We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perch Relax with Delicious Food”

The Perch Restaurant and Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Perch offers you cozy, private cabins, hotel rooms and lodging near Denali National Park. Tucked into the woods and bordered by pristine Carlo Creek, our cabins offer you an Alaskan experience that is truly unique.Tree-top dining at the Perch Restaurant is a wonderful way to begin and end your day. The restaurant is “perched” atop a gravel moraine left by a glacier. Each of our 13 bay windows has a spectacular view of the Alaska range and it's many glaciers. Weather permitting, you can dine on our large deck, or just sit out in the sun and enjoy a cocktail while you wait for dinner.
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
“Perch Relax with Delicious Food”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had a wonderful meal the crab was fabulous! The apple salmon tremendous the vibe was awesome.! Can not go wrong!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PosiePatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    34
    10
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food with a View!”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

The first thing that you notice about The Perch is the view from their deck, but the real star is the food. The seafood soup was a tasty start to our meal, and the curry potatoes were a lovely fusion of samosa and potato wedges. I had the duck for my main course which was perfectly roasted, and quite filling as well.

The Perch was an excellent find off of the beaten cruise ship tourist path in Denali.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cormic19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seward, Alaska
1 review
“Innovative and Beautifully Rustic”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Alaskan restaurants tend to feature tried and true menus. They're great for a few weeks but a little staid if you stay long. Not so at The Perch, so named for its hilltop location. It's decor is upscale Alaskan rustic with handmade tables featuring tree stump bases. Joshua (the proprietor), his lovely Swiss wife and their partner in the kitchen are an innovative crew. They sit around throwing ideas at each other and developing the best. And their execution is GREAT! I had caribou medallions wrapped in bacon on a bed of polenta. Excellent. My wife had a delicious salmon dish on a bed of wild mushroom risotto. Well served with a couple glasses of wine. All in all, it elevated our Alaskan dining experience to a new level (we spend 3 months each year exploring Alaska from our base in Seward). If you're on the road in the Denali area, plan to stop at milepost 224. You won't regret it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike32963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
221 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent meal in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Had the Dungeness crab legs, asparagus and parsnips. Local beers. Meal was excellent and attentive service from owner and staff. Beautiful view of snow capped mountains from window seats. Excellent experience!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden and excellent”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

There is just one sign on the Parks Highway, then posts telling you to follow the moose (clever wooden figures) along a dirt road then around a corner and up a hill. There is a plain building that from the parking lot doesn't look like much. Go in and you'll find a comfortable dining room surrounded by a large deck with great views out over the surrounding woods and to the mountains beyond. But you came for food and that's the real treat. From breakfast to dinner you'll find creative dishes that match some of the best eating I've done. Caribou medalions are superb, as is the grilled duck. This is family run and they are there to give you warm and friendly service. Don't miss it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidMattern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Perch Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to The Perch Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing