We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Denali Park Village
Nearby Hotels
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
McKinley Chalet Resort(McKinley Village)
$175
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Denali Bluffs Hotel(McKinley Village)
$279
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grande Denali Lodge(McKinley Village)
$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Perch Resort(McKinley Village)
$200
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Denali Backcountry Lodge(Denali National Park and Preserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (916)
Filter reviews
916 results
Traveler rating
147
268
250
138
113
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
268
250
138
113
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnenana rivergold rush dining roomdenali parkroyal caribbean cruisecoffee barmckinley chaletstayed here for two nightsbus touron site restaurantfire pitraftingwildernessscenery
Filter
Updating list...
605 - 610 of 916 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My perspective could be slightly jaded in favor of this place because we stayed one night across the road at the Denali River Cabins, which were just terrible so don't do it. This property is so much better. It is obviously much more taken care of, has a lot more amenities and is overall a nice place. I will agree with the reviewer that said the carpet is pretty old, but it does seem clean which is most important. Everything else was very clean, the rooms are spacious (again that could be my perspective based on recent experience across the street) and the staff is much more attentive as well. The fire pit on the deck next to the river is a very nice touch. The prices in the restaurant are a little high, but that is to be expected in any tourist area so its not that big of an issue.

Room Tip: try to get a room farthest from the front road, but those aren't bad just a little more traffic noise
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheriberi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

You may have noticed a theme...NO HOT WATER, not even warm. I couldn't even wash my face on our first morning when we decided to get the hell out of there because thank God the McKinley Village right across the road had an opening. Oh and a cheaper walk in rate than I paid for this run down, poorly maintained, property that looks way better on the Internet than it really is. Unless you don't want to shower, don't stay here. They know they have a problem and are still booking the place. Thank God I got a full refund for the 2 nights we weren't staying but had paid for and half of a refund back for the night we did stay. Even if the hot water wasn't an issue, I would not give this place a very high review because it is run down, right next to the highway (noisy) and not at all as advertised. If you are coming to Denali pay the extra money to stay at either one of the McKinley Village or Chalet properties (they are a world apart in quality) or one of the many other choices down the road, this place will disappoint you.

Room Tip: Tip to choose a room: Don't!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sheriberi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, Public Relations Manager at Denali Park Village, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Please accept our apologies. A statement from our property manager is included below.

Dear Guests,

To those guests who were inconvenienced by the hot water heater issue at our property, we extend our sincere apologies. We wanted very, very much for your visit to Denali to be all you ever dreamed it could be—which likely did not include a lukewarm or cold shower! We understand that a refund for a portion of your stay, or a discounted meal in the restaurant is not a panacea, but it was the best we could do in this very complex set of circumstances. Some guest comments on Internet sites seem to indicate that we didn’t care about the inconvenience caused by the hot water issue—this simply is NOT the case. We care deeply and are extremely sorry it happened. We offer the following information not as an excuse but rather, we hope, as a way of helping you understand why these things can happen.

Operating a seasonal business in remote Alaska presents unique challenges. For eight (8) months of the year (mid-September through mid-May) the hotel and restaurant properties at the edge of Denali National Park are closed down completely; septic systems are pumped clean, water drained from all the pipes, heat turned off and windows boarded over. “Closed” signs go up everywhere. Winter creeps, or sometimes rages in by mid October; the snow piles up and everything goes into a deep freeze for the winter—six or seven months of -20 to -50 below zero.

In early May, maintenance crews begin the arduous process of “waking up” the facilities. Restoring life and function to properties that have been frozen for several months presents a variety of challenges. Utility systems—water and sewer—function best when operated year-round and restarting them each spring is a major undertaking. Vehicles, machines, and appliances that sit unused during the long winter and are pressed back into service in May can also malfunction from the stress of the winter freeze—the cycle of overworking systems and machinery for four months and then freezing them solid for eight months does take a toll.

In this season, the toll was taken on our hot water heating system. The minerals in our well water had been silently depositing inside the hot water heaters over many seasons and began reaching critical mass just a few weeks into the summer season—with each of our three 100 gallon propane hot water heaters producing less and less hot water as the days went by. Of course, it took some time to diagnose what was going on; when our own maintenance crew was stumped, a heating and cooling company from Fairbanks (125 miles away) had to be called in. And during the busy summer season, an appointment with these guys doesn’t come easy…or quickly!

Replacing the propane hot water heaters with more readily available electric units did not prove to be the solution as during peak demand periods for hot water the new electric units could not recover quickly enough. Propane units had to be shipped from “the Lower 48” states and took weeks to arrive. Finally they did, and finally our hot water issues are resolved. Of course, too late for the visitors who came and went during the too-long struggle to get the system fixed.

Again, please accept our apologies. I truly hope that the rest of your visit to Denali National Park was enjoyable.

Sincerely yours,

Prins Samuel
Denali River Cabins Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We went to Denali right after 4th of July and there wasn't much available (we booked 2+ months in advance). I think everything in the main town is very pricey so we stayed in McKinley which is about 6 miles from the park. The accomodations are nothing to rave about but they were adequate. This was the most expensive place we stayed in during our 10-day stay in Alaska but I assume that is also b/c Denali is popular and accomodations expensive.

If you could find something cheaper there is a town another 6 miles south that you may want to try and find housing. I thought 12 miles outside of the park would be too far so didn't bother looking at places to stay but I don't think it is that far at all especially if you could get something cheaper.

Otherwise this place worked for us. it was a bit noisey at night only b/c there were alot of people staying there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissy0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE! We stayed here for three nights and had several issues with our cabin. After we checked in, payed and signed the paperwork all we wanted was a hot shower...I would have even settled for warm but after letting the water run for several minutes, and only getting glacially cold ice water, my boyfriend opened the pamphlet they gave us upon check-in to find a tiny slip of paper saying they were experiencing hot water issues. The woman at the desk didn't bother to even mention the hot water issue to us prior to paying and signing paperwork. The following day a man at the front desk said they were experiencing hot water issues but they were reserving a room in which people could grab a hot shower. When we returned to the cabin in the evening and asked to use the room with the hot shower we were told by another man there were no rooms available to take a hot shower in. I ended up taking a sponge bath by boiling water in a leaky coffee pot they provided for us in the room. On top of all this there wasn't even a proper mattress pad on the bed so the fitted sheet was constantly coming off when we slept. At $230 a night I expect to have hot water and to not have to sleep on the actual mattress itself.

We requested a refund and had to contact Prins, the property manager, several times via phone as the manager-on-duty at Denali River Cabins claimed she couldn't authorize any type of refund herself. After all our troubles Prins would only refund us $50 a night.

Terrible customer service and shoddy business practices. I would also like to know how an establishment with no hot water is also operating a restaurant on their property?

Room Tip: Just don't stay here.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank losingmymarbles42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew A, Public Relations Manager at Denali Park Village, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Please accept our apologies. A statement from our property manager is included below.

Dear Guests,

To those guests who were inconvenienced by the hot water heater issue at our property, we extend our sincere apologies. We wanted very, very much for your visit to Denali to be all you ever dreamed it could be—which likely did not include a lukewarm or cold shower! We understand that a refund for a portion of your stay, or a discounted meal in the restaurant is not a panacea, but it was the best we could do in this very complex set of circumstances. Some guest comments on Internet sites seem to indicate that we didn’t care about the inconvenience caused by the hot water issue—this simply is NOT the case. We care deeply and are extremely sorry it happened. We offer the following information not as an excuse but rather, we hope, as a way of helping you understand why these things can happen.

Operating a seasonal business in remote Alaska presents unique challenges. For eight (8) months of the year (mid-September through mid-May) the hotel and restaurant properties at the edge of Denali National Park are closed down completely; septic systems are pumped clean, water drained from all the pipes, heat turned off and windows boarded over. “Closed” signs go up everywhere. Winter creeps, or sometimes rages in by mid October; the snow piles up and everything goes into a deep freeze for the winter—six or seven months of -20 to -50 below zero.

In early May, maintenance crews begin the arduous process of “waking up” the facilities. Restoring life and function to properties that have been frozen for several months presents a variety of challenges. Utility systems—water and sewer—function best when operated year-round and restarting them each spring is a major undertaking. Vehicles, machines, and appliances that sit unused during the long winter and are pressed back into service in May can also malfunction from the stress of the winter freeze—the cycle of overworking systems and machinery for four months and then freezing them solid for eight months does take a toll.

In this season, the toll was taken on our hot water heating system. The minerals in our well water had been silently depositing inside the hot water heaters over many seasons and began reaching critical mass just a few weeks into the summer season—with each of our three 100 gallon propane hot water heaters producing less and less hot water as the days went by. Of course, it took some time to diagnose what was going on; when our own maintenance crew was stumped, a heating and cooling company from Fairbanks (125 miles away) had to be called in. And during the busy summer season, an appointment with these guys doesn’t come easy…or quickly!

Replacing the propane hot water heaters with more readily available electric units did not prove to be the solution as during peak demand periods for hot water the new electric units could not recover quickly enough. Propane units had to be shipped from “the Lower 48” states and took weeks to arrive. Finally they did, and finally our hot water issues are resolved. Of course, too late for the visitors who came and went during the too-long struggle to get the system fixed.

Again, please accept our apologies. I truly hope that the rest of your visit to Denali National Park was enjoyable.

Sincerely yours,

Prins Samuel
Denali River Cabins Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Room was not ready when we arrived.
Came back to our room after a 12 hour bus tour and our room had not been touched.
Restaurant prices are very high. Two small pancakes were 9.95 and an omelette is 16.95
Would never stay here again. Much nicer places in the area!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retiredqueen47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews