We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My trip to Denali” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Denali Park Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Denali Park Village
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My trip to Denali”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

My trip was a wonderful experience. The Lodge was very nicely run by courteous and helpful people who did everything to make my stay comfortable. It is a beautiful place to be. I was happy with my room although a room more toward the river running directly behind the building would have been better. I did not ask to be changed. Although I'm sure they would have made the effort if I had so asked.

Room Tip: Even though my room was by the stairwell, there was no noise to be heard. I would have asked for a...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    189
    160
    80
    60
See reviews for
166
297
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Tour guide booked this lodging and we were very happy with his choice. The lobby is wonderful with a huge fireplace and seating..Gift shop and restaurant were also nice. Would stay there again. The front desk was very helpful with anything we wanted. They prepared sack lunches for the tour of Denali. I would supplement this lunch with a few other items.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the landscape not the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quiltpeg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California, USA
Level Contributor
188 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Loved the fact we were right on the river and cracked the window at night so we could enjoy the sound of the rushing water. Exceptionally nice gift shop and a very short drive to the park entrance. The hotel looks a bit rustic and I think that's to be expected due to the location. Main lodge is quite nice, and updated, and offers numerous amenities.

Room Tip: Try to get a room next to the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our stay at this hotel was booked through our Royal Caribbean cruise, so I can't comment on the price I paid for lodging..

The hotel is in a great location if you are interested in going into Denali National Park. It's just down the road.

The room wasn't huge, but it was just enough space. No A/C, but they did have a small desk fan in the wardrobe. New bathrooms. Reminded me of what you would expect in a mountain setting.

Beautiful setting near on the Nenana River - make sure you explore outdoors.

Main lodge - lovely big lobby area with a beauiful fireplace. Plenty of chairs so you can relax or play a game of checkers (on every table). The patio on the back was lovely - a big fire bowl to take the chill out of the air.

Food was good, but very overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TaraM299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
142 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights as part of our RC Cruise Tour. We had the river view which was great, you hear the river at night, very soothing, and you can look out and see the aurora if it is active and sky is clear. They have wake up calls for when the aurora is active, but from what we were told they hadn't seen the sky for a few months. The 2 days we were there the sky was clear and you could see the aurora. Most people viewed it for 30-40 minutes and went back to bead, I got back up the 2nd night about an hour and a half after everyone else had gone back to bead and it was awesome. They have a deck behind the restaurant where you can view it best.

The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The hotel has a cabin like appearance on the outside but very nice on the inside.

The restaurant had good food, pricey, a good buffet in the morning for $18 each.

Room Tip: Get a river view but not next to the restaurant, the employees like to hang out by the fire pit part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siteseer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

I booked at the last minute and this was one of the few hotels that still had rooms. When I checked in, I asked for a river view room and was not given one. However, afterwards when talking to other guests, I saw that they had been giving river view rooms, even though they had never requested them. My room overlooked the parking area and so I always had to keep my curtains closed for privacy. Also my room was a connecting room and the guests next door were very noisy. Unless there were no other options, I would not stay here again. If you have to stay here, make sure to request a river view room. One positive thing though was they have a few washing machines and dryers that are free to use.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Nata364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

The thing to keep in mind is the location.very close to the park entrance and visitor center. The hotel is staffed by a re amark. the staff is primarily comprised off college kids. Similar to staying in an hie or hampton inn. Much better veiws though!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wreck429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denali National Park and Preserve
0.4 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
0.3 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
65.7 mi away
Denali Backcountry Lodge
Denali Backcountry Lodge
#2 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
7.9 mi away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Healy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
12.7 mi away
McKinley Creekside Cabins
McKinley Creekside Cabins
#1 of 7 in McKinley Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denali Park Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Park Village

Property: Denali Park Village
Address: Milepost 231, George Parks Hwy, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755 (Formerly McKinley Village Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Denali Park Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denali Park Village offers a first-class lodge set at the entrance of the Park and serves as your gateway to experiencing the best of Denali National Park & Preserve. Both the lodge rooms and the cozy cabins offer all the comforts and amenities to make your stay memorable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Denali Park Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mckinley Village Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve
Mckinley Village Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing