We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic, friendly hospitality and food quality that you would expect in New York, not out here in the middle of Denali.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 229 Parks Restaurant and Tavern

229 Parks Restaurant and Tavern
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Authentic, friendly hospitality and food quality that you would expect in New York, not out here in the middle of Denali.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We are all very pleasantly surprised to have found this culinary delight. Laura Cole(?) the owner is well studied in New York and her pastries make you think you are in Paris. The atmosphere is warm and unassuming. The scallops on a potato cake, topped with crisped prociutto and creme fresh was my favorite. Good wine list and the draft beer was great too!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarciHanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    61
    22
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Eats Near the Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

After a huge disappointment at the Salmon Bake, ate here and it is by far one of the best restaurants we ate in Alaska. It literally is at 229 mile marker and nothing else around. Beautiful room but a bit noisy. The food was spectacular. The salmon here was the real deal and the desserts were to die for.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank FamilyLester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very well presented”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

There are nothing to say about what I DON'T like about this place. Restaurant are so inviting & very upscale cuisines with affordable prices. Reminds me of most of the East Side NYC. Good job!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank asianeskimo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodward, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Hubby laughed when I told him we should call for reservations. Thankfully we got the last available table. Food was great! Hubby had an Alaskan crab ravioli, and daughter had a salad! Presentation was very pretty, and we loved the use of fresh flowers as garnish. Their dessert were wonderful, and the use of fresh berries was delicious! We ate there after spending 14 hours on a bus in the park, and relaxing in the beautiful dining room and being pampered was a very nice surprise in the "wilderness".

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mustang2447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is a gem of a restaurant in the middle of the Alaskan wilderness. It is located just outside the entrance to Denali National Park and rivaled any 5-star restaurant in New York City. Our entire group which consisted of several sophisticated palates all agreed that was a very impressive fine dining experience. The food was superb and the wait staff was attentive and exceptionally pleasant

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank mllind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 229 Parks Restaurant and Tavern also viewed

Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to 229 Parks Restaurant and Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing