We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best single stop in the southern part of the park” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anhinga Trail

Anhinga Trail
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A half-mile boardwalk along a man-made canal with striking views.
South Salem, NY
Level Contributor
122 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Best single stop in the southern part of the park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

As another reviewer indicated its a bit unfortunate that this trail comes so early on the road from the Ernest Coe Visitor Center because there is no place that compares for easy access, beauty and wildlife. We were lucky in that there were no vultures visible in the parking area so we did not mess with the free tarps provided. From the trail we saw a good number of the namesake anhingas as well as ibis, heron, alligators, and turtles. It does pay to look up as well as down as we did see 4 vultures in a tree toward the end of the Anhinga Trail. While you are there at Royal Palm the Gumbo Limbo trail is also interesting as a contrast although we saw no wildlife there apart from some very small lizards.

Trip Advisor would do well to have a place to review the park as a whole. After visiting we would not recommend that people drive all the way to Flamingo unless they want to take a boat trip from there (they run 1 hr 45 mins and cost about $39 each). Better to stop at and turn around after Pa-hay-okee overlook.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Swegnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    777
    168
    51
    11
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We stopped over on the way back to Miami from the Keys. So glad we did. The place was teeming with wildlife at close range. Fantastic for kids! Only warning: don't follow the map link on Tripadvisor; go to the visitor center.

Helpful?
1 Thank DanielCharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
177 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Anhinga Trail at Royal Palm Visitor Center is convenient to Florida City.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

If you only have a few hours to spent in the Everglades this trail gives a good exposure to alligators, Anginga birds, vultures, and various fish. It's all either paved or boardwalk so it's accessible for everyone. The visitors were multinational on the Saturday afternoon we were there. We expected to pay a fee, but the gate was open with no one to collect money and no box for fees. They provide tarps to put on your car to keep the vultures from eating the plastic and rubber parts. Only on car had a tarp covering kayaks. We did see a vulture eating a cell phone antenna on the back of a car. The store/ office at Royal Palms was closed. We stopped at the main visitor center to get a map and look at the exhibits before driving down the road to Royal Palm.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank molly30087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Up close and personal with the Anhingas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

After a day of driving nearby Loop Road, the Anhinga trail was a great way to top it off. Though we had seen many anhingas throughout the day, you don't get as close to them anywhere else than at this attraction at the Royal Palm visitor centre. Literally you will see them within a few inches right on the wood railings of the bridges. Such beautiful and diverse looking birds; a truly wonderful experience. Short enough that it's not too tiring as well.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Mills, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Wow wow wow beautiful place. its a very easy trail and some 500 ft from the parking lot you'll see so many wildlife. American alligators are every where, so many types of birds, anhingas, blue heron, osprey, turkey vulture, ibis and so on. if you are visiting everglades don't miss this trail.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AravindBabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anhinga Trail also viewed

Everglades National Park, FL
Everglades National Park, FL
 
Everglades National Park, FL
Everglades National Park, FL
 

Been to Anhinga Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing