We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stop here to get an overview of the Park” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Denali Visitor Center

Denali Visitor Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$139.00*
and up
Denali Park Zipline Adventure
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lilburn, Georgia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Stop here to get an overview of the Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

The rangers will really help you figure out how to make the most of your time at Denali. Also, the films were good background information. Don't miss the displays either.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Reba100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    679
    302
    70
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Walpole, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
108 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Denali is fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I will admit we had 3 beautiful days to see everything in the park. We saw Mt. McKinley (Denali) with perfectly blue skies, but were told that only about 30% of the visitors get to see the whole mountain, so we felt very lucky. We took the Natural History Tour, which was very good, as well as went to the visitor's center a different day and went hiking on our own. The animals are not in abundance in this park, which is huge (the size of NH), but we did see a few caribou, moose, bald eagle, dall sheep, etc. Binoculars were a necessity! We did a cruisetour thru Princess and stayed at Denali Princess Lodge, which was outstanding, built in many buildings along the Tenana River,

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank sctravel55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
112 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Denali”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a nice visitor center.
The small exhibition museum is great and gives good details and overviews of the park.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank World T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
285 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Where it begins..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Denali superseded my expectations. But you do have to spend you time wisely. If you have a couple of days you'll need to know how to use them. I would even recommend calling the visitors center to speak with a ranger beforehand to help plan out your time. We had 2.5 days.

The first day was only a half. So we went to the center and checked it out from top to bottom. We went and saw the sled dog demonstration. Very nice. And we planned a Discovery hike - strenuous, which would be led by Ranger Katie in a couple of days.

The second day we spent on a bus that took us to and from Wonder Lake. So much to see; wildlife including grizzlies and of course the amazing Denali. Moose and other animals were out and we were treated to many stops and very good narration.

Our last day was our hike. It was fantastic. We did about 4.5 miles with an elevation gain of 1600 feet. It was strenuous but also magnificent. I highly recommend going off trail with a ranger if you can. They are a real treasure and walking on the tundra was an experience.

Get ready to be blown away by Denali. Seriously.

The restaurant at the Visitor's Center is a little expensive, but very good. Moreno's.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalpokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
144 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“worth stopping in”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Good displays of the local history and animals- a good starting point to seeing Denali. Brief film that shows the park is also worth seeing. Interactive exhibits are fun for children and adults alike- even the changes in bear scat over seasons depending on what they eat! Staff are helpful in answering questions. Touch the pelts of various animals and get a sense of how they are protected from the elements. Life size renditions of the animals are also impressive as many of your wildlife sitings are from a distance so this helps provide perspective.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MToro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Denali Visitor Center also viewed

Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to Denali Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing