We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful trip, friendly driver, loved the sled dogs!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kantishna Wilderness Trails

Kantishna Wilderness Trails
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit Denali National Park and travel in comfort through the most scenic road in North America – Alaska's Denali Park Road. We escort you into the heart of Denali on a full-day, round-trip guided adventure through Denali Park and into the Kantishna Historical District.Visitors will be treated to a hot lunch and activities at the Roadhouse. See wildlife, Mt. McKinley and everything that makes Denali National Park a once-in-a-lifetime experience.
Fort Jones, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful trip, friendly driver, loved the sled dogs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

I have been to Denali many years ago and went in to the Park on a bus that didn't go all the way to Kantishna. This was worth the extra time and money to go all the way to the old Roadhouse. The lunch wasn't very good, but the presentation by Emmitt Peters on the Iditarod was really fun and quite interesting to hear many stories of the race. We really enjoyed watching a short demo of the dogs, pulling him along on an ATV (it is summer after all!). He got us laughing and answered all our questions. I should also mention the beauty of the Park, the animals, the scenery, the mountain - but that goes without saying. It is a loooong day, but worth the money and the time. Go for it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank niravalynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    22
    2
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The day is long but the wildlife sightings were incredible and the guide Krista was great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We took the full day tour an our guide was Krista. She narrated the tour and provided us with a wealth of info on the park and the flora & fauna in Denali. We had multiple sighting of moose, bear, caribou, Dall sheep, and fox and even saw a family of Ptarmigan! We saw most of the mountain but the summit was clouded. It was an incredible day!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fthurlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
362 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Day of a Lifetime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

I visited Denali National Park with 3 other families - 13 people in total visiting Alaska over a 2 week period, some on cruises, some not and most of the trip planned with 'everyone can just do their own thing' the main theme. However, we chose the Kantishna Wilderness Tour as the 1 thing that all 13 of us would do together - and it was a great choice. This is a long trip and it was hard on all of us ranging in age from 8 years to 61 years, and many not wanting to get up at 4am to be at the bus in time for the 6:30am departure. However, everyone did it and everyone had a great time. This is a pricey trip ($169 per person, no children under 6 years) and a long one (we left at 6:30am and returned a few minutes after 8pm because of the amount of wildlife we viewed. However, we saw moose (3), bear (11), caribou (10), ground squirrels (2) and Dahl sheep (3) during our journey AND both peaks of Mt. McKinley (very lucky to see both peaks), took lots of great pictures and traveled the 90 miles back and forth on the windy gravel road and through several passes that would make Indiana Jones say a prayer on a school bus, taking 3 hour break at the Kantishna Road House for a soup and sandwich lunch and a program of sled dog demonstrations, panning for gold, or a nature hike while our driver, Mark, took a well deserved nap. There is a flyback option from the Kantishna Roadhouse if you'd like to experience that (we didn't). It was a great experience and we'll all remember it forever and were glad we did it all together. In all honesty we were lucky because we had a picture perfect clear day that started with a lot of mist that cleared. The weather was about 70 degrees and we all were thrilled. You would not want to do this trip on a rainy day but if it's rainy I know that they'll do their best to make the experience worthwhile.

A few words about our excellent driver and the excellent staff that run this tour and the Kantishna Roadhouse. Mark, our driver, is very experienced and knowledgeable - and really knows how to handle a bus on these roads. I am afraid of mountain driving but felt as relaxed as someone with my level of fear could be on this journey. He was amazing and talked about the wild life, the history and the people who have created this park over the past 100 years as we went on our journey - and when it was time to just focus on the road he let us know. In making reservations and at the Kantishna Roadhouse, Emmett did a fantastic job and hats off to him as he operates a very complicated system of tours, Roadhouse, flightseeing and everything else going on at the Kantishna Roadhouse. It is a top notch operation and very welcoming after the 90 mile ride.

If you don't like tours, don't avoid this one. It's not a tour, it's an all day experience that you'll remember forever. If you're just picking 1-2 things to do in Denali National Park, consider this one. It's worth the time and money and then some. You will never have the same experience anywhere else.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank HistoryLover2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great tour through Denali NPP”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our journey was 90 miles into the wild, clear skies aloud us to be among the few visitors (20-30%) that are able to see Mount McKinley. Our guide Craig was extremely knowledgable and very involved in the preservation of the park. He gave us detailed information about every animal we saw (Grizzly bear, Moose, Caribou, Red fox, Snowshoe hare, Dall sheep, Arctic ground-squirrel, Golden eagle) along our journey. He also spoke about the other animals living in the park, such as the wolf, coyote, Canadian lynx.

We were given ample time to explore the visitors center within the park, and there were multiple stops along the way to take photographs of the beautiful landscapes in Denali. We stopped at Polychrome Overlook, Toklat River, Eielson Visitors Center, Wonder Lake and our final stop was at the Kantishna Roadhouse.

At the roadhouse we were given a simple lunch of soup and a turkey/cheese wrap. There was plenty of time to explore the grounds, and we could either pan for gold or attend a sled dog demo. We chose to pan for gold (already having seen sled dogs earlier in our trip) and we even found a little flake to keep as a souvenir.

The highlight of the trip was the wildlife, the Grizzly was 10 yards from us at one point! Secondly you cannot imagine the beauty this park possesses until you have seen it with your own eyes. What a great way to experience Denali NPP.

Highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A long trip but well worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our guide Kevin was very knowledgeable. Trip
Is a very long day but since private cars can only only go so far into the park, this is the only way to get as far as Wonder Lake and see it all.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kantishna Wilderness Trails also viewed

Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to Kantishna Wilderness Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing