We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Denali atmosphere!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Denali Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Denali Cabins
Burlington, Iowa
1 review
“Great Denali atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

We had an excellent stay in Denali Cabins! Our little private cabin was darling, warm, cozy, and clean. The hot tub was hot, clean and a fun thing to do! The staff was extremely friendly, helpful and went above and beyond. For example, I had heart burn, I went to the gift shop and they didn't have anymedicine for sale. So the girl working at the gift shop, got the employees medicine box out and gave me 4 Peptol Bismol. The shuttle was on time and comfortable. We had a flight out of Denali, but we arrived at the train station in between the shuttle times. We called Denali Cabins and one of the managers came to shuttle us back in a van. The breakfast was very nice, we ate early, and there was plent of food at 545. We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    79
    75
    28
    15
See reviews for
89
111
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
209 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed here in June 2012 as part of our 40th anniversary trip. It was selected by the Alaska travel agent but I probably would not have done any better myself until I saw it and where it was.

The UPs:
The staff was very helpful. The waitress for breakfast was friendly and when we had questions in the office, they were promptly answered. The room was clean and well kept. The shuttle driver took us to "town" and to the park. Breakfast was nothing fancy but they had fruit, cinnamon rolls and bread items - typical hotel continental breakfast. Since we had a 6AM departure in the morning for the park, it was nice that they served at 5:15AM to accommodate people. Then again, since they ran the tour, one should expect that. They did pick us up at the train station. There is a tiny gift shop and we had forgotten our mosquito repellent so we stopped to get some. They were out of it so they simply loaned us their spray can and told us to return it when we were finished with it - really nice!

The Downs:
First, the place is out of "town" - about 6 miles I believe. Now the town isn't much - just a strip of stores and restaurants - but it is at least something to do. With the few shuttle times (every 2 hours) and the inability to get to town unless you have a car, I would not stay at Denali Cabins. With a car, this would not be an issue. We had none so we had to work around shuttle schedule to go to town for dinner but there was no opportunity to go out later and get some dessert or just wander around. We also had dinner one night at Denali Cabins restaurant and it was very good.

The cabins had paper thin walls and the interior bathroom wall didn't go to the ceiling so you heard all the bathroom sounds in the room. We had a broken bed frame (but it was a minor issue). Bathroom blinds (no curtain there) did not block the light and the aforementioned wall issue meant that the room could not be totally darkened even with room curtains closed. It is definitely basic. TV got a few channels. Think of it as "upscale" camping out. Double beds (two in the room) are no fun for couples.

No hair dryer provided in cabin (may have been available on request) but we had our own so it was no big deal. Water failed one morning for about 30 minutes. I was shaving but we heard from another guest that she was soaping in the shower when the water stopped. They said the pump was old and someone was coming to fix it.

I can't comment on our price as it was bundled into the rest of our customized trip but looking at the list prices, it seemed high - but so are hotel and food prices everywhere in Alaska.

Note that the biggest beneficiaries in the Denali area are the mosquitoes! At least in town, there were more items on the human buffet so there was less chance of getting bitten. At the cabins, your best bet was to stand or sit outside the office near the smokers whose smoke probably killed the mosquitoes from cancer.

Given the choice, I would have stayed in the town but I have not researched any of those places and for all I know, they might have been worse. Again, we had no car so if you have one, this place would rate another green circle.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mish_the_Fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlaskaGM, General Manager at Denali Cabins, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Mish the Fish,

The Denali Cabins would like to thank you for staying with us and appreciate your insight into how we can improve our facilities. We have set the goal this summer to improve our facilities while providing top-of the-line customer service. We are glad you found our breakfast adequate, and our staff hospitable.

We apologize that our shuttle did not suit your needs. We do provide hourly shuttle service to the Visitor Center and the Glitter Gulch area from 9am-9pm, but we are always seeking ways that we can better improve the guest experience. There are two hours of the day, 12pm and 4pm, in which our shuttle does not provide service, and this is potentially an area we will look into expanding our schedule. There are also shuttles from restaurants in the Gulch bring patrons back to their lodging, even the Denali Cabins, after the final Cabins shuttle at 9:30pm.

Our rooms are simple, and we working on an improvement plan. We have both hair dryers and irons for use from our Front Desk, and try to attend to all maintenance concerns as quickly as possible. So sorry to hear your stay was hindered by the mosquitos-they come and go in waves, and right now it is just too cold for them to be alive I think!

Thank you for your feedback,

Britta
General Site Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Hotels in Alaska, especially around Denali, are very expensive. This place is not cheap compared to most "lower 48" hotels, but is at the low end in Denali. It is rustic, as expected. The dimensions of the cabin are very small - think cruise cabin small. The shower size is also in line with a cruise shower.

Plus marks: Very clean, if not fancy. They have a shuttle bus that takes you to the park and to restaurant/shopping area that runs on time and is driven by a very helpful driver. They pick you up at the train and the bus back to Anchorage picks you up right on the property. They have a connection with Denali Back Country Inn which gives you the opportunity to take the tour all the way to Katishna with the Denali Back Country folks. The tour was absolutely fantasic. If you go to Denali - take the tour - don't miss it!

Minuses: Did I mention the size of the room and shower.....also, the sink is not in the bathroom so preparing for the day was a bit awkward. Breakfast was OK, but as reported by others gets very thin if you eat a bit later in the day. Not much to choose in terms of a healthy breakfast. The soundproofing in the cabins is pretty thin. If your neighbors were loud you could hear every word. Worse is that you could hear planes going by all night. I think they were next to a place that gives flight tours. My guess is they had a special on flights during the "Midnight Sun" or at least it seemed that way when we were trying to sleep. Sleep wasn't helped by being a full size bed (vs Queen or King) that was not real comfy.

This is an OK place to stay if you accept it for what it is and were looking to save some money on the hotel during an extended trip to Alaska or cruise combo like we did. After all, between flights and the cost of living there, this was an expensive vacation. If you take the attitude that this is just a convenient place to sleep that is well connected from a transportation perspective, you will get what you paid for.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sdicksteina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlaskaGM, General Manager at Denali Cabins, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Sdicksteina,

Thank you for your helpful comments about the Denali Cabins! We appreciate you staying with us and would like you to know that we are working every day to improve our facilities and hospitality. The Denali Cabins are simple, but we are working toward upgrading and modernizing the amenities in our rooms.

Our breakfast is now fully stocked and provides a variety of options for a complimentary continental. In the future we would like to provide a hot breakfast to order for purchase, as this would aid our guests in a hearty, healthy breakfast before getting on the Backcountry Adventure.

Thank you so much for staying with us,

Britta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

We had a similar experience as Mixed Feelings.
Breakfast is fully stocked at 6:00A, but wait until between 8:00 and 9:00 and a totally diferent experience. Very little food - A 2 quart bowl had cut fruit but that was empty. There was no clean silverware and napkins were scarce. The waitress staff were on the grouchy side, probably from everyone asking for more food. Coffee, juice, toast broken muffins were about all that was left
The rooms were rustic, that's for sure! The shower was awful - just a metal stall shower that leaked all over the floor because the curtain was too short. The showerhead was installed way too high - one bar of soap and one small package of body cream for 4 people for our whole stay.
Hot tubs were not working for a couple of days, then not working properly.
For the value, prices should be lower.
It was close to Denali, and office staff were nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlaskaGM, General Manager at Denali Cabins, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
We appreciate your feedback about the Denali Cabins, and we apologize that you experience was not what we hoped that it would be. We definitely found our challenges in the first two weeks at the Denali Cabins, especially in trying to provide a solid and delicious complimentary continental breakfast for all of our guests. I was aware of our lack of food towards the end of the breakfast period, and we quickly amended that with greater food orders and more sufficient stocking. Unfortunately we were not able to amend the situation in the few days you were here, and I sincerely apologize for that.

I have also personally checked all the rooms at the Cabins for sufficient shower curtain length, as I can understand how it is frustrating to have a leaky shower. I hope that despite your breakfast and shower experience, your stay in Alaska was a pleasant one. Thank you for visiting, and we hope you give us another chance in the future.

General Manager,
Denali Cabins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Denali National Park and Preserve hotels

Berrien Springs, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

The cabins were about what we expected...rustic but after all this is Alaska..right? However the shower needed work as very small and angle of shower water was so odd making it difficult to shower. The staff was very nice and shuttle service very good. Problem was with the little restaurant. First night we ate there and were so pleased with everything. First breakfast was fine but just had to rush out so early for our tour. Second morning we went to eat about 8:45 - 9:00 am. There was literally no food. Breakfast was to be served until 9:30 we were told. All I could have was toast...and then had to ask for butter. No bagels, cold cereal gone except for lucky charms, no milk, no orange juice, no fruit. Only crumbled chocolate muffins. The frustrated waitress didn't know what to do. Was not her fault but she was the only one out there the management was hiding in the back I am sure! The day before while riding the shuttle from the park the driver had to stop at a store for milk. Didn't think he bought much but oh well. After we were in the dining room about 7 more people came in...also shocked. They left ofcourse, to eat somewhere else. We did not have a car so could not go anywhere. We were so hungry. Waitress said breakfast was until 9:15 in front of others and one person said they were told it was until 10 am. If your business promises to do something...just do it. They knew how many guests were registered and potential breakfast eaters. Poor management obviously.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Denali Cabins, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are happy you stayed with us at the Denali Cabins, and wish your experience at breakfast had been a more positive one. We sincerely apologize for the lack of food available to you at our complimentary continental breakfast buffet. We struggled in the beginning of the season with this, and have since improved our overall stocking of the continental breakfast. As the General Site Manager, I apologize for not having been at the restaurant at this time, as I would have made sure that our staff was able to find all available breakfast items and restock sufficiently.

Again, we feel sad that the breakfast experience impacted your stay, and hope you will give us a second chance in the future.

Thank You!

Britta
General Site Manager,
Denali Cabins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Denali Cabins early June of 2012. The cabins are nothing fancy but adequate and lower priced than the hotels in "Glitter Gulch". Each cabin is a separate unit so you have privacy. Heavy curtains are nice at night in the summertime when it's light out all night. There is a ceiling fan for warmer afternoons and a small heating unit that was adequate for the room, but not the bathroom. There is a restaurant on site that serves a complimentary breakfast- very convenient. It's also open for lunch and dinner. And a 'lounge' cabin with books, t.v., games, etc. The staff was very friendly. We went on the all day bus park tour (no food served) and bought two packaged lunches that were very good from the restaurant. Just made arrangements the night before. The cabins are only 8 miles from the entrance to Denali Park.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unctarheel74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Denali Cabins, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for your honest comments about our property, and we hope to see you on your future trips to Denali!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denali National Park and Preserve
3.3 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
3.3 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
66.1 mi away
Denali Backcountry Lodge
Denali Backcountry Lodge
#1 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Healy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
3.9 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
9.1 mi away
McKinley Creekside Cabins
McKinley Creekside Cabins
#1 of 7 in McKinley Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denali Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Cabins

Property: Denali Cabins
Address: Mile 229 George Parks High Way, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Denali Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We combine charm of Alaskan cabins with the comforts of a hotel room. You get all the amenities: private bath, wireless internet, TV, phone and comfortable beds. Plus, you get your own cedar cabin nestled conveniently by the highway in the arboreal forest next to Denali National Park. Convenient to package with a day trip into Denali National Park on Denali Backcountry Adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Denali Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denali Cabins Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing