We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Hiking

We hiked in the early morning. It was really quiet. Be aware of bears as they like to hike along... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
End_of_Cloud
,
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Short, easy hike

Savage River is at the 15 mile mark in Denali National Park. It's as far as you can take your car... read more

Reviewed September 24, 2018
Patty Z
,
Sacramento, California
Read all 171 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Denali National Park and Preserve
from $139.00
More Info
from $95.00
More Info
from $159.00
More Info
from $99.00
More Info
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveler rating
109
45
5
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
45
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews easy hike pleasant walk great hike foot bridge dall sheep prairie dogs last point small wildlife arctic ground squirrels moderate hike free shuttle rock formations miles round trip short hike wild flowers mile drive pit toilets
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We hiked in the early morning. It was really quiet. Be aware of bears as they like to hike along the river too.

Thank End_of_Cloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018

Savage River is at the 15 mile mark in Denali National Park. It's as far as you can take your car. The loop trail is an easy 2.5 mile hike along the river.

1  Thank Patty Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018

My wife and I hiked this trail about a week ago and thoroughly enjoyed it. The views were great and the hike was easy enough for the earliest of beginners. In total the hike was about 3 miles and the terrain remained relatively flat. Unfortunately we did not see any wildlife on this trail, but the views definitely made up for it- especially with the vivid colored flora in mid September. Parking is very limited at the Savage River Loop/ Savage Alpine Trail entrance, maybe a total of 15 (?) parking spots. I suggest you arrive right when the park opens or shortly thereafter if you intend to do either of the aforementioned trails.

Thank jameswU8379TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2018

This is a short trail that gives you a taste of the National Park in around an hour. you can drive to the parking area, but it is better to take the free shuttle as parking is rather limited.

Thank Pittsburgh_cyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018

You are supposed to be able to see sheep but we did not see any wild life. There were some interesting rock formations and the hike was level/easy. There were some spots where the trail was covered by water. There just wasn't much of a view change.

Thank becky h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2018

We got to the park around 4-5 pm & wanted to check into our hotel & drive into the park for a quick hike before dinner. This worked out great because we got to drive into the park as far as private vehicles are permitted & then do a quick hike. The trail is very flat with interesting scenery. We did make noise to let any bears know that we were there but didn't see any. The trail took about an hour. We hiked to the right & there is a bridge to cross the river & then you'll briefly walk on the road to get back to the parking lot.

1  Thank heatherminier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

Easy (with proper shoe) and beautiful trail at the end of the road. Especially on a rainy and breezy day. Only caution is parking does appear limited so good luck.

Thank LesleyYang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2018

Great trail at the entrance to the park. Easy two mile round trip with good parking and facilities. Spectacular views from alongside a nice smallish river of clear cold water. Plenty of places to sit and rest or just take in the beautiful scenery.

Thank Beachguy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2018 via mobile

It was a cloudy day on our day visit . The trail is two miles round trip. It was super easy hiking. We did not see animal. By the way, this is as far as you can drive into Park with your own car. Parking isn’t difficult.

Thank feil675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2018

This is as far as you can drive into Denali with your own vehicle. It's a nice trail along the Savage River and you can do a mile loop, down one side and up the other. Great mountain views.

1  Thank kjkupiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews