We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time of year matters”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denali National Park and Preserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Denali National Park Campgrounds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2014

In August 2011 we rented our first RV and spent 3 nights in Teklanika, the furthest in campground for RVs. Aware that one cannot drive the RV in and out once the park has been entered and not being confident about RV water usage when there were no hookups (this being our first night ever in an RV!), we were overly conservative in usage of our RV's resources. There was a new pit toilet conveniently located across from our campsite and there was a water spigot available in another part of the campground. Campsites were spaced to allow some privacy and the bus stop was an easy walk to catch the shuttle. This was a beautiful time of year to see the burnished colors of autumn and an abundance of wildlife in the park.
In May 2013 we camped in Riley in an RV. Clean and hot shower facilities, electrical hookups and a nearby mercantile were very convenient. Because a recent snowstorm preceded our arrival by only 3 or 4 days, most of Riley was still unopened because of snow and ice, and we had no water available except by special arrangement to fill up at the mercantile. Dump stations were frozen. Interior roads had just opened and the shuttle buses were operating. The bus stop was just a short walk from our campsite. The inclement weather affected the amount of wildlife we saw while there, but the park itself was absolutely elegant in its mantle of white.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
9  Thank TexasStarshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
There are newer reviews for Denali National Park Campgrounds
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 41 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

The campground is located at Mile 13 of Park Rd. It is in nicely wooded area and you have sufficient privacy from your neighbors. A short walk down a well-maintained gravel path leads to the river and beautiful views of the mountains. Apparently, on clear days, you can see Mt McKinley from here but there overcast the day we were there. All camp sites have a picnic bench, fire pit and gravel parking spot. There are no showers at this campsite, but for a fee you can have a nice hot shower at the Riley Creek location (approx. 13 miles away). Be sure to purchase your firewood at Riley Creek before heading to the campground.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
7  Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We've visited Denali a handful of times over the years. Riley Creek Campground has been one of my favorite spots to camp. You can hear the river flowing and it's very peaceful. It's not far from the old visitor's center, where they have the bus tour depot now. Across the road from the old visitor's center is a newer store where you can get a good selection of supplies or take a shower. Further down the road is the new visitor's center and it's impressive.

If they still have RV parking without electrical hookups, that means the RV's will be running their generators which can be noisy. Find a nice spot down the trail beyond the RV sites and get close to the river.

My favorite time to travel to Denali is the last couple weeks they're open for the summer.... so the 2 weeks before Labor Day. I've been there over Labor Day weekend and the Autumn colors or the tundra is amazing!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
12  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We arrive at the campground without reservations. We were lucky and got a great camp site. By late morning the campground was full. the campground as restrooms conveniently located throughout the park. They also have showers available for a fee of $4.00 at the camp store. Camping included a shuttle that stops at different spots in the park. On our last morning at the park a mama moose and her calf walk through the middle of the camp ground.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CLockTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stopped at Riley's campgrounds to fill our fresh water, dump grey and black water before heading to the Teklanika River Campground. We walked around the campgrounds before moving on and they seem like nice sites but alot of road noise. We also stopped to check in as required and payed $10 each to go into the park, was surprised I thought that was included in the 171.00 we paid on line. 3 adults cost to go into park, shuttle for 3, campsite for 4 nights, 201.00. Seems a little expensive.
On to Teklanika River Campground, we did see a moose on the way, really bumpy road. Mile marker 29 could not have come to soon, it was 6 pm and only 2 sites left in the campgrounds. One by the road, and one by a bathroom, everyone walked thru the site to go to the bathrooms for various reasons, wash dishes, dump grey water and to use the bathroom as shelter, it rained off and on for the 4 days we were there. Shut your curtains, they sites are small.
Campgrounds are clean and well maintained, no hook ups and only way to get water is by filling a jug and dumping it into your fill tank. You can run your generator, but only at certain times and this is enforced. You can also dump your grey water in a outhouse but you will need a bucket, so pick one up before you get to the park, we used our cooler.
Shuttle pick up is at front of campgrounds, and very close(1 mile) is a rest stop you can walk to if the buses are full, we had a better chance of getting a ride there. We would ride 5 miles, then get off walk 5 miles, get back on, worked well, only drawback is alot of buses were full for different reasons(equipment in seats, full with people, just won't let you sit with them) so we had some 1-2 hour waits, just kept walking. At one point, I felt pretty uncomfortable in an area, fresh bear droppings and bushes on the side of the road over our heads, I want to see what is after us, and 3 buses went by full, a camp bus stopped and gave us a ride. Exactly 1 mile later a big grizzly ran out into the road and followed the bus for awhile then headed towards a car, eeeks. That day alone we seen 8 bears.
Day is done, 7:30 pm and time to go to the campgrounds for dinner, grilled chicken baked potatoes and green beans.

Room Tip: get there early and not by bathrooms. reserve they are full
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank diver01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Had a grest experience at the Riley Creek Campground. The grounds - including the copious flush toilets - were beautifully kept. Showers are $4 for a hot unmetered wash with towel included. Strong wifi signal at the registration area. Modern facilities and a great place to walk or shuttle bus to other attractions.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JenBarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed at Riley Campground and found it very convenient both for leaving the park as well as shuttling into the rest of the park. There is a great mercantile that has: basic food and camping supplies, wine and beer, and souvenirs. There are also clean showers at the mercantile that can be rented along with a towel for $4. The sites themselves have a bit of privacy provided by the surrounding trees. And, each site has a raised area for your tent which came in handy during rainy nights.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Dawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denali National Park and Preserve hotels
33.9 mi away
Denali Backcountry Lodge
Denali Backcountry Lodge
#1 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
363 reviews
34.6 mi away
Denali Cabins
Denali Cabins
#9 of 26 in Denali National Park and Preserve
372 reviews
32.8 mi away
Carlo Creek Lodge
Carlo Creek Lodge
#10 of 26 in Denali National Park and Preserve
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.2 mi away
Kantishna Roadhouse
Kantishna Roadhouse
#7 of 26 in Denali National Park and Preserve
206 reviews
33.9 mi away
Denali Park Village
Denali Park Village
#19 of 26 in Denali National Park and Preserve
720 reviews
33.9 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denali National Park Campgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali National Park Campgrounds

Address: Box 9, Denali National Park, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755-0009
Location: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range: $6 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As:
Denali National Park Campground

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing