We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denali National Park and Preserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Blokzijl, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

I was traveling on my own trough Alaska, it was amazing but from all the hostels i stayed this one was really the best! beautiful location great kitchen and shower facilities and the cabins are so cute! i had a great stay! even the shuttle is limited but it works good!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyZ88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    56
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
44
76
61
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

We had a fantastic time at this hostel! The staff are all very friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and cozy, and the setting can't be beat! Great location too with 3 restaurants right across the road and also free shuttle service to and from the park a quick drive away! I would absolutely recommend this hostel to anyone visiting Denali! You'll be happy you stayed here!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IlanG01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

We (husband and I) stayed here for 3 nights in June, in the Razorback cabin. This was great, with it's own (limited) kitchen, and slightly treacherous stairs up to the bedroom. A quick walk across to the bathrooms (with their super-strength deliciously hot hot hot showers) was no problem at any time of day in June due to the constant daylight! The hostel has a shuttle to the park, but we had our own car which made the timing slightly more flexible.
One morning we awoke to find a bear on the doorstep of our cabin, so it really is in the wilderness. Speaking of wilderness, the wifi here was a surprise!
I would definitely recommend this plce.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zenzen1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

The cabin itself is good. You do have a couple of power outlets to charge your phone. The room is fairly clean, but the staff forgot to throw away the trash (so we had to do that ourselves). They have no shoe policy in the main house. However, when we were there, a lot of people ignored the rule and wore their shoes inside, which forced us to do so as well (I don't want to get my feet dirty.) They also provide free rides to Denali, but we didn't use this service. The kitchen is big and we enjoyed cooking there. Even though it says "free internet", but we couldn't get connection any where unless we are out in the middle of the road (in between cabins).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CatySung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMMH, Owner at Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Hello CatySung;
I'm sorry it has taken me so long to reply and I'm sorry your stay wasn't perfect, which is our goal. I just wanted to comment on a couple things you said. Regarding the Internet, I think you meant that you had no cell phone reception. We are located in a very spotty area for that. Some people LOVE that and some hate it. However, we can and do direct you to where you can get cell reception which is within seconds of where you may be, as it seems you discovered. Sorry, but I can't control cell phone reception.
You may have had Internet problems too, but this is not the normal condition. We did have a router extender fail this year and we were down until we could get a replacement from Anchorage (a couple days).
Sorry about people not obeying the No Shoe Rule too. I agree with you, if other people are wearing their shoes, no sense getting your socks dirty, put yours on!
Thanks for your comments and the opportunity to reply.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

I stayed for 10 days at the hostel and, without exaggeration, it was the best experience of my life. Very clean and most importantly, everyone who works there is amazing. They are some of the friendliest people I ever met and they really make you feel like you're at a home away from home. I could not have asked for anything better. I met the nicest and most interesting people (of all ages from all around the world) staying there. If you stay for at least a few days (which you should if you want to see the Denali area), you will find yourself feeling like part of the community. If I had the choice to stay here again or at the resorts near by for the same cost, I'd pick Denali Mountain Morning Hostel every time, hands down. The night before I left, one of the workers there told me "When you leave Alaska, you never truly go home." As I write this review I can't help but feel that I left a part of myself there. Kudos to the staff and guests, I'll really miss all of you! But I'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jsquanls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Tx.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

We stayed in the octogon room. It was nice, clean, and the bed was comfortable.

The other patrons were considerate and friendly (which is nice at a hostel- that would never matter at a hotel). The staff was polite and helpful.

It is close enough to the park but with a few bus options, it would be best if you had a car. There is a wonderful pizza restaurant across the street but the kitchen at the hostel makes it more affordable.

The room was small but let's be honest, if you're hanging out in your room rather than exploring Denali. . .you have a serious problem.

This is the perfect place to stay whether you're visiting Denali National Park or just passing through.

We stayed at a cruise line owned hotel the night before we visited the hostel and I would much rather stay at the hostel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brigitt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

Four of us stayed in our own 4 (bunk) cabin. It was clean and enough space for four. Front desk attendents were pleasant, and provided helpful info. It's a hostel, not a hotel - so for a hostel I would give it 4 stars. Fridges outside or in to store your food for the park, firepit to enjoy right by the creek. Cafe and restaurant right across the street was convenient, we had a car - but this would be a plus for those that don't. Would stay here again!

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ceebeedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denali National Park and Preserve
12.4 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
66.8 mi away
Denali Backcountry Lodge
Denali Backcountry Lodge
#2 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
12.4 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
20.4 mi away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Healy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.1 mi away
McKinley Creekside Cabins
McKinley Creekside Cabins
#1 of 7 in McKinley Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins

Property: Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins
Address: 224 Mile, George Parks Highway, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Location: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful setting on a creek. Private cabins, private rooms, hostel beds and wall-tents. 13 miles from the park entrance, but with a free shuttle service. The only way to see Denali on a budget. The hostel is clean, the staff is super-friendly and helpful and we offer discounted prices on local tours and transportation. We are the source for the lowest cost tickets for the Alaska Railroad and sell tickets for The Park Connection Motorcoach. And we offer the lowest prices on nearly all the local tours. We look forward to serving you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Denali Mountain Morning Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing