We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close for weary travelers”
Review of Mountaineer Grill

Mountaineer Grill
Cuisines: Barbecue
Description: The Mountaineer Grille and Bar serves smoked meats and southern style food. Take in a view of Mt. Healy from our patio while enjoying Denali's only wilderness home-style BBQ in the evening and a buffet breakfast each morning. The Mountaineer is not open for Lunch, but please visit The Perky Moose Pantry and Cafe in the Denali Bluffs lobby for lunch and a specialty coffee!
Restaurant details
Description: The Mountaineer Grille and Bar serves smoked meats and southern style food. Take in a view of Mt. Healy from our patio while enjoying Denali's only wilderness home-style BBQ in the evening and a buffet breakfast each morning. The Mountaineer is not open for Lunch, but please visit The Perky Moose Pantry and Cafe in the Denali Bluffs lobby for lunch and a specialty coffee!
Prairie du Sac, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Close for weary travelers”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

After a long day on the train we weren't up for going downtown. The place looks like it was recently updated. Very nice. We ordered the fish and chips. The beer battered fish was delicious! The Alaska chips on the other hand were overcooked. Overall, it was an ok experience, but there are better options downtown.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BJG125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Mountaineer Grill, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear BJG125, thanks for dining with us - I am pleased that you enjoyed our fish and chips - I am concerned that the kettle chips were overcooked- did you let our manager know so that we could replace them for you. Thanks for dining with us - it is nice after a long day to be able to eat on site - I hope that you had a chance to eat breakfast with us as well. Dee Dee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    12
    14
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“pricey but good”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Menu was similar to all the others in Denali. Expect dinners to be in the $25-30 range. atmosphere is cute and it's clean.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank P-Val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Mountaineer Grill, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thanks P-Val, I am glad that you enjoyed dining with us. We did recently do some remodeling - thanks for the cute and clean comments - both are very important to us. Dee Dee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Would not recommend.”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Four of us ate here (3 different meals). Only 1 was fine. The two similar ones were not good and mine was terrible. I left most of it. My soup wasn't even what I ordered. When I questioned it, they said it was (when it obviously wasn't). Didn't seem to care much about their customers. The only reason I gave this a 2 instead of a 1 is because the one sandwich was okay. We wished we would have tried the sister hotel restaurant on the hill (even though the prices were considerably higher). The provided a free shuttle there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dolphin55Arlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Mountaineer Grill, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear dolphin55Arlington, thank you for dining with us. I am concerned that you enjoyed only one of your three meals. Did you speak to a manager about your concerns - we can only continue to provide quality food and service if concerns are brought to our managers attention. I am sure we would have replaced your soup with something else. Dee Dee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
123 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Average BBQ, and the usual Alaska high prices”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This restaurant had slow service, and BBQ that really was below-average for those of us who live in BBQ-loving states in the lower 48. Waiter was too busy chatting up another guest to provide drink refills or bring the check after the meal. Corn muffins were outstanding. Everything else was average at best. Not really a lot of variety in the menu beyond the BBQ or sandwiches. We didn't try the $14 breakfast buffet, and instead visited the coffee shop in the lobby, but found that we spent $7 per person on a muffin and an apple anyway.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Mountaineer Grill, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear ThomasE, thanks for writing a review. I am pleased that you liked our cornbread - I am sure it is hard for us to compete with southern BBQ but that is certainly our mission. Our breakfast buffet is really quite a value - I am sorry you missed it. Dee Dee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
154 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Breakfast buffet- it is what it is”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I recently visited with my husband. We were given the option of full buffet- $14/pp or Continental buffet- $12/pp. We chose the full buffet for the hot items (oatmeal, eggs, sausage patties, and sausage links). The cold items were mixed cut fruit (watermelon, cantaloupe, honeydew), strawberry yogurt, scones, toast, bagels, assorted pastries. Everything was good except the eggs. (I have no exact complaint, they just weren't very good). Regardless, service for coffee and juice was prompt and friendly and you can't beat the view. This is fine for a breakfast buffet and if you stay at Denali Bluffs it's a fine choice but I wouldn't go out of my way to eat here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda77433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Mountaineer Grill, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Amanda77433, thanks for staying with us and dining with us. I agree - the $14 price for the full breakfast buffet is very reasonable. I am concerned about your comment concerning your eggs - I am passing them on to our food and beverage team - did you let our manager know - it may have been difficult for you to explain (according to your review) but I am sure we would have happily made some fresh eggs for you. Thanks again for writing your review - and I agree - the view is awesome! Dee Dee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountaineer Grill also viewed

Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to Mountaineer Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing