We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Park Campground”
Review of Riley Creek

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denali National Park and Preserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riley Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Mosinee, WI
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very Nice Park Campground”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at Riley Creek for two nights July 19 & 20, 2012 in our 32' RV rented from Great Alaskan Holidays. Our spacious site was next to the walkway to the Mercantile. It was very quiet, and we really enjoyed this campground. We especially enjoyed the close proximity to the Wilderness Access Center (WAC) where all the bus tours depart from. We had reservations on the very early shuttle bus from WAC to Wonder Lake. We waited at the shuttle bus stop in the campground and rode it to WAC. After our all day shuttle trip to Wonder Lake, we walked back to our campsite. We could have walked both ways, as it was an easy walk.

The Mercantile has all the basic supplies, WiFi, and showers. Our son charged his iPod, cell phone, camera, etc. in the covered area outside. One night, they closed the shower building about 30 minutes early, so don't wait until the last minute. We were able to use the bathroom in the Mercantile instead.

The area for servicing holding tanks is large and well layed out. We did not have to wait, and this did not take long at all.

There is so much to see in Denali. We could have stayed longer in this very nice park campground.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Herhims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    20
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
20
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here for two nights, in a spacious tent pitch, in August 2011 (sorry for the delay, we have only just got home after a year of travelling...). Sites are well-spaced and because of the loop design, are all close to amenities. Loos etc were clean. The site shop (Riley Creek Mercantile) has the basics (and free wifi) and the Wilderness Access Centre sells hot drinks. It was great to camp in the park, especially to be so close for the early start for our whole day tour of the park in a bus driven by Kim, guide extraordinaire. We drove out to "Glitter Gulch" for supper both evenings, as everything in the park closes before or at nightfall, which was fine as it's not very far and there's plenty of choice! It was also lovely to be able to walk from the camp down to the creek and under the railway bridge one evening.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TalbotTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We were torn about whether to stay in Denali National Park or just outside. We are so glad we chose this campground located a mile or so inside the park and away from the main park road. Sites were clean, well-spaced, and the restrooms were brand new and spotless. We camped in the Caribou Loop and our site backed up to the river. Amenities such as small store, Wilderness Center, from which park tour buses depart, are all within walking distance. Can't recommend this campground enough-one of the best we've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheHueg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

An excellent budget value for travelers who want to spend time at Denali National Park. The campsite and restrooms were well maintained. The campground store stocked a variety of goods (including Starbucks coffee and bottled wine) as well as a wifi area and showers. A shuttle bus provides transportation around the main hub of the Park and there are walking and biking trails. There are no electrical outlets or hookups except in the restroom/shower area...reserve a site in advance as they were booked to capacity during my stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AlaskaDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Great RV Park. No hook-up and you must book otherwise you won't get a site. The first night we stayed there the washrooms weren't that great but the second night they were a lot better. Great to have wifi at the store. Lovely tables to sit at whilst checking your email. I would recommend at least 2 nights there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maggieraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I can’t add much more to what others have said other than if you pick a site on the last loop (Caribou Loop) you will back up to Riley Creek. Also, there is a beautiful trail that starts off this loop which follows the Riley Creek and eventually goes to the visitor’s center. Very easy, level and graveled path. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank southerngrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

This campground is really nice and spaced apart unlike in the private campgrounds (we made reservation and it was full in June) The restrooms are very cleen and maintained every hour. The mercantile has showers and internt access. The showers are four dollars and they do give you a towel. The natural history tour we took was well narrated by our guide however, I would skip this since I knew most of the commentary and instead drive the RV to savage river ourselves or take the shuttle buses. Overall I highly recommend this trip, even the long drive in the RV on the parks highway was never dull.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denali National Park and Preserve hotels
33.9 mi away
Denali Backcountry Lodge
Denali Backcountry Lodge
#2 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
34.6 mi away
Denali Cabins
Denali Cabins
#11 of 26 in Denali National Park and Preserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
32.9 mi away
Carlo Creek Lodge
Carlo Creek Lodge
#10 of 26 in Denali National Park and Preserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
112.1 mi away
Kantishna Roadhouse
Kantishna Roadhouse
#7 of 26 in Denali National Park and Preserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
33.9 mi away
Denali Park Village
Denali Park Village
#20 of 26 in Denali National Park and Preserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
34.1 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riley Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riley Creek

Property: Riley Creek
Address: mile 0.4 of Denali National Park road, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Location: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Riley Creek Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing