We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best kept secret in Denali” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skyline Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denali National Park and Preserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Skyline Lodge
Haddonfield, Nj
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in Denali”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Our friend and travel agent said we had to stay in the park to get the real Denali experience but the "deluxe" lodges didn't appeal to us,and neither did the high prices. Then we found this place (not in our new guidebooks but online) and so glad we did. The other reviews here said it all: a real gem for the independent travelers like us, who don't mind sharing bathrooms, like trading travel stories over breakfast and dinner, and gazing at sunrise and sunset from each rooms' balcony. Matt, Greg, Katie, Janet and the rest of the staff were incredibly welcoming and helpful. Healthy home cooked meals, clean bathrooms and cabinlike rooms with good beds. Mosquitoes not nearly so bad up here along the mountainside. Book months in advance because there are only 5 rooms. You can bring your own wine or buy it or beer there. And theres a sauna too. We stayed three nights so we had 2 full days to hike and take it all in. We recommend the walk up Friday Ridge across the road to Wickersham Dome, for a nice view of McKinley summit on a clear day. And catch the camper bus back to Eilson Visitor Center for breathtaking views of the Alaska Range and the summit and a hike up Alpine Trail. We took the 6-hour camper bus to the lodge, and then flew out, both to save time and for the fantastic views of Denali in all its majesty.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Car0l12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg L, Owner at Skyline Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Car0l12,

We're glad that your travel agent found us, too, and we appreciate your suggestions for future visitors to the Kantishna Valley! Come back anytime!

Cheers,

The KAT Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    15
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
41
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

If I didn't like the people running Skyline so much, I wouldn't rave about it - it would be better for me if I could always get a room there without having to worry about booking months in advance. But it's really a treasure for independent travelers. Fabulous food (Marge gave me her recipe for ginger snaps) and delightful people - customers and staff. Yes you have to share 4 communal bathrooms but they are meticulously clean. I hope to return soon and I wouldn't consider staying anyplace else in Denali.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Francie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg L, Owner at Skyline Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Francie K,

You and the boys were great! We had a feeling that you'd fit right in when we spoke to you in between runs on the ski slope last winter. Thanks for raving about us, and enjoy the ginger snaps.

Your pals,

The KAT Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed at the Skyline Lodge 3 nights in early July, after flying in on their Kat Air Taxi (if at all possible, fly at least one direction- it's amazing!). Cozy, comfortable rooms, a little on the small side, and the bathrooms are shared in the main lodge (steps away). However, none of that matters when you realize that you are at the end of the park road in Denali. Biking to Wonder Lake, hiking trails in total solitude, or just admiring the landscape, it's a great location. Dinner is served family style and dining with the other guests (there are only about 8 rooms) was a ton of fun, as we all got to know each other over a great meal each evening. Breakfast and lunch items are put out in the kitchen to help yourself (BTW the coffee was fantastic!!). I highly recommend it and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg L, Owner at Skyline Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Joseph Z,

Thanks, so much, for taking the time to post a review for our future guests, and we're super pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We're also pleased that you enjoyed the high quality coffee--we like it too! We'll see you and the NY gang on your next trip to Alaska.

The KAT Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We flew in with Kat Air from the park entrance on a slightly cloudy day. The flight was amazing and the pilot was very professional. Arrived at the lodge to find a great facility with some of the nicest lodging staff I've ever met. We rode the lodge bikes to wonder lake after a nice dinner. The next morning we went on a hike and were fortunate to spend a few hours seeing denali with no clouds. The only negative is directed toward our trip planning by not staying longer!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg L, Manager at Skyline Lodge, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear RLb266,

Thanks for your review, and we were psyched to share Denali with you! You definitely took advantage of your brief stay, and we hope that we'll be able to host you for a longer stay during your next Alaskan adventure.

Kind regards,

The KAT crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
providence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

After a terrible stay at a nearby resort that dumps raw sewage into the K. river and treats it's staff like endentured servants, the ethical and compassionate folks who run Kanair/Skyline Lodge allowed us to eat our meals with them. They did not need to do this - we were not their guests. Several days of cookies, only apples (for fruit), wilted lettuce and Chinese-pork-based cold cuts, took us to the breaking point on our previous meal 'plan'. We brought wine for all the guests at the Skylodge in gratitude. Moral: This is an isolated spot. Choose your stay with caution.

Food was great. They are the only air taxi in the park. Flights daily = fresh food. As the spot accomodates a limited amount of guests, it is very intimate like a ski/hunting lodge with a bunch of friends. Cannot comment about the actual rooms - the rustic public areas were warm and inviting - but the integrity of the place speaks for itself. It's been three plus years since we were there. It saved that leg of our trip from disaster. Well done.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank d s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg L, Owner at Skyline Lodge, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear d s,

Thanks for keeping us in mind three plus years after your stay... at a different lodge :) We're glad to hear that we helped to make the Denali leg of your trip a more enjoyable one, and we look forward to hosting you on your next trip to the Last Frontier.

Best,

The KAT crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Kantishna Lodge is certainly better value than other lodges in the area. However, after staying 2 nights deep ' inside the park' I thought it would have been better to have had four nights in Healy. Kantishna does not have a lot of merit- the views are of a village rather than a wilderness area and even subsistence hunting is allowed in the park.

Otherwise,we enjoyed Skyline Lodge, and I thought that it was good value (about $335 per couple per night for all food and lodging) compared to other Kantishna places I looked at. The only problem was an unpleasant septic smell but I guessed that it was because it was so late in the season and the infrastructure was not quite adequate. There are two or three shared bathrooms in the main part of the lodge and it is necessary to leave the individual cabins to use these facilities. Remember to bring a dressing gown and slippers to avoid having to get completely dressed in the middle of the night if you need to go to the bathroom. There was a comfortable sitting area and some educational books available for guests. The food was simple but adequate. Breakfast was continental style and bread, sliced processed meat, and cheese was available for a ‘self made’ sandwich inside the lodge or a bagged lunch to take hiking. Dinner was served family style. The dishes one night were chilli beef, ravioli , peas and carrots, cheesy potatoes and a green salad. There was a banana and cream pie for dessert and coffee and tea were available at any time. Our cabin was very quiet and the beds were comfortable

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank oliverAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg L, Owner at Skyline Lodge, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear oliverAustralia,

We were pleased to hear that you found Skyline Lodge to be a good value, as that is exactly what we strive to be. As the base of operations for Kantishna Air Taxi, our goal is to provide independent guests with a friendly, comfortable and affordable stay at the "end of the road." We're glad we were able to provide that for you during your visit, and thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts with our future guests.

Sincerely,

The KAT crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

About a fortnight back, we were sitting disappointed at the visitor’s centre of Denali National Park as the bus which was supposed to take us inside the park got cancelled due to heavy snowfall. However, it proved to be quite a blessing in disguise as the Skyline Lodge offered its stranded guests a free flight into the park  Needless to say we jumped at the offer. We rushed to the airstrip, hopped on the plane and took off for the 45 minutes spectacular flight around the shimmering Mt. Denali and through a snow storm – unforgettable!! The pilot even took a detour to show us the mountain peeking above the clouds, which was awesome of him.

Landing in the deep wilderness, we were received by a very welcoming and cheerful host ‘Matt’ who drove us to the Skyline Lodge, up in the mountains. Our room was cosy, comfortable and clean. Though there were only 3 bathrooms, to be shared by all the guests, there were no long queues outside their doors (maybe because I was not the first one to occupy them :P). The home cooked food was delicious and was followed by an even more yummy ice cream, made of blueberries handpicked from the nearby mountains.

The best thing about the lodge is however its location which offers a great view of the valley below and its surrounding mountains. We spent the evening in the lounge watching the sunset and its hues which lingered as late as 11 in the night. We also met some interesting visitors and had a great time sharing each other’s Alaskan experiences.

P.S. Matt - Remember to get the laser printer ;)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank marmot_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg L, Owner at Skyline Lodge, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear marmot_traveller,

Adventure: That which happens without design; a remarkable occurrence; a striking event; a stirring incident; as, "the adventures of one's life."

Sometimes buses are cancelled due to snowfall. Sometimes you fly by the highest peak in North America for free. Sometimes you eat homemade blueberry ice cream. Sometimes you experience an 11pm sunset from the end of the road in Denali National Park.

We were glad to share in your adventure!

The KAT crew

P.S.

Sometimes Matt remembers the laser printer :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denali National Park and Preserve hotels
33.6 mi away
Denali Backcountry Lodge
Denali Backcountry Lodge
#1 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
33.8 mi away
Denali Cabins
Denali Cabins
#12 of 26 in Denali National Park and Preserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
112.3 mi away
Kantishna Roadhouse
Kantishna Roadhouse
#7 of 26 in Denali National Park and Preserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.2 mi away
Denali Park Village
Denali Park Village
#20 of 26 in Denali National Park and Preserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
33.4 mi away
McKinley Creekside Cabins
McKinley Creekside Cabins
#1 of 7 in McKinley Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
34.2 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skyline Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyline Lodge

Property: Skyline Lodge
Address: Kantishna Air Taxi, PO Box 46, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755-0046
Location: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Denali National Park and Preserve
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Skyline Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing