We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gators, Vultures and Anhingas Galore”
Review of Anhinga Trail

Anhinga Trail
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A half-mile boardwalk along a man-made canal with striking views.
Borrego Springs, California
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
185 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 531 helpful votes
“Gators, Vultures and Anhingas Galore”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

If you want to see wildlife, you won't find an easier or more convenient boardwalk than this one. Dec 19 had 6 gators easily visible, vultures on the handrails so close you could almost touch them and Short-tailed Hawks (2 dark morph and one light morph) overhead with the Turkey Vultures and Black Vultures.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank thunefeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    845
    184
    52
    12
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great wildlife trail”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We travelled from Orlando so about 250 miles and this was the best part of the Everglades which was otherwise disappointing. It is a short walk with many birds to see. We only saw one very small alligator so were very disappointed. In fact this was the only one we saw on our travels through the Everglades, so we were unlucky. Everglades apparently means sea of grass and that is precisely what you see, a boring landscape of grass, no hills, completely flat for mile after mile for ever with the odd bird to break up the boredom. Oh and lots of mosquitos so go prepared with long sleeves and spray even in winter.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BucksJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
2,742 reviews
1,445 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,516 helpful votes
“Wildlife”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Things to bring
- hat
- sunscreen
- water
- light clothes, comfy shoes/ sandals

Tips
- drive slowly. We saw lots of beautiful birds and several turtles trying to cross the road or just walking near by. We rescued 2.
- hide all the values that you don't need in your car before you arrive to the trails.

Pros
- gorgeous views
- peaceful
- wildlife (we saw an alligator, turtles, fish and several beautiful birds)
- easy, it has a nice boardwalk

Cons
- some plastic bottles
- people yelling (this is not a mall!!!)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank HelenaGuerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great wildlife”
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Very nice trail. The boardwalk is very nicely made and makes you go through the wilderness easily. We saw all the animals that were in the folders. The alligators were very close and the anhingas were nice to watch. We made some very nice pictures.

Helpful?
Thank Martijn_1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“So many wild birds to see in one place”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This was the first trail we did in the Everglades,it was amazing. The first bird I saw was in fact an anhinga, there were lots of them there.Also vultures, white ibises, storks, a number of different herons and white ibises and more. There were alligators too. This is a fairly short walk suitable for all ages and abilities.I would recommend this trail as not to be missed.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank gypsycat13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anhinga Trail also viewed

Everglades National Park, FL
Everglades National Park, FL
 
Everglades National Park, FL
Everglades National Park, FL
 

Been to Anhinga Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing