We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food at Denali”

Denali Park Salmon Bake
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Our landmark bar and grill's Alaskan menu has something for everyone. While we get many compliments on our signature Cedar Plank Salmon, famous Halibut Tacos, full pound split Crab Legs and our Beer Battered Halibut; many consider our steaks, burgers and salads to be the best in the area. Offering nightly entertainment, The Bake is the biggest hub for nightlife in Denali. Open since 1984, The Bake has been celebrating life in Denali for 30 years.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

My wife and I decided to walk over here for dinner from the McKinley Chalet hotel. This funky looking joint has fantastic food. I especially enjoyed the huge rack of ribs our first night here. Unfortunately our hotel room didn't have a refrigerator for the leftovers. We came back again the following night for another great dinner and came back yet again the following afternoon for a generous helping of their wonderful fresh wild blueberry pie.

I'm getting hungry again as I write this.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AhabofLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Della M, Public Relations Manager at Denali Park Salmon Bake, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Hello! Thank you for your repeat business! That means a lot to us considering most people are only here for a few days. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and hope you had a safe and happy vacation in Alaska.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,383)
There are newer reviews for Denali Park Salmon Bake
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

873 - 877 of 1,383 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Had our best meal in Denali here. The salmon chowder in sourdough bowl was superb---although a bit on the small side. My husband had fish and chips that was hot and very lightly coated. Service was excellent. We ate early (4:30 pm) so no wait but I'd recommend reservations for prime times. We were seated near a window and it was cold even in mid-June so if you have a tendency toward cold get a seat away from the window.

Thank FloridaTheresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Della M, Public Relations Manager at Denali Park Salmon Bake, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thank you for this very thoughtful review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed The Bake. We hope your trip through Alaska was the very best and thank you for including us in your itinerary. All the Best from Denali!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We both enjoyed our meals here - the salmon burger & the elk burger. They were tasty, but I wasn't wowed. Pair that with pricey (everywhere in AK is!) and it was "very good." The seafood chowder was also really tasty.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Oatgirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Della M, Public Relations Manager at Denali Park Salmon Bake, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Hello, thank you for taking a moment to write about The Bake. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. The chowder you mentioned is a local favorite! We hope you enjoyed the rest of you travels in Alaska and thank you for your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We enjoyed the Halibut and it was awesome!! Our waiter was very nice and checked on us throughout the evening.

Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Della M, Public Relations Manager at Denali Park Salmon Bake, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thank you for your comments on The Bake. We appreciate your feedback and hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Our waitress, Colleen, was very helpful and friendly. I tried the seasonal dark Alaskan beer and it was wonderful for $3. Their seafood chowder was delicious. The salmon sandwich and homemade waffle fries were also very good. Best of all was the homemade blueberry pie, warmed with a touch of whipped cream. The food is not any more pricey than the rest of Alaska, especially the fish dishes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GeoladyAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Della M, Public Relations Manager at Denali Park Salmon Bake, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Hello,
Thank you for your review. Colleen is wonderful! She's actually a returning employee and former employee of the month. We're glad to hear you enjoyed everything The Bake has to offer and hope you have a wonderful vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Denali Park Salmon Bake also viewed

Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to Denali Park Salmon Bake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing