We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Motto-money instead of safety” 1 of 5 stars
Review of McKinley Chalet Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
McKinley Chalet Resort
Butler, Tennessee
Level Contributor
288 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Motto-money instead of safety”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Checked in for 2 nights on Holland tour,captured audience. Given a room in F building-nice river view-turns out the only good part.
Wife attempted to take a shower-ice water then scaling-back and forth,no warning.Slight burns.Told front desk next am,said they would fix along w/no working fan or heater in bath.After breakfast checked and nothing done,said they didn't know,saw the woman I talked to and she admitted wrote wrong rm no. down.They sent maintenance man-fixed heater ,said it would take elect guy for fan and couldn't do anything about shower because it had been that way for 2-3 MONTHS. Parts on order.Went to frt desk,acted dumb,told them had to move -now-had tour at 1:30pm.Said I could move to T blding, only one available,about 3/4 mile away.I told them no,wanted to stay in area w/group.Found open one,somehow in bld A. Moved on run so we could make tour. Found out a couple of other couples on tour had same problem w/shower water,up/down temp.Returned from tour that night-9pm-and saw we had a great view of back of bld w/smoke stacks--but we had a working shower.
Rooms are very dated--(tv-old box style and tiny and you had to sit on bed to watch-we watched some news),2 small doubles,old couch and dirt in areas----no ref or micro ---real old time considering the cost.
Service-slow and clueless.
Why rent out rooms that they know could cause injury-what if small child was trying to take a shower and a blast of scaling water hit their body-they knew this for months. No warning, no nothing and even acted like,front desk,they had never heard of this problem.
You can put up w/some things but not something they know about that can cause injury and do nothing.

I wrote both Denali Properties and Aramark and heard absolutely NOTHING and this happened in late August 2012. I would like to hear from them--will I ever-not yet and probably never.

I could give more negative insite --food,gifts,service-but hopefully persons will not stay at MCR.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank wataugaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    333
    248
    94
    71
See reviews for
272
457
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The resort has different sections and we were right among the trees. The room has a sitting area in the front and the bedroom at the back with a double bed and a single bed. It did seem like you were at a lodge in the middle of the forest giving you that rustic feeling which was great. There was a gift shop and restaurants on site and a great museum. There were stores and reataurants across the street. There are buses to take you to other parts of the park and to see the kennels for the dogs used with the dog sleds. Great place

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlmostRetiredNiagara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The McKinley Chalet Resort has a scenic bar, windows from floor to ceiling. An excellent stop to cap off a hard day of touring. Beautiful view and great service. McKinley Chalet Resort was a pleasant surprise all away around. A must stop.

Room Tip: We had a room in the back....on a clear night the stars were breath taking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Onthego914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the McKinley Chalets for 3 nights. We visited in the shoulder season; so we could get a room in this busy place a day before reaching Denali.

This is a large property with a good chunk of their business coming from tourgroups and cruise companies. The lobby area seemed very busy most of the time and as long as you can live with it, the staff are efficient in checking you in and out.

Our cabin had a small sitting area, a bedroom and bathroom. Furnishing and facilities in the room were average. There was a covered walkway to the common areas - very helpful when it rained. There was a nice view of the Nenana river from outside the room.

There are 3-4 restaurants/cafes at McKinley Chalets - food was ok but pricey; but I guess that's Alaska for you. There are a few restaurants and cafes just across the road from the entrance which operate in the season.

Finally, like many resorts in the area, McKinley Chalets runs shuttlebuses to the railroad station, the Wilderness Access Centre etc. And it is one of the stops for the Park Connector bus running from Fairbanks to Anchorage.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nilanshuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driftwood, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

First of all, after reading other reviews, I would like to say that our 2 night stay was extremely pleasant. Our room was at the very back of the property next to the river. The room had a rustic feel, yet quite clean and comfortable. It was located on the first floor so it was easy to access the walking trails and river. Shuttle buses ran from the main lodge to the outer buildings every few minutes so guests didn't have to walk too far.

Also, this property was close to restaurants, gift shops, and galleries. All you had to do is cross the road.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CarSic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed two nights in the recently built Chalet Canyon Lodge at the McKinley Chalet Resort. Simple but very beautiful and blends well with the area but.....because we stayed mid September the weather, especially the nights were getting very cool. The person that designed this section of McKinley Chalet Resorts did a very poor job at heating the units. On arrival our unit was 54 degrees and despite raising the thermostat for a few hours in didn't rise above 56 degrees. The maintenance man sent to check it out said the first floor units are cold, the second floor units are warmer and the third floor units are hot. They changed our rooms. This is an item that should be addressed and maybe just effects those staying when the temperatures are near the freezing mark. Other than the heat our stay was very comfortable and the diversified staff have great personalities and eager to please. It's a short walk to the Boardwalk where stores and good restaurants are located.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RiverSwim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We enjoyed our stay during the land part of our cruisetour. We took the Denali Tundra tour and didn't get to the hotel until 10:30 p.m. They kept the restaurant open so those of us on the tour could eat. The cooked to order breakfast was very good the next morning! Very nice accomodations!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrixieTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denali National Park and Preserve
0.6 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#2 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
3.5 of 5 stars 692 reviews
65.6 mi away
Denali Backcountry Lodge
Denali Backcountry Lodge
#3 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
4.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
0.6 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#4 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
3.5 of 5 stars 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#3 of 4 in Healy
4.0 of 5 stars 334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Denali Princess Wilderness Lodge
Denali Princess Wilderness Lodge
#7 of 26 in Denali National Park and Preserve
3.5 of 5 stars 1,336 reviews
13.0 mi away
McKinley Creekside Cabins
McKinley Creekside Cabins
#1 of 26 in Denali National Park and Preserve
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McKinley Chalet Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McKinley Chalet Resort

Property: McKinley Chalet Resort
Address: Milepost 238. 5, George Parks Hwy, Alaska, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Location: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — McKinley Chalet Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 345
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your McKinley Chalet Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mckinley Chalet Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve
Hotel Mckinley Chalet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing