We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Kantishna hideaway”
Review of Skyline Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denali National Park and Preserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Skyline Lodge
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed at the Skyline Lodge 3 nights in early July, after flying in on their Kat Air Taxi (if at all possible, fly at least one direction- it's amazing!). Cozy, comfortable rooms, a little on the small side, and the bathrooms are shared in the main lodge (steps away). However, none of that matters when you realize that you are at the end of the park road in Denali. Biking to Wonder Lake, hiking trails in total solitude, or just admiring the landscape, it's a great location. Dinner is served family style and dining with the other guests (there are only about 8 rooms) was a ton of fun, as we all got to know each other over a great meal each evening. Breakfast and lunch items are put out in the kitchen to help yourself (BTW the coffee was fantastic!!). I highly recommend it and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joseph Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg L, Owner at Skyline Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Joseph Z,

Thanks, so much, for taking the time to post a review for our future guests, and we're super pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We're also pleased that you enjoyed the high quality coffee--we like it too! We'll see you and the NY gang on your next trip to Alaska.

The KAT Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 84 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

We flew in with Kat Air from the park entrance on a slightly cloudy day. The flight was amazing and the pilot was very professional. Arrived at the lodge to find a great facility with some of the nicest lodging staff I've ever met. We rode the lodge bikes to wonder lake after a nice dinner. The next morning we went on a hike and were fortunate to spend a few hours seeing denali with no clouds. The only negative is directed toward our trip planning by not staying longer!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg L, Manager at Skyline Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear RLb266,

Thanks for your review, and we were psyched to share Denali with you! You definitely took advantage of your brief stay, and we hope that we'll be able to host you for a longer stay during your next Alaskan adventure.

Kind regards,

The KAT crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

After a terrible stay at a nearby resort that dumps raw sewage into the K. river and treats it's staff like endentured servants, the ethical and compassionate folks who run Kanair/Skyline Lodge allowed us to eat our meals with them. They did not need to do this - we were not their guests. Several days of cookies, only apples (for fruit), wilted lettuce and Chinese-pork-based cold cuts, took us to the breaking point on our previous meal 'plan'. We brought wine for all the guests at the Skylodge in gratitude. Moral: This is an isolated spot. Choose your stay with caution.

Food was great. They are the only air taxi in the park. Flights daily = fresh food. As the spot accomodates a limited amount of guests, it is very intimate like a ski/hunting lodge with a bunch of friends. Cannot comment about the actual rooms - the rustic public areas were warm and inviting - but the integrity of the place speaks for itself. It's been three plus years since we were there. It saved that leg of our trip from disaster. Well done.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg L, Owner at Skyline Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear d s,

Thanks for keeping us in mind three plus years after your stay... at a different lodge :) We're glad to hear that we helped to make the Denali leg of your trip a more enjoyable one, and we look forward to hosting you on your next trip to the Last Frontier.

Best,

The KAT crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Kantishna Lodge is certainly better value than other lodges in the area. However, after staying 2 nights deep ' inside the park' I thought it would have been better to have had four nights in Healy. Kantishna does not have a lot of merit- the views are of a village rather than a wilderness area and even subsistence hunting is allowed in the park.

Otherwise,we enjoyed Skyline Lodge, and I thought that it was good value (about $335 per couple per night for all food and lodging) compared to other Kantishna places I looked at. The only problem was an unpleasant septic smell but I guessed that it was because it was so late in the season and the infrastructure was not quite adequate. There are two or three shared bathrooms in the main part of the lodge and it is necessary to leave the individual cabins to use these facilities. Remember to bring a dressing gown and slippers to avoid having to get completely dressed in the middle of the night if you need to go to the bathroom. There was a comfortable sitting area and some educational books available for guests. The food was simple but adequate. Breakfast was continental style and bread, sliced processed meat, and cheese was available for a ‘self made’ sandwich inside the lodge or a bagged lunch to take hiking. Dinner was served family style. The dishes one night were chilli beef, ravioli , peas and carrots, cheesy potatoes and a green salad. There was a banana and cream pie for dessert and coffee and tea were available at any time. Our cabin was very quiet and the beds were comfortable

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank oliverAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg L, Owner at Skyline Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear oliverAustralia,

We were pleased to hear that you found Skyline Lodge to be a good value, as that is exactly what we strive to be. As the base of operations for Kantishna Air Taxi, our goal is to provide independent guests with a friendly, comfortable and affordable stay at the "end of the road." We're glad we were able to provide that for you during your visit, and thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts with our future guests.

Sincerely,

The KAT crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

About a fortnight back, we were sitting disappointed at the visitor’s centre of Denali National Park as the bus which was supposed to take us inside the park got cancelled due to heavy snowfall. However, it proved to be quite a blessing in disguise as the Skyline Lodge offered its stranded guests a free flight into the park  Needless to say we jumped at the offer. We rushed to the airstrip, hopped on the plane and took off for the 45 minutes spectacular flight around the shimmering Mt. Denali and through a snow storm – unforgettable!! The pilot even took a detour to show us the mountain peeking above the clouds, which was awesome of him.

Landing in the deep wilderness, we were received by a very welcoming and cheerful host ‘Matt’ who drove us to the Skyline Lodge, up in the mountains. Our room was cosy, comfortable and clean. Though there were only 3 bathrooms, to be shared by all the guests, there were no long queues outside their doors (maybe because I was not the first one to occupy them :P). The home cooked food was delicious and was followed by an even more yummy ice cream, made of blueberries handpicked from the nearby mountains.

The best thing about the lodge is however its location which offers a great view of the valley below and its surrounding mountains. We spent the evening in the lounge watching the sunset and its hues which lingered as late as 11 in the night. We also met some interesting visitors and had a great time sharing each other’s Alaskan experiences.

P.S. Matt - Remember to get the laser printer ;)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank marmot_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg L, Owner at Skyline Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear marmot_traveller,

Adventure: That which happens without design; a remarkable occurrence; a striking event; a stirring incident; as, "the adventures of one's life."

Sometimes buses are cancelled due to snowfall. Sometimes you fly by the highest peak in North America for free. Sometimes you eat homemade blueberry ice cream. Sometimes you experience an 11pm sunset from the end of the road in Denali National Park.

We were glad to share in your adventure!

The KAT crew

P.S.

Sometimes Matt remembers the laser printer :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We like to travel on our own rather than with a tour. When I noticed the loft in the room, I invited our son, who lives in Fairbanks, to join us. My husband was not looking forward to the shared bathrooms but once there I heard no grumbling.
If you have good topo maps of the area (our son forgot to print out some from a program he has), be sure to bring them because the maps offered are not good. Ask for trekking poles if you plan a hike described as "steep," you also want to do the steep part at the beginning rather than the end of the hike. They said bears aren't in the area, we saw no evidence but we had bear spray with us just the same. They might have some at the lodge, we didn't ask. We took the flight in to the lodge -- beautiful. I'd do it again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: I warned them that mattress in room 2 is saggy -- little too much togetherness. Hope they replace i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sueoc76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg L, Owner at Skyline Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear sueoc76,

Thank you for your 5-star ratings, and we were pleased to host the three of you during your trip to Kantishna. We were particularly pleased that you loved the flight and did not have to endure any grumbling, and you'll be pleased to know that we've purchased new mattresses :)

All the best,

The KAT crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Hard to review because different than a city or town. Here you are in he middle of nowhere. Food comes by air or truck from 300 miles away inFairbanks. All non burnable waste is trucked out. The season is super short and by mid september or so it is done. There are only a handful of lodging options at the end of the denali road. This one was right for us.

Casual, friendly, and authentic, this lodge is more like a b&b. No real rules, come and go as you like, bikes available to ride, communal meals. Aside from being much more affordable, Skyline is easy without the regimented autocracy of some some nearby hotels.

The rooms were comfy and clean. Nice views of the valley. Didnt love the fact thatthe only twobathrooms werent all that conveniently located, but operating in this environment is understandably tough. meals were workman like. Bit on the basic side.

But for overall comfort, location, price, and atmosphere, we liked Skyline.

Awesome improvements would be more bikes in better shape and free wifi. Better venting of septic would improve the airspace between the main lodge and the rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kyle10014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg L, Owner at Skyline Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear kyle 10014,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review, and thanks for the suggestions. Most of all, we're glad that we were the right fit for you in Kantishna, and we hope you can make it back some day.

Cheers,

The KAT crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denali National Park and Preserve hotels
33.6 mi away
Denali Backcountry Lodge
Denali Backcountry Lodge
#3 of 10 in Denali National Park and Preserve
368 reviews
32.9 mi away
Kantishna Roadhouse
Kantishna Roadhouse
#8 of 38 in Denali National Park and Preserve
212 reviews
33.1 mi away
Carlo Creek Lodge
Carlo Creek Lodge
#13 of 38 in Denali National Park and Preserve
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.9 mi away
Denali Cabins
Denali Cabins
#12 of 38 in Denali National Park and Preserve
379 reviews
34.2 mi away
Denali Park Village
Denali Park Village
#28 of 38 in Denali National Park and Preserve
728 reviews
0 mi away
Cabins at Denali
Cabins at Denali
#4 of 6 in McKinley Village
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skyline Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyline Lodge

Address: Kantishna Air Taxi, PO Box 46, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755-0046
Location: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Denali National Park and Preserve
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Skyline Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing