We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful views, great food, friendly atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Perch Restaurant and Bar

The Perch Restaurant and Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Perch offers you cozy, private cabins, hotel rooms and lodging near Denali National Park. Tucked into the woods and bordered by pristine Carlo Creek, our cabins offer you an Alaskan experience that is truly unique.Tree-top dining at the Perch Restaurant is a wonderful way to begin and end your day. The restaurant is “perched” atop a gravel moraine left by a glacier. Each of our 13 bay windows has a spectacular view of the Alaska range and it's many glaciers. Weather permitting, you can dine on our large deck, or just sit out in the sun and enjoy a cocktail while you wait for dinner.
Beaumont, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful views, great food, friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

This was my second stay at The Perch, and it was even better than the first! The cabins are affordable, while well-maintained and cozy, and the property surrounding is beautiful (including a quaint little creek, mountain views, and an array of wildflowers). The staff is very friendly and helpful. The most impressive aspect has to be the food! We ate there almost every night and morning, and it never failed to impress!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PeriwinkleSwish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    34
    10
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

Had the dry rub 28 day aged porterhouse steak the first night, and seafood pasta the second. Service was not fast, but the atmosphere, $4 pints of alaska draft beer and complimentary fresh baked bread and butter made up for it. Relaxing. Our waiter was very professional and was able to recommend some good wines to accompany the food tastes of the group. Newly decorated with a full bar added in the corner. Food price was a great value for the quality of the food, and the menu had such a variety it was difficult to choose what to eat.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank akwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denali National Park and Preserve, Alaska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast Around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

They've got a great brunch on the weekends with big mimosas and a huge bloody mary bar. It's the best hangover stop.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SharonGraham73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, KY
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Sit and eat at The Perch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

I don't know about the cabins, but this restaurant was fantastic. When you turn in the gravel/dirt driveway it seems a little daunting. It is a little curvy and at the end a little steep but well worth it. We were greeted by the owner and chose a table with a view of the mountains all around us. The chef cooks right out at the end of the dining room and the wine list features only Alaskan wines. The featured dish was a full rack of ribs, asparagus and small potatoes. We decided to split the dish and ordered a white zin with our meal. The rack of ribs was more than enough for the both of us and was served hot, with the right amount of sauce. The salad was Alaskan grown and the balsamic vinaigrette was very tasty.. The server was attentive and offered us a wicked sounding dessert, but we turned it down. While the price seemed high (for those of us from the lower 48) it was appropriate for "rural" Alaska.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank poppopsilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, TX
Level Contributor
200 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Excellent food at a Reasonable Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

We were really impressed with the taste and quality of the food at the Perch Restaurant. The menu is limited, but everything we tried was delicious and we ate here twice for dinner and three times for breakfast. For breakfast we had standard egg and meat, in addition to the biggest breakfast on the menu which was a chicken fired steak and eggs plus other standards and was only $13. The french toast made with their own delcious home baked bread was outstanding. It was a pleasant break from the standard continental breakfasts that you find at most chain hotels.
The quality of the food for the evening meal was also really good. I think we had halibut the first night and on the second night,my husband had the all you can eat Salmon, which for him was only one piece of Salmon, and I had the Caribou medallions. Those medallions were delicious! If you go to Denali, and get the chance, try those medallions. I wish I could go back again, just so I could order them again!
Service was promp and friendly, and the view of the mountains from the restaurant which sits on top of a hill is beautiful. The only reason we did not eat here all three nights is that we also wanted to try the Pizza Restaurant on site.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GrandmaP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Perch Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to The Perch Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing