We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting, skip the restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Denali Park Village
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Our room was rustic, but had a very pretty view. Free internet and a guest laundry in a nearby (much fancier!) building were handy amenities. We ate at both the coffee shop and restaurant, and found the food mediocre and overpriced. Service at the restaurant was also slow and indifferent, and one evening when we ordered a beer at the bar to take to the outside deck, the bartender seemed to be in the midst of a meltdown. So our experience overall was uneven.

Room Tip: We discovered when we went to another bldg to do laundry, that some are MUCH newer and plusher than...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fuzby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (720)
There are newer reviews for Denali Park Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

612 - 618 of 720 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

I agree that this was more like dormatories than a lodge. Although the Lobby is spacious, the staff is great, and the view of the river is nice, I still felt trapped with nothing else around except a tourist trap gift shop. Really felt stuck for dinner in the dining room with below average food, outrageous prices, and poor service.

Room Tip: Get a river view if possible. Trails around property are nice..
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

McKinley Village Lodge is a surprisingly affordable option for staying near Denali National Park. It's pretty much a mid range motel. My room was comfortable and clean with good beds and an ample number of pillows.. The bathroom was a bit on the smallish side with only a shower, but clean and quite acceptable. There was a flat screen TV (without HD channels), coffee maker, and table with two chairs. Walls were a bit thin. Internet signal is good and strong thoughout the property. Price was lower than I had been paying for comparable rooms in Alaska. There is a restaurant and bar with fairly high prices; food is just acceptable, nothing special. If you are taking a tour of Denali, they will pick you up at the hotel. Overall a pretty good base for exploring Denali.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank areview28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Upon our arrival, we were greeted by very friendly lodge staff. They checked us in quickly and were able to book a bus tour of Denali Park for the next morning. The front desk staff was extremely helpful!
Our room was spacious, and I loved the shower head. Best of all, the entire room was very clean!
They have a great outdoor patio that is awesome for relaxing. I would highly recommend this lodge to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This resort is seemingly run by a bunch of college students from the lower 48 and eastern Europe and offers little for the cost. The 'lodge' is more a collection of dormitories for bus loads of cruisers than a 3 star hotel. The lobby and restaurant options are limited for the size and basic amenities are lacking. The rooms are very tight, dark and dingy. Our toilet needed servicing, the shower curtain had mold growing on it and buses pulled in by our window at all hours like a depot. Denali is gorgeous and options are limited but I'd look elsewhere!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CDK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

New front desk and restaurant were great and definitely a plus from the Previous building. Lobby was inviting and comfortable. Rooms could use a little maintenance though. Could not keep phone chargers in outlets since the outlets were so worn. Curtains were off track as well.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WabbitMan19044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This hotel was prepaid. When we arrived, all the staff was very helpful. We were greeted with a smile from all the staff. The room was clean with great view of the river.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GiovannaW57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denali National Park and Preserve hotels
0.2 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
1,108 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
810 reviews
0.4 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
65.7 mi away
Denali Backcountry Lodge
Denali Backcountry Lodge
#1 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
363 reviews
6.8 mi away
Denali Grizzly Bear Resort
Denali Grizzly Bear Resort
#3 of 7 in McKinley Village
382 reviews
12.7 mi away
McKinley Creekside Cabins
McKinley Creekside Cabins
#1 of 7 in McKinley Village
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denali Park Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Park Village

Address: Milepost 231, George Parks Hwy, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755 (Formerly McKinley Village Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range: $222 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Denali Park Village 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denali Park Village offers a first-class lodge set at the entrance of the Park and serves as your gateway to experiencing the best of Denali National Park & Preserve. Both the lodge rooms and the cozy cabins offer all the comforts and amenities to make your stay memorable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Denali Park Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mckinley Village Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve
Mckinley Village Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing