We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good sight at end of trail, but boring to get there.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Snake Bight

Snake Bight
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Area to canoe and view the plant and animal life.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good sight at end of trail, but boring to get there.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

It may have been the time we went in February but didn't see much beyond a few birds here and there. The trail itself is a straight path to a small overlook that is blocked by vegetation. I suppose they didn't build the trail out past the vegetation for a specific reason but we did find this trail quite boring. A lovely view at the end of the trail but worth the 1 1/2 walking, 45 minutes each way, we wouldn't do it again. Like I said the trail is about 45 minutes of walking in the bush on a man made well trodden path but once you get to the end you have to travel the exact same path back, in the same straight line. Our 10 year old boy was quite bored and to be honest so were the both of us. We are complete nature and outdoorsy but this path just didn't make it to our top 10 list.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank bresco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    8
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Take you bug spray”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

This another great place to see so much just remember to take your bug spray. Many birds and flowers and interesting plants.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BroncoTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“See as much as you can!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

My husband two children and I walked Snake Bight Trail just before dusk hoping to glimpse a snake and we sure did! It was almost more than we bargained for. The trail was surrounded in stunning vegetation, flanked by a stream that followed the wide dirt path for it's length and constantly dotted with butterflies. There was were no visitors to share the path besides ourselves as we toured. It was like the Garden of Eden, serpent and all considering we came across a cotton mouth coiled right on the edge of the path. My husband saw it a good 10 feet in advance, otherwise it might have posed a serious danger. Keep your eyes open, because this is a beautiful place to see!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ALNF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beautiful Jersey shore
Level Contributor
142 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Mosquitos - 'nuf said”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

We sprayed down with repellent at the suggestion of our field guide. even bathed in bug juice, we were both covered with mosquitos less than 50 yards down the trail. By 150 yards we realized we wouldn't make the 1/8 mile ONE WAY trip, so we abandoned our walk and RAN back to the car. This was our 2nd attempt here - we won't try again.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank NJBirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henniker, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not much to see at low tide”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

Our bike ride had us at the board walk overlook during low tide. There was very little to see as compared with other parts of the park (e.g. Anhinga Trail)

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snake Bight also viewed

Everglades National Park, FL
Everglades National Park, FL
 
Everglades National Park, FL
Everglades National Park, FL
 

Been to Snake Bight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing