing manatees in the water by the marina!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
31 Thank intrepidpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

January 2013 we were there for 2 weekend enjoying as much as possible.......soooooo much to do, see, here the awesome Ranger talks/tours, Kayaking, birding, biking, hiking just to mention a few things...... So we are heading back today for another week for more fun times before we leave Southern Florida.........Our National Parks are sooooo wonderful to expierence. Seeeeeee yaaaaaaaa in the National Parks.......... R(O)(O)(O)(O)ger

Room Tip: Camping.........on the grid or off, just doing. Families....recommend older children no toddlers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ROOOOger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Flamingo Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Campground

Property: Flamingo Campground
Address: Everglades National Park Main Road, Everglades National Park, FL 33034
Location: United States > Florida > Everglades National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Everglades National Park
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the ocean with views of Florida Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Flamingo Campground Hotel Everglades National Park
Flamingo Hotel Fl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing