We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Denali Park Village” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Denali Park Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Denali Park Village
Wichita, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Denali Park Village”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed 2 nights as part of a Celebrity Cruise tour. Enjoyed the stay as was a nice, clean room with a great view of the river and mountains. Restaurant food was good, but a bit pricey, understandable as the tourist season is only 5 months long.

Room Tip: Request a room on the backside of the hotel by the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff B, Operations Manager at Denali Park Village, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Larry D,

Thank you for writing a review for your lodge and I am glad that you enjoyed your experience. Your tip to upgrade to the riverside room is a good one, especially if you are staying multiple nights at the Village. We have about 40% of our rooms on the river. Even if you aren't in a river, we have 10 outdoor seating decks on the river where you can enjoy the nature.

Thank you again,

Jeff - Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    189
    160
    80
    60
See reviews for
166
297
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

I will start by saying I spent a solid 5-10 minutes just now clicking between 2 and 3 circles, so my official review would be 2.5 if that is possible....there are DEFINITELY worse places you could stay. That being said, we were with a cruise tour, so if you are making your own plans, just pick another place.

The bell services staff was good and got our bags to our room in an extremely efficient manner (mind you, 4-6 tour buses are rolling in). Service overall was pleasant, the people are nice.

The rooms fall way short. Our room's heating element was broken in multiple places, and our only A/C was a small fan they placed in the room. Let me "vent" here (pun intended). I get that it's "Alaska" and "our people don't need or use air conditioning". First and foremost, you are a hotel. I don't care if your temperature never gets above freezing, guest comfort should be your priority. Next, the shower. If trip advisor gave out awards for dumbest design ever, this would win. It was a tub-sized shower (but not a shower in a tub), they decided to use a curved rod that was installed about 2 or 3 inches off the shower base, and then they threw on a curtain that left a gaping 6 or so inch gap from the end of the curtain to the base of the shower. Needless to say, you couldn't turn the water on without effectively flooding the bathroom.

Food is what you expect from a college dining hall. Literally-the company that manages this property is Aramark, the same company that manages most collegiate dining halls around the US. Have you put worse food in your mouth? Probably, but this sure does come close. Food was also criminally prices at the property. I can't stand anything more than a hotel that abuses their monopolistic identity.

Moral of this place: just go somewhere else. You'll be much better off.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CMHTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff B, Operations Manager at Denali Park Village, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear CMHT Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We will look at the items in the rooms you mentioned and look to make some improvements.

I am glad that you enjoyed the service and the hotel staff.

Jeff - Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Denali National Park and Preserve hotels

Garland, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

The rooms were small, the beds uncomfortable and the bathroom area was tiny. Maybe there are better rooms than the one we stayed in. We expected a king bed but got two doubles. Too much of a hassle to switch.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed in the cabins for two nights. Luckily we had a cabin with a view of the water, but glad we didn't have one without a view. The room was newly renovated, and it was clear that it was because we had to call the front desk for them to actually install the shower head. Seems a little odd that there were boxes of things yet to be installed sitting outside of the cabins. Wouldn't you want your lodge to be ready to go when tourist season starts? We did however enjoy the newness of the cabin with new bedding and furniture as well as coffee and tea availability. The room was a little small...not much room for your luggage, and could have used a lamp by the chair and an alarm clock of some sort. Inside the lodge looked nice, the food was decent, but overpriced as is everything else in the park. The overall layout of the village seemed a little disorganized. We did enjoy the hike that you can do if you walk across the highway to the trailhead, and just sitting by the water at night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff B, Operations Manager at Denali Park Village, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed the newly remodeled rooms and the hikes in the area. The best part of staying at the Village lodge is the nature and sun decks on the river.

I want to apologize for the shower head not being on. We bought the cabins over the winter and had 2 months to do our renovations and we worked around the clock to get it done. Everything in the cabins was completely redone, including the beds, vanity, furniture and even the toilets.

Hopefully you will choose to stay with us on your next visit to Denali.

Jeff - Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redington Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
178 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

This is going to sound like sour apples but it's not..
Bear in mind that this is a Cruise Line Hotel and is massively busy with Cruisers so don't expect overly attentive service.
Rooms
If you stay in the new area where cabins are or near the Roadhouse grill,
You not be able to sleep, as it is really noisy, the walls are paper thin and you can hear anyone walking around outside and talking. You will not be able to see inside the room as the lighting is terrible, you need a flashlight to unpack a suitcase and opening the blinds does not help.
Restaurants
Try and skip the breakfast, unless it's coffee and muffin you want.
We paid $19 for the buffet and was disappointed with the choice and quality. They have a new restaurant called the Roadhouse, what a load of rubbish, you get more choice at a roadside food wagon.
The main restaurant in the evening has good food, but expensive. Our meal with no alcohol cost $100.
The same meal in the village away from here cost us $65.
Complex
You are a prisoner unless you know how to escape. You are 6 miles from the park entrance and 8 miles from the nearest village of Denali. There is a shuttle you can call, called. The Salmon Bake. You need at least 4 people to ride it. Their telephone number can be found on the web and on Trip advisor. The silly thing is that employees are NOT allowed to inform guests of this available shuttle so to be able to keep guests on the complex.
They do have a shuttle to the Park that runs once an hour until the last return at 6.30pm.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff B, Operations Manager at Denali Park Village, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Lou L,

We are disappointed to hear that you did not entirely enjoy your stay. The entire property has undergone a major renovation over the winter and we are looking for ways to make things better, and your feedback on the rooms will certainly help. We are installing additional lighting to make things brighter in the rooms. I'd be interested to hear more about your experience in the Roadhouse. It is a new restaurant and we are looking for ways to improve it. You can call me at 907.683.8900 to discuss further if you'd like.

Thank you for your review,

Jeff - Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
129 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Denali Park Village consists of rows of detached cabins facing the river on the far side of the property closest to the highway. From the picture and description, it sounded romantic. The cabin is actually extremely small. I am thin and even I have to walk sideways to get pass the king size bed which occupies 1/2 the room. The décor is rustic, very fitting for the place. There is a very nice powerful gas heater which warms up the cabin very quickly. There is only three pegs on the wall to hang coats and towels. They should definitely put more in. There is no wifi because the signal was too weak. The biggest problem we had was that when we made the reservation on the phone, we were told that we need to pay for the shuttle to pick us up from the train station and vice versa. That was $32 total. I was uninformed then so I paid it. Once here, we discovered that the hotel shuttle (runs once an hour) routinely delivers guests to the train station. Alternatively, part of its route is to the Denali Visitors' Center, which is just across the street from the Train Depot. The fact that the Hotel took advantage of us this way left a bad taste in our mouths. When I was checking out, I discussed this with the reception and they said they would rely this to their reservation people and that someone will get back to me. Now, it has been 2 days and no one has said boo. There was another group of travelers who had the same complaint. The hotel shuttle leaves every hour on the hour, arrives at the Wilderness Center 15 minutes after the hours, and then the Denali Visitors' center at 18 or 19 minutes after the hour. It leaves Denali Visitors' Center at 25 - 30 minutes after the hour. If the shuttle is full they will come back to get the remaining passengers. There is a little food store in the hotel compound. Denali Park Village is the same as the McKinley Village. The latter are two story hotel rooms. Many also have views of the river but further away from the highway. The best are the two buildings next to the reception building. There are comfortable sofas at the lodge where the reception is. Once you are here, you have to eat within the hotel compound. Gold Rush was our favorite restaurant (see separate review) As one would expect, prices are high.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catlady88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff B, at Denali Park Village, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Lou L,

We are disappointed to hear that you did not entirely enjoy your stay. The entire property has undergone a major renovation over the winter and we are looking for ways to make things better, and your feedback on the rooms will certainly help. We are installing additional lighting to make things brighter in the rooms. I'd be interested to hear more about your experience in the Roadhouse. It is a new restaurant and we are looking for ways to improve it. You can call me at 907.683.8900 to discuss further if you'd like.

Thank you for your review,

Jeff - Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
196 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

This newly expanded lodge and cabin village has a great location alongside a large, swift moving Alaskan River. We enjoyed our walks along the riverbanks and the multiple sundecks, especially the one with the fire pit. We were early early in the season, so the new staff is just getting trained and service is a bit erratic, but everyone is trying hard. We stayed in cabin 36, an end unit in the new addition to the resort's lodging. We loved king bed, Dutch doors, and cabin feel. On the downside, the cabin are close together like a mining camp and connected with a boardwalk. Close to a major highway, you hear road noise and every footstep on the board walks. A few of the cabins front the river and also the highway. The other cabins have no views to speak of. Your large window looks right into the back of the next cabin which is in very close proximity. The new little shops are tiny, but a nice diversion. We had a good meal at the Roadhouse. The coffee shop is understaffed in the morning rush and there was always a long line. We took the tundra tour on the rustic and rickety schoolbus, into Denali and had a great seasoned guide Justin who helped us learn how to spot the wildlife. We saw 10 grizzlies, herds of Caribou, Dal Sheep, golden eagles, magpie, squirrels, and a moose. It was very early in the season and the underbrush and grass low. We enjoyed our tour which lasted about 6 hours with 3 bathroom stops. We ordered the snack lunch from the lodge and you picnic on the bus at your own leisure. There are no cabs to go anywhere else, so you are trapped. The free shuttle only goes to the train depot and the visitor center and ends at six pm. The cabins need more lamps and another trash basket. There is only one in the very small shower/toilet area. The sink in is front of the bed.

Room Tip: Rm 36 is an end unit in the cabin mining town . No view at all. Very comfy bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TripTalkHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff B, Operations Manager at Denali Park Village, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We can use some of your feedback to better train our staff and update our facilities. We purchased the cabins over the winter and remodeled them for this season and we are looking for ways to perfect them for our guests.

I am glad that you enjoyed the decks and trails on the river and hopefully we will see you again someday.

Jeff - Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denali National Park and Preserve
0.4 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
0.3 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
65.7 mi away
Denali Backcountry Lodge
Denali Backcountry Lodge
#1 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
7.9 mi away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Healy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
12.7 mi away
McKinley Creekside Cabins
McKinley Creekside Cabins
#1 of 7 in McKinley Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denali Park Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Park Village

Property: Denali Park Village
Address: Milepost 231, George Parks Hwy, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755 (Formerly McKinley Village Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Denali Park Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denali Park Village offers a first-class lodge set at the entrance of the Park and serves as your gateway to experiencing the best of Denali National Park & Preserve. Both the lodge rooms and the cozy cabins offer all the comforts and amenities to make your stay memorable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Denali Park Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mckinley Village Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve
Mckinley Village Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing