We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abandoned view”
Review of Flamingo

Flamingo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Small village that is the tourist area, and offers lodging, tours, dining and shopping.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Abandoned view”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was there in April 2013 and the visitor center looks very much abandoned. I hear from my friend who lives in FL that it's been going through a remodeling for a while. The drive to get to Flamingo was more interesting than actually getting there; we were able to do some of the trails. Don't expect too much besides a different view of the Everglades.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cmsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    86
    87
    43
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nature and the sea”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Flamingo offers a couple of attractions: boat tours of the islands and kayak rentals plus camping on the point. This is the gateway to 10 thousand islands and is just beautiful. The evening offer quiet, dark ( great for telescopes) and wind. there are lots of birds and trails leading to waterways. there is a small supply station and a small wildlife museum.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
680 reviews
507 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Worth the drive if you have the time”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

It is a long drive from entrance to Flamingo (35 miles). However if you have the time it is good to drive the whole way as it allows you to experience all the habitat zones of the park. There are boat rides and canoe and kayak rentals at Flamingo as well as great views of Florida Bay. However, the real reason we went to Flamingo and my favorite part was seeing American crocodiles in the canal at the marina. In addition, we also saw two manatees in the same canal. I have seen a lot of Gators but this was my first crocodile and that made the entire trip worth it for me even though they were a long way away. Manatees cool as well. Would have like to rent canoe or kayak.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Grover R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nice ride to the bottom of the state”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Flamingo is about 50 minutes from Royal Palm and is a nice ride out to the Southern tip of mainland Florida. There's a nice marina and plenty of water and islands to explore. The campground close by is very basic, and really nothing special.

Some nice hiking trails and lots of birds. We did not see many gators, crocs, turtles, etc...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sjhokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bend, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Boat ride”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Again, another view of the Everglades, learn about mangroves and the world's deadliest tree, see crocodiles, and birds and huge lakes...........wonderful experience. You can see the Atlantic Ocean, find out what brackish water is, or an estuary, meet folks from all over the world.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flamingo also viewed

Everglades National Park, FL
Everglades National Park, FL
 
Everglades National Park, FL
Everglades National Park, FL
 

Been to Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing