We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food that effortlessly fits the beauty of the view”
Review of The Overlook

The Overlook
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Overlook offers fine dining that is farm to table and port to plate with culinary mastery for the most discerning of palates. Remodeled and under new ownership, the only thing unchanged at The Overlook is the view of the Alaska Range.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food that effortlessly fits the beauty of the view”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We came across The Overlook when looking for a place to hold a small event. My wife had just recently begun prerelease for her first novel, and we wanted to find a place to celebrate with friends. The Overlook was more than accommodating, and the food... Oh, the food was incredible. I had a wagyu burger topped with a fig compote and goat cheese, and my wife got the small plate mushrooms which are cooked in sherry and garnished with pine nuts. Absolutely incredible balance of flavors. The bartenders are wonderful as well. We got a bottle of wine, but some of our friends ordered drinks such as the Moscow Mule and raved about it, saying it was the best balance of the ingredients they had ever had.
In short, go to The Overlook at the Crow's Nest if you're in Denali and want something a little more refined than pizza and salmon (which I am not against, at all!).

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank OCUBroadwayboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Della M, Public Relations Manager at The Overlook, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Hello,
Thank you for taking a moment to write about your experience at The Overlook. We are glad we were able to assist with making your celebration a splash. We offer our congratulations to your wife and thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    26
    10
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ocean City, Md
Level 6 Contributor
438 reviews
293 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Forget the view, THE FOOD!!”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

WOW, What a great surprise!
Everything we had was delicious and I would highly recommend. I was hoping for something a little bit better than down the hill but this place has 5 star food and reasonable prices.

Helpful?
4 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Della M, Public Relations Manager at The Overlook, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Hello,
Thank you for joining us at The Overlook. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and appreciate that you took a moment to write about us. Thank you for supporting local, independent business in Denali.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Alaskan cuisine with a twist! When in Denali, a must.”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

The setting is rustic, cabin-like, but the menu shows ambition and ideas. And surprisingly the staff is kind, attentive, and careful in comparison with other Alaskan restaurants. Try the oysters: juicy, tasty! We recommend also King salmon in an original mexican-alaskan interpretation and a surprising burger with figs and goat cheese. We did not expect all this in the middle of Alaska!! Wine choice wide and fairly priced. The check was not cheap, but considering food (but not location) fair.

Helpful?
1 Thank fgrabbits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Della M, Public Relations Manager at The Overlook, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for your thoughtful review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your evening with us. The Oysters you mentioned are from Alaska and a favorite in-house. We appreciate that you took the time to review us and, as a new restaurant, find your feedback invaluable.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Eat Your Heart Out!”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

You wouldn't expect to find a gem like The Overlook in the middle of Denali National Park. The menu is spectacular. Pick one dish from every category and take your time savoring each bite. From simple dishes like cheese plates and marinated olives to more complex pairings like prosciutto wrapped halibut and mustard crusted rack of lamb, you will find something that makes your toes curl. Don't leave without trying their chocolate lava cake or crème brûlée!

The ambiance is comfortable and warm, you could easily spend 4 hours dining and chatting with your loved ones and not notice the time go by.... that's exactly what happened to me! The views are spectacular, the staff is attentive, and the prices are reasonable for the quality of the meal and portions you receive.

Experience a small piece of luxury in the heart of Denali. Get yourself to the Overlook!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank TiVoStarfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Della M, Public Relations Manager at The Overlook, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Hello,
We sincerely thank you for joining us at The Overlook and for taking the time to write about your evening. As a new restaurant, your feedback is invaluable. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing View and Outstanding Food!!”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Went to the Overlook with my Husband and it was the best culinary experience we have had in Denali. First the restaurant has a very welcoming atmosphere and an outstanding bar with very knowledgeable staff. However, it is the outside patio with the breathtaking views that really shouldn’t be missed.



We started with cocktails at the bar which is very unique. The bar has a great craft cocktail menu, as well as craft local beer and a great wine selection that is displayed in a way that you know they are serious about their wine. We ate dinner on the patio and with the sun setting very late in the evening the views were remarkable all through the night. We started with the baked oysters that we both agreed were worth the trip back. I had the pork belly and scallops while my husband had the steak. As I said in the beginning, these dishes were not only the best that we have had while in Denali but rivals the restaurants back home as well. We ended with the perfect dessert, the Baked Alaska. The presentation was a wonderful way to end a beautiful meal!



There are a lot of great restaurants in Denali but not making a stop to the Overlook would be a mistake. If it is just to sit on the patio to enjoy the awe-inspiring views for a delectable appetizer and a drink or being able to experience the full culinary experience, everyone in the Denali area should make the trip.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Della M, Public Relations Manager at The Overlook, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Hello,
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the views and your dining experience at The Overlook. We aim to please so your thoughtful review means a great deal.

Kind regards and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Overlook also viewed

Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
McKinley Village, Denali National Park and Preserve
 

Been to The Overlook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing