We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love Gumbo Linbo trees or Tourist Trees”
Review of Gumbo Limbo Trail

Gumbo Limbo Trail
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Half-mile hiking trail through scenic areas.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I love Gumbo Linbo trees or Tourist Trees”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

These trees look like they are peeling from a severe sunburn. There are many other varieties in the trail including the strangler fig and many air plants. It was cool on the trail and it was a nice loop and not too long. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MissRainy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    55
    51
    18
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nothing to see here but trees.”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

There was no animal life at all in this trail. I stood still at several places to see if I could detect any movement or sound, but nothing. Not even a bird.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheKnightWhoSaysNi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borrego Springs, California
Level Contributor
372 reviews
185 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 530 helpful votes
“A Walk Through The Woods”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

What I liked best about this loop trail at the Royal Palm Visitor Center is the interpretative plaques placed every 100 feet or so as you walk through the hardwood jungle hammock packed with exotic subtropical growths such as strangler figs, etc. Really cool! Free restrooms. Vending machines.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank thunefeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Ohio
Level Contributor
1,319 reviews
887 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,655 helpful votes
“Come See Tourist Trees”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This half mile trail takes one through a hardwood hammock and the only things of real interest are the Gumbo Limbo trees also known as tourist trees because of their red peeling bark. This trail is much inferior to the nearby and terrific Anhinga trail. In my opinion, a better hike to and through a hardwood hammock, slightly higher land that remains dry all year long and thereby supports a hardwood ecosystem, the Mahogany Hammock trail.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve1362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentville, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful and buggy”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Absolutely beautiful wooded trail. Unlike anything we have where I'm from. I wasn't prepared for the bugs, and went in with shorts and a tank top. I had to almost jog through, not taking the time to view as I would have liked to. It's a very short trail, and if you're at the Anhinga Trail, you should definitely take a few minutes more to check this out. Cover up.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonAndElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gumbo Limbo Trail also viewed

Everglades National Park, FL
Everglades National Park, FL
 
Everglades National Park, FL
Everglades National Park, FL
 

Been to Gumbo Limbo Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing