We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay AWAY! Extremely rude staff”
Review of Carlo Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlo Creek Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2010

I stayed here in a cabin in June 2010. The cabins are okay. Give a rustic look to them. Bathrooms are also okay. However, the staff is extremely rude and has no manners. They'll nick-pick for the slightest reasons and behave as though they're doing you a huge favor by having you stay at this lodge.

I would strongly advise to stay with any other cabin in the area (there are many of them around Denali in the 75-80 $ range... esp in Healy). Keep AWAY from Carlo Creek Lodge!

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wisedog001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cclowner, Owner at Carlo Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2010

We pride ourselves on providing a safe and friendly environment. This particular guest was caught speeding 15 mph over the posted speed limit. We have both wildlife, guests, and small children walking all over the property and have a specified speed limit for their safety. We then caught the guest with an additional person in the cabin that had not paid to stay here. We did require them to pay for the 3rd cabin guest and were appalled at their inability to follow posted rules. We are very up front with our expectations of our guests but will not tolerate noncompliance. It is one of the reasons we can offer such a beautiful location, maintain the historic structures, and allow both guests and wildlife a relaxing safe atmosphere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
There are newer reviews for Carlo Creek Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 153 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2010

Stayed in a "shared bath" cabin. The cabin was quiet, clean and comfortable and only a very short walk to the shower/bath. The price was less than half the cost of a room at one of the big, tacky hotels up the highway and was much more suited to the environment and to the spirit of a national park trip. No TV and no phone but wifi service is available.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pasatiempo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2009

We stayed in one of the cabins during our stay in Denali. The location was wonderful and the price was great. You do need to realize that this is a no frills place. We had two queen beds, two bunks and a table for four in one fairly small room. There is no tv or phone, but there is wireless internet access that worked very well. For the price you pay it is a good value especially compared to other places at Denali. We were exactly 15 minutes from the park. There are three good restaurants across the street.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Firsttimetravelermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2008

These are really cute cabins ! We loved our 3 day stay here, the cabins are very comfortable and nice & cozy. They are very convenient to the Denali National Park if you have a car (about a 15 min drive). There a quite a few good places to eat right opposite the cabin like the Creekside Cafe (excellent breakfast !). We had a good time in Denali.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank alaskaitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2008

We were suppose to stay here 3 nights as part of our honeymoon trip through Alaska, but on the way up to the cabins from Anchorage a tanker had flipped over and closed the highway for almost a day. Tucker, the owner, and Kristen were SO helpful in terms of giving us updates about the highway closure and with working with us on renting out our cabin so we wouldn't have to pay for that first night since we couldn't get through. When we finally arrived the next day, we were really pleased with the property and our cabin (Cabin C). The cabin was really cute and rustic. You could tell they had put some thought into how the cabin was decorated. The location of the cabins were convenient to Denali Nat'l Park. Just down the road. There were also plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. The shared bathhouses were always clean, however, you had to share them with the people who were camping and there happened to be big tour groups while we were there so it was tricky trying to find a free bathhouse at times. Otherwise, we had no other problems during our stay here. We would definitely recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank wahoowa91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2008

We loved staying at this place! It is south of Denali NP, about a 15 minute drive. We stayed in cabin #4, which was about 20-30 feet away from the nearest cabin. There was a very nice swift flowing creek about 20 feet from the back of our cabin and we could hear it at night as we were falling asleep. Our cabin had a double (maybe queen) bed and a twin bed. The bathroom and shower were small. The place was very quiet and the people in the office were very nice and helpful. Mom said that she would like to stay there for a week.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank daughter-mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2008

My family stayed at Carlo Creek in 1 shared and 1 private bath cabin. They are so cute. The shared bath was built within the last 7 years and are still in great shape with clean linens and towels. The showerhouse was cleaned everyday we stayed and was very nice. They were not "communal".

The private bath cabin was more rustic but still great. It was an older cabin with new clean linens and a very clean bathroom. None of the rooms had TV or phone but I can't imagine why you travel to alaska for that. My children did bring their portable DVD player but never used it because they were too busy walking the trails around the property. I even was able to send photos online in their internet lounge area. The gift shop is small but nice and they also had laundry soap which was great because I completely forgot to pack any.

I would recommend this place to anyone who loves camping or staying in cabins nestled in the mountains. The young lady in the office was very helpful with out park trip.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank healthytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denali National Park and Preserve hotels
13.1 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
1,108 reviews
66.6 mi away
Denali Backcountry Lodge
Denali Backcountry Lodge
#1 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
363 reviews
12.5 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
589 reviews
6.2 mi away
Denali Grizzly Bear Resort
Denali Grizzly Bear Resort
#3 of 7 in McKinley Village
382 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Perch Resort
The Perch Resort
#5 of 6 in McKinley Village
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlo Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlo Creek Lodge

Address: Mile 224 Parks Hwy, Stoepler Family, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range: $76 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlo Creek Lodge offers a rich Alaskan history having been homesteaded by our family in 1959. We are known by many for our distinctive features including black spruce burls and handcrafted log cabins. We invite you to stay nestled in the Alaska Range in a private bath cabin on the creek, shared bath cabin nestled in the woods, or one of our new Lodge Rooms. Enjoy a restful evening on wooded acres bordered by Carlo Creek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Carlo Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlo Creek Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing