We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat Your Heart Out!”
Review of The Overlook

The Overlook
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Overlook offers fine dining that is farm to table and port to plate with culinary mastery for the most discerning of palates. Remodeled and under new ownership, the only thing unchanged at The Overlook is the view of the Alaska Range.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

You wouldn't expect to find a gem like The Overlook in the middle of Denali National Park. The menu is spectacular. Pick one dish from every category and take your time savoring each bite. From simple dishes like cheese plates and marinated olives to more complex pairings like prosciutto wrapped halibut and mustard crusted rack of lamb, you will find something that makes your toes curl. Don't leave without trying their chocolate lava cake or crème brûlée!

The ambiance is comfortable and warm, you could easily spend 4 hours dining and chatting with your loved ones and not notice the time go by.... that's exactly what happened to me! The views are spectacular, the staff is attentive, and the prices are reasonable for the quality of the meal and portions you receive.

Experience a small piece of luxury in the heart of Denali. Get yourself to the Overlook!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank TiVoStarfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Della M, Public Relations Manager at The Overlook, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Hello,
We sincerely thank you for joining us at The Overlook and for taking the time to write about your evening. As a new restaurant, your feedback is invaluable. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 153 of 160 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2014

Went to the Overlook with my Husband and it was the best culinary experience we have had in Denali. First the restaurant has a very welcoming atmosphere and an outstanding bar with very knowledgeable staff. However, it is the outside patio with the breathtaking views that really shouldn’t be missed.

We started with cocktails at the bar which is very unique. The bar has a great craft cocktail menu, as well as craft local beer and a great wine selection that is displayed in a way that you know they are serious about their wine. We ate dinner on the patio and with the sun setting very late in the evening the views were remarkable all through the night. We started with the baked oysters that we both agreed were worth the trip back. I had the pork belly and scallops while my husband had the steak. As I said in the beginning, these dishes were not only the best that we have had while in Denali but rivals the restaurants back home as well. We ended with the perfect dessert, the Baked Alaska. The presentation was a wonderful way to end a beautiful meal!

There are a lot of great restaurants in Denali but not making a stop to the Overlook would be a mistake. If it is just to sit on the patio to enjoy the awe-inspiring views for a delectable appetizer and a drink or being able to experience the full culinary experience, everyone in the Denali area should make the trip.

3  Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Della M, Public Relations Manager at The Overlook, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Hello,
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the views and your dining experience at The Overlook. We aim to please so your thoughtful review means a great deal.

Kind regards and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Best restaurant in Denali. The cocktails were fabulous the food was amazing, not only was it the best lamb I've ever had but the plating was beautiful. Our bartender Matt was fantastic lead us to cocktails we would enjoy and recommended an amazing dish. The lamb was outstanding. Not visiting the overlook would be a mistake! Enjoy the overlook!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank XandriaL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Della M, Public Relations Manager at The Overlook, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Thank you for taking a moment to write about The Overlook. As a new restaurant, it means a great deal when our guests take a moment to spread the word. Thank you and we wish you happy travels and delicious meals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2018
Google Translation

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2017
Google Translation

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Overlook also viewed

Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
McKinley Village, Denali National Park and Preserve
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to The Overlook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing