We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give It a Try”

Denali Park Salmon Bake
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Our landmark bar and grill's Alaskan menu has something for everyone. While we get many compliments on our signature Cedar Plank Salmon, famous Halibut Tacos, full pound split Crab Legs and our Beer Battered Halibut; many consider our steaks, burgers and salads to be the best in the area. Offering nightly entertainment, The Bake is the biggest hub for nightlife in Denali. Open since 1984, The Bake has been celebrating life in Denali for 30 years.
St. Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Give It a Try”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

I was dubious but gave it a try because we had just spent a very long day in the park and it was on our way to Healy. The atmosphere is certainly rustic and casual, but the food was much better than we expected - not fine dining, but tasty and reasonably priced; not what you expect in a place that looks like it is going to be a tourist trap. I thought the chowder was surprisingly good for a restaurant that looks like a ramshackle log cabin. The halibut taco plate was huge, it was hard to find the tacos under the toppings. The halibut had been deep fried, so it really didn't need an additional layer of tortilla, but the fish was very nicely cooked and tasty. Eat there again? Probably.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TskMinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    548
    479
    202
    69
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good food, rustic atmosphere, ok service”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

The food here was good. Pretty basic fare with some interesting choices. The service was ok but not great, rather slow on the entrees which were not anything special to cook. Overall a good experience for lunch. However, do not be fooled by their ads in the local papers advertising " best breakfast in Denali". They don't serve breakfast anymore, somebody didn't proof the ad. Disappointing as breakfast choices are very limited in "glitter gulch".

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CCW60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville,MD
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food in an interesting venue”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

As advertised this restaurant specializes in Salmon and it is great! Service was a little slow but they were packed. The Blueberry pie was one of the best my son ever had. I highly recommend this place!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank gobybike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Rustic atmosphere, ok food- skip the seafood”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Fun atmosphere- very rustic, old Alaska. The food is ok, our family of 6- had a variety. The seafood- salmon, chowder were just ok- salads were VERY small but the elk sliders/burgers got rave reviews. Fun spot to stop, not many options in Denali for restauants away from the hotels so i think it is very much worth going. The chocolate mouse cake- AMAZING! I am embarrassed to say - we got seconds!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Casual atmosphere, good service, decent food”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

My husband and I ate here with our baby, who is allergic to pretty much everything which means I have a lot of dietary restrictions. First off, the server was really great, friendly and accommodating, even though it was her third day. They worked with us to modify plates so I could eat there. Husband got the cajun rockfish which was very tasty, I got the seafood cobb salad minus a lot of stuff. We also got the yak wraps for starters. Honestly wasn't much difference between yak wraps and El Paso taco mix with beef, but we enjoyed it anyway. Portions were good sized (especially mine) and flavors were good. They also had Moscow Mules in the copper cup! :) We don't expect much when it comes to food in Alaska, but we were happy with these dishes and definitely recommend the Salmon Bake!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Denali Park Salmon Bake also viewed

Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to Denali Park Salmon Bake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing