We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything you need to enjoy Denali”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denali National Park and Preserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Everything you need to enjoy Denali”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed in the Razorback Cabin for 2 nights. The cabin has its own kitchen with everything that you would need. The large, comfortable bedroom upstairs has a huge window which looks out onto the river and mountains. The communal showers were very clean with plenty of hot water. Their website has loads of information on everything you would need to know about your visit to Denali.
There are 2 places to eat for breakfast and dinner on the opposite side of the road to the hostel.
Denali Morning Hostel provides everything you need to make your visit to Denali a fantastic one.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMMH, Owner at Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Thank you so much! It's always great to hear we did well. Your point about the steep stairs in the Razorback are right on too. People can kind of get the feel for how steep by looking at the photo on our website. Thanks again, and come back and see us in the future~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    56
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
44
76
62
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
World
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed at this hostel from 7/6/12 until 7/9/12. We loved every second of it. Sarah picked us up at the WAC inside the park. She is such a lovely person! The shuttle bus of the hostel is very convenient. We stayed in tent nr. 5 beside the creek. It felt like a real Alaskan experience. Don't expect much though, it's rather a going back to basic adventure. The tent is basic!! The showers and the Octagon however provided all the luxury we needed. Bring groceries if you can. Coffee and tea are complimentary. At certain times (around 6 in the evening) I really repellent, so bring that as well. If you see a grizzly, his name is Dutchie, please say hi to him!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Thanks for your comments! The tents are basic, your basic canvas wall tent. But they are up on a wooden platform and inside you have two camp cots with pads and we provide zero degree rated sleeping bags with a liners, pillows and pillow cases and even towels and washcloths. You get that AND full use of our common lodge and shower house. All for the same price as a bunk!
As for the grizzly, we haven't seen one on the property in a couple years, but there was one reported in the area for a couple of days this month. Grizzlies are actually less of a pest than the black bears, but we have never had a problem with either.
And those mosquitoes can show up at any time. You need to be ready. One thing we may have neglected to tell you is that you could have borrowed one of our skeeter-zappers from the office. They are battery operated and look a bit like a tennis racket. If your style is good and your aim is true, zap!
Thanks again for your comments and thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Really enjoyed my 1nt stay at the Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Lodge staying in one of the cabins. Cabin, common area and bathroom were all very clean. Cabin was warm and cozy with good space for 2 people and their luggage. Bathroom was basic but clean and neat. Only concern was the hot water wasn't very hot. Kitchen facilities are all shared but had lots of utensils and cookware available. There was even a bin of shared/leftover items that you could use if you'd forgotten something. Hostel is about a 15min drive from the park, but >5min from one of the main commercial areas and there was a bar/pizza place across the street. Mosquitoes were present, but tolerable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thanks for writing and for the kind words! As for the hot water, it can be an issue if you there are a lot of people using it at the same time, as it is everywhere. To help with this we have our water heated very hot so less is needed. However, this it seems is not enough judging from your comments and you might get a bit too hot of water sometimes.
So, this winter, I'm going to increase out water heaters adding about 80% more serving both the main lodge, the Octagon, and our shower house. The shower house in-fact will then have twice the water.
I'm sorry your shower was short of hot water. That can be demoralizing after a long day or in preparation for a day out in the Alaska Chill, I know first hand. Come back next year and enjoy a nice long hot shower, or at least feel good and take credit for the coming improvement!
Thanks for writing and sharing, AND STAYING!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed in the tents; two cots, bag liner, heavy sleeping bag, pillows, and towels/washcloth provided (weather got down to 30's but we were plenty warm once in our bags). We looked in on the cabins and looked great/cozy too. The commons area is nice, clean, and has everything you need. Ali and the staff are extremely friendly/helpful. The location is prime too, right across the street is a great bfast and lunch place, and next to that is a pizza bar that attracts a lot of the local color, and has live music from time to time. The whole thing is pretty fantastic...highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you! We appreciate hearing good things, always! I know it helps travelers too to hear from other travelers. Our Wall Tents ARE nice. They cost the same as a BUNK! And, we provide Zero Degree F rated sleeping bags and additional ones if requested on the colder nights at no extra charge. The bags all have removable liners to assure freshness. These go on top of a sleeping pad on top of a cot and a pillow is included. All those go on top of a wooden platform so you are off the ground, providing a fun, cheap stay - Alaskan Style. Thanks for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Enjoyed my stay here for 4 nights to explore Denali national park in June. The rooms were great and there was a really interesting mix of people travelling through. I much appreciated the shuttle bus into the park as there weren't any options for independent travellers otherwise. The staff are very welcoming and their laid back attitude influences the atmosphere of the hostel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annaletts11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMMH, Owner at Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you had a nice stay with us on your trip. Please tell your friends! Sorry about the delayed response, I missed seeing your post. Thanks again and have good travels wherever you go.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I stayed in the razorback cabin for 3 nights and it was great. Fantastic shuttle service into Denali NP in the mornings getting you there for 7am if required and returning at around 9pm giving you whole days in the park if required. you can of course start out later and come back earlier if need be. Cabin was clean and comfortable. Great place to stay in Denali and would definitely reccommend!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkkkatie1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. My staff and I work very hard to make everyone's visit to Alaska as wonderful as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Great place to stay. Stayed two nights in two different cabins. Both were great. Simple but comfortable and clean. Hot showers, quiet and a great deal for the price. Great atmosphere and a good staff. It's about 15 miles south of the entrance to Denali Park. We spent the night then drove up to the Park in the morning and then stayed a second night after the all day bus ride through Denali. Highly recommend you plan on spending a night near the park after your park tour. The Tours are long but enjoyable and trying to drive a long distance after a long day in the park is something to avoid if you can.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Greg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denali National Park and Preserve
12.4 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
66.8 mi away
Denali Backcountry Lodge
Denali Backcountry Lodge
#1 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
12.4 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
20.4 mi away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Healy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.1 mi away
McKinley Creekside Cabins
McKinley Creekside Cabins
#1 of 7 in McKinley Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins

Property: Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins
Address: 224 Mile, George Parks Highway, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Location: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful setting on a creek. Private cabins, private rooms, hostel beds and wall-tents. 13 miles from the park entrance, but with a free shuttle service. The only way to see Denali on a budget. The hostel is clean, the staff is super-friendly and helpful and we offer discounted prices on local tours and transportation. We are the source for the lowest cost tickets for the Alaska Railroad and sell tickets for The Park Connection Motorcoach. And we offer the lowest prices on nearly all the local tours. We look forward to serving you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Denali Mountain Morning Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing