We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Carlo Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlo Creek Lodge
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed in there new lodge (hotel style) rooms. Very clean, new construction. Reasonably priced with very nice helpful staff. Just down the road from Denali National Park entrance but far enough away from the tourists traps there. I highly recomend

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDM1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    57
    14
    4
    6
See reviews for
42
59
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
285 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We didn't find anything wrong with this place. Stayed in Cabin A which shared bath facilities. Everything was clean and comfortable. Price was excellent, too. Would stay here again in a heartbeat. Not fond of the places nearby to eat. Expensive and weren't very good, in our opinion. Also, in June and July be prepared for the mosquitos. There's really no way to avoid them. Just make sure you have something to keep them off of you.

We had a couple of unusual requests and they were handled beautifully and without a fuss. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Better book early as these cabins sell out fast; and with good reason.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalpokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

The cabins -- comfortable, cute and clean -- are reason enough to recommend this place, but we can't say enough good things about the owner and staff. We pulled in with a flat tire -- that Denali Highway experience! -- and they had us patched up in no time.

Also appreciated the quiet location that managed to offer both solitude (hiking nearby with the local moose population) and amenities (free wifi and the great restaurants just across the street). A nice change of pace from the more touristy locations up the road near the park.

Would not hesitate to recommend!

Room Tip: Cabin 1 slept five of us very comfortably and offered a well-appointed kitchen and spacious bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyLibertine814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We did not mind but our cabin had no tv but did have wi-fi. The location was great with three restaurants just across the highway. No coffee until 9 am was nor good for us early risers. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

You do need a car as it is a little out of Denali but easy to find. So nice to be in a rustic setting with the creek. Cabins are a little dark and the lighting weak. Free coffee at front office. Wifi that worked was appreciated.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrisbaneNewDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Lovely cabins; we stayed in cabin C which used the shared bathroom facility which was beautiful and clean. The only downside is no coffeemaker in the room; there is coffee in the office but the office does not open until 9AM which is too late if you are trying to get out to the park early. You can go across the street but that is a little inconvenient. We could not take advantage of eating on the porch because of the mosquitos and there is not a good setup for eating inside the cabin, though there is a small refrigerator and microwave. If you want to do your own food you are better off at the hostel across the creek.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nytraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

12 miles (20 minutes) drive south of the Denali Park Road, quite convenient for visiting Denali with your own vehicle. Two restaurants across the highway (walkable) so you have food nearby if you are tired of driving. (However, don't miss 229 Parks for some of the best food anywhere, a few miles toward the park entrance.) The Carlo Creek property is beautiful and definitely worth exploring, we saw Harlequin and Common Goldeneye ducks nesting on the beaver pond. Gorgeous views of the nearby mountains and the river. We stayed in cabin 2, with it's own bathroom. The bathroom was convenient and tiny. The cabins with their own baths are close to the road so there is some traffic noise but that doesn't continue all night. The cabins that share external bathrooms are farther from the road and the shared external bathrooms are bigger, warmer and much nicer so I would probably choose one of them next time.
One improvement I would recommend is an in-cabin coffeemaker, only because I was waking up so early, still on eastern time, and the place across the road doesn't open until 7 am. But if you sleep later than me, fresh coffee is just across the street.

Room Tip: If you can stand going outside to get to the bathroom, the cabins without their own bathrooms have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenito799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denali National Park and Preserve
12.5 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
12.5 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
13.1 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
66.7 mi away
Denali Backcountry Lodge
Denali Backcountry Lodge
#1 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
20.5 mi away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Healy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.2 mi away
McKinley Creekside Cabins
McKinley Creekside Cabins
#1 of 7 in McKinley Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlo Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlo Creek Lodge

Property: Carlo Creek Lodge
Address: Mile 224 Parks Hwy, Stoepler Family, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlo Creek Lodge offers a rich Alaskan history having been homesteaded by our family in 1959. We are known by many for our distinctive features including black spruce burls and handcrafted log cabins. We invite you to stay nestled in the Alaska Range in a private bath cabin on the creek, shared bath cabin nestled in the woods, or one of our new Lodge Rooms. Enjoy a restful evening on wooded acres bordered by Carlo Creek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Carlo Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlo Creek Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing