We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“most spectacular hostel on the planet by far”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denali National Park and Preserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“most spectacular hostel on the planet by far”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2009

i have never been to a hostel where the gorgeous location, tranquility, great rooms, i stayed in the iceworm cabin and its soooo gorgeous. a very special mention to steve who works and lives there, absolutely wonderful to deal with and chat to and makes you feel so welcome and goes out of his way to help you make your stay the best.
i recommend this place if you want tranquility, stunning scenery, and not your typical hostel guests. i could easily live here thats for sure. i certainly lost my heart to the great location. i stayed here alone, but it didnt bother me but it is absolutely perfect for a couple especially in the cabins. i will most definitely be staying there again
Michelle Melbourne Australia
5th - 9th june

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelchic5_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    56
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
44
76
61
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2009

I stayed in the female dorm room in the main building. The beds were comfortable and there were shelves and mirrors in the room - there was also an individual reading light above each bed. The bathroom upstairs was for our dorm and another private room only so there was never any queues. The kitchen was large and really well equipped. The people who stayed there varied from couples, parents and children, friends and solo travellers like me so there was a really good mix and generally we all sat round the big table in the kitchen for dinner. The views of the mountains behind the hostel were beautiful. The daily shuttle into the park was really handy as I didn't have a car and picked up and dropped off on time.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenqueen80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2009

We loved our stay at this hostel. We booked the Highwater Cabin and it was cosy and comfortable and warm. The view from our cabin was breathtaking - we were right on a river with mountains behind it and the wildlife was thrilling with a Moose and twin babies walking past our door one night.

The kitchen facilites were lovely and the free shuttle to the National Park each day (and pick up later) was a real bonus as we didn't have a car. The reception area had a good supply of products for us to cook with and there is a pub / pizza joint and another place across the road if you feel like going out.

This is a peaceful setting - and we'd stay here again. There is also an internet at the kitchen area if you need it.

Once the hostel shuttle bus has taken you to the Denali Wilderness Access Centre you can buy 1 of 2 ticket options. The YELLOW bus is hugely explensive and the GREEN bus does the same loop into the National Park for a teensy fraction of the cost. We saw 7 Grizzly bears including a mum with twin babies, Carribou, Moose (taking a swim actually!) Wolf, Porcupine... you name it.

It seems a waste that most people don't get off the bus and you really should! there are some great walks to do - even if you get off somewhere pretty and walk the road - you'll find many little trails off here and there to great views and if you are patient and lucky you will see the wildlife and have the spectacular views all to yourselves. The days are long so you have plenty of time to walk - although do get there early as the buses into the park fill up at peak time fast - about 8-9am-ish.

We also went white water rafting while we were in the area. The hostel has the information but it was a lot of fun and well worth it. Yes it was cold but the dry suits they give you make you nearly hot! Still bring a change of clothes just in case there is a teensy hole. I had a tiny wet spot on my leg but my husband was completely dry.

You can walk to the Visitor Information Centre from the Wilderness Access Centre or you can catch a bus. There are great cafe's just next to the VIC.

From the VIC you can catch a free bus to the free Husky Dog information session - this was FANTASTIC - even the bus ride there by David, what an old dear he is. His wit is quick as a flash too! You can catch the free bus back to the VIC or you can walk back which is what we did. There are some fantastic trails to be experienced here.

If it's your last day you can also store your luggage at the VIC. It is $1 per bag per hour. The luggage area is down in front of both the cafe's and VIC and before the train station - where you catch the bus to the Husky's from.

If you are catching the train north to Fairbanks to fly out and want somewhere for dinner, go to BAMBOO PANDA. you'll need to catch a cab but that was cheap and it's near the airport/on the way at least. They'd never seen Australians before, it's a local place really but the food was FANTASTIC.

The new Fairbanks airport is really snazzy and for those who are tired, if it's the afternoon/evening you can find a long comfy bench to lie on at the end of the arrivals area - just look for the big stuffed polar bear and grizzly bear and keep going. i'll send pics to sleepinginairports.com soon.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julesandheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2008

This is one of the nicest hostels in an unbelievable location along side Carlo Creek. The staff is friendly and the bunks are great. The kitchen in the Octagon and the bathrooms are clean , good hot showers. They run a shuttle each day to and from the park, which is nice. Great restaurants across the highway, or the kitchen has everything you need to cook, did I mention you can't beat the price for such a great place. Lots of families, older folks like me, a good variety of hostelers. I would highly recommend this hostel to anyone traveling to Denali.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sourdoughought
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2008

This place was great. The staff was super super friendly. They made you feel like a part of a big ever changing family. The Octagon (meeting area) had a full kitchen and was a great place to sit around and chat with the other hostelers. They have wifi, and built campfires. The bathrooms and showers were clean and there was hot water. All in all an EXCELLENT place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank maytravels8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2008

We loved our cabin - we stayed in the Iceworm - so can't comment about the beds in the hostel itself. The common area is a building called the Octagon and is a nice place to cook and meet fellow travelers. The location is amazing - very close to the park entrance and feels very secluded and peaceful. Bathrooms and showers are in another building but if you don't mind a short walk the facilities were clean and plenty of hot water!

  • Liked — our own private cabin
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cabinfevers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2008

If you don't mind the hostel experience and "roughing" it a little, this is a good place to experience Denali. We stayed in the IceWorm Cabin with a rushing stream and beautiful mountains just outside our door. Spectacular view right off our porch. You can build your own bonfire, hike up into the hills, and walk to a couple good restarurants. Recommend the pack lunches from the pizza shop if you are taking the tram or hiking in Denali.

It is a short drive to Denali or you can also catch a shuttle from the hostel. Saw moose alongside the road every night we drove back to the hostel.

The cabin was comfortable and actually quite attractive with pine paneling and pine beds. The showers and toilets are outside or in the main house but were warm and clean enough. The kitchen and eating area looked like quite functional and like a good place to meet other travelers, but we were too busy hiking at midnight to really spend too much time there.

All in all, I felt this was a good value for the money and I liked the relaxed and natural setting away from the more commercial area right outside the park.

  • Liked — the natural setting and the price
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tkd_Mom_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denali National Park and Preserve
12.4 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
66.8 mi away
Denali Backcountry Lodge
Denali Backcountry Lodge
#1 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
12.4 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
20.4 mi away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Healy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.1 mi away
McKinley Creekside Cabins
McKinley Creekside Cabins
#1 of 7 in McKinley Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins

Property: Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins
Address: 224 Mile, George Parks Highway, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Location: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful setting on a creek. Private cabins, private rooms, hostel beds and wall-tents. 13 miles from the park entrance, but with a free shuttle service. The only way to see Denali on a budget. The hostel is clean, the staff is super-friendly and helpful and we offer discounted prices on local tours and transportation. We are the source for the lowest cost tickets for the Alaska Railroad and sell tickets for The Park Connection Motorcoach. And we offer the lowest prices on nearly all the local tours. We look forward to serving you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Denali Mountain Morning Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing