We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Denali Park Village
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I stayed here for two nights during Memorial weekend. I have to say reading the negative reviews i was very leary, but i only paid 99 a night so i thought well it's gotta be worth that. I felt the room was clean, however the carpets did leave alot to be desired, not nasty, just very worn looking. room smelled clean, it didn't have a bath tub, which sucked, because i wasn't able to give my 3 year old a bath. Did have a nice big shower though! The food in the restraunt left alot to be desired, my steak was cooked just right, but had no flavor to it. And the pizza was weird tasting. SOOOO do not waste your time eating here if you can help it. I went to McKinley creekside cafe and was blown away by how yummy their food was. All in all the grounds were nice, the room was clean. The beds were very firm, which i have to say was nice due to i have back issues and that was a blessing! Staff was very friendly, and polite and eager to help! Did not have a fridge, so i brought a cooler. All in all i would stay again, but would not pay summer rates over $99 a night.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabrina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (724)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

646 - 652 of 724 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2011

If you prefer to stay at a lodge a bit away from the noisiness and crowd of the "Denali Downtown", this is the location for you. It is about 5 minutes from the Park Entrance and another 5 minutes from the Park Entrance to the "Downtown" area, this lodge offers convenience without the noise factor. It's like a retreat inside the mountains.

Room condition is clean and big. There is a patio where I can see the Nenana River. It's very quiet and nice. There is an on-site restaurant where you can eat breakfast / lunch / dinner / late lunch, also a bar onsite too. The gift-shops sometimes provide huge sales. I got an Alaska sweater for only $15 :).

Overall, I enjoy this place and the cost was not very high for a single traveler like me.

There are tours going from this hotel to the Denali park. 1st Bus pick up location.

I traveled back in September 2010, but I couldn't go that far rating it...sorry.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

As we were driving onto the property, we passed two signs stating the rooms were $99. Although we had prepaid at a much higher rate, we inquired about a price adjustment upon check in. The employee informed us the sign was for another lodge and even though it was in front of their door, it was not theirs. Overall, none of the employees cared much if guests were present or not because they were too busy talking amongst each other about wanting to go home. Although we stayed a few days before the lodge closed, we were disappointed in the attitude of the staff at the front desk, snack stand, and the recreation hall. Other than that, the room was satisfactory and the location was only a short drive to the park. Although this hotel is part of a chain, we still expect hospitality. We would not stay again due to the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank HelloFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Did not stay in the main lodge, but in one of the village locations behind the lodge. It was clean, nothing fancy, but comfortable as it was used mainly for sleeping. Was out and about during the day and not in the room. Staff was pleasant and helpful when needed. No problems returning or telling others who might like to stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

While in the Denali area we were looking for a place to stay for the night. The place we stayed last year was a cabin but their availability was limited and expensive. We were told of this place that had a $99 special for the night, and it was well worth the last minute decision.
Nice clean large rooms. Great grounds. Very nice facilities.Good staff.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jackbrainerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

You will be greatly disappointed by your room and this hotel. Accomodations compare to a 2 star hotel. The bed and pillows are uncomfortable. Slight mildew on the shower curtain and shower floor. Walls are extremely thin, allowing you to hear conversations in the next room and people in the hall ways. Old TV. Also, this hotel caters to a large tour bus crowd, which apparently seem to run in and out of the hotel the entire day. And, DO NOT BOTHER paying more for a room with a view of the river. I attempted to change my room because of my view, and I was advised that trees obstruct the river of the river from most rooms, except for those with a queen size bed. Anyway, the window in the room is so small, even if there was a view, you would not see much of it. The hotel is managed by Aramark, a large facilities management company. The food is institutional food, and is NOTHING to remember. I am not sure of the alternatives in the area, but I would definitely not recommend this hotel to any one of my friends.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Snowman321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We just got back from 2 nights at the Lodge and had a great time! There were 4 of us and the room while basic was clean and comfy. Heck...we were hardly in it!! The grounds were really nicely kept. We had "dinner" in the bar with superb views of the river and area. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. We also enjoyed the little pub that stays open late. The gift shop was great and had many Alaskan artisans featured. Very convenient to the park enterance but away from the "downtown" of Denali and all the tourist junk. And...we used a coupon from the Northern Lights Book and got 2 nights for the price of one!! Yippee!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank CruisingQueen50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denali National Park and Preserve hotels
0.2 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
1,115 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
816 reviews
0.4 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
65.7 mi away
Denali Backcountry Lodge
Denali Backcountry Lodge
#1 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
368 reviews
6.8 mi away
Denali Grizzly Bear Resort
Denali Grizzly Bear Resort
#3 of 7 in McKinley Village
382 reviews
12.7 mi away
McKinley Creekside Cabins
McKinley Creekside Cabins
#1 of 7 in McKinley Village
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denali Park Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Park Village

Address: Milepost 231, George Parks Hwy, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755 (Formerly McKinley Village Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range: $150 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Denali Park Village 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denali Park Village offers a first-class lodge set at the entrance of the Park and serves as your gateway to experiencing the best of Denali National Park & Preserve. Both the lodge rooms and the cozy cabins offer all the comforts and amenities to make your stay memorable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Denali Park Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mckinley Village Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve
Mckinley Village Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing