We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“After a Hard Day of Touring” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of McKinley Chalet Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
McKinley Chalet Resort
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“After a Hard Day of Touring”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

The McKinley Chalet Resort has a scenic bar, windows from floor to ceiling. An excellent stop to cap off a hard day of touring. Beautiful view and great service. McKinley Chalet Resort was a pleasant surprise all away around. A must stop.

Room Tip: We had a room in the back....on a clear night the stars were breath taking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Onthego914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    336
    249
    94
    72
See reviews for
278
459
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the McKinley Chalets for 3 nights. We visited in the shoulder season; so we could get a room in this busy place a day before reaching Denali.

This is a large property with a good chunk of their business coming from tourgroups and cruise companies. The lobby area seemed very busy most of the time and as long as you can live with it, the staff are efficient in checking you in and out.

Our cabin had a small sitting area, a bedroom and bathroom. Furnishing and facilities in the room were average. There was a covered walkway to the common areas - very helpful when it rained. There was a nice view of the Nenana river from outside the room.

There are 3-4 restaurants/cafes at McKinley Chalets - food was ok but pricey; but I guess that's Alaska for you. There are a few restaurants and cafes just across the road from the entrance which operate in the season.

Finally, like many resorts in the area, McKinley Chalets runs shuttlebuses to the railroad station, the Wilderness Access Centre etc. And it is one of the stops for the Park Connector bus running from Fairbanks to Anchorage.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nilanshuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driftwood, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

First of all, after reading other reviews, I would like to say that our 2 night stay was extremely pleasant. Our room was at the very back of the property next to the river. The room had a rustic feel, yet quite clean and comfortable. It was located on the first floor so it was easy to access the walking trails and river. Shuttle buses ran from the main lodge to the outer buildings every few minutes so guests didn't have to walk too far.

Also, this property was close to restaurants, gift shops, and galleries. All you had to do is cross the road.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CarSic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville
Level Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed two nights in the recently built Chalet Canyon Lodge at the McKinley Chalet Resort. Simple but very beautiful and blends well with the area but.....because we stayed mid September the weather, especially the nights were getting very cool. The person that designed this section of McKinley Chalet Resorts did a very poor job at heating the units. On arrival our unit was 54 degrees and despite raising the thermostat for a few hours in didn't rise above 56 degrees. The maintenance man sent to check it out said the first floor units are cold, the second floor units are warmer and the third floor units are hot. They changed our rooms. This is an item that should be addressed and maybe just effects those staying when the temperatures are near the freezing mark. Other than the heat our stay was very comfortable and the diversified staff have great personalities and eager to please. It's a short walk to the Boardwalk where stores and good restaurants are located.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RiverSwim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We enjoyed our stay during the land part of our cruisetour. We took the Denali Tundra tour and didn't get to the hotel until 10:30 p.m. They kept the restaurant open so those of us on the tour could eat. The cooked to order breakfast was very good the next morning! Very nice accomodations!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrixieTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were here on our first Denali Road Lottery Trip . We were greeted with kindness and enthusiasm. The desk clerk was most helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable. Very quaint and rustic. We enjoyed being able to walk the trails with our dog. The breakfast buffet was delicious and our over all experience was great! No stress! Highly recommend The McKinley Chalet Resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

We were forced to stay here after we were bumped from Princess Denali, another review to write there! The McKinley chalet, what can I say if you are in a lower room the sounds of guest upstairs will drive you mad as will the toilets and showers. Don't expect to sleep. The rooms in D block had only a double bed. The dining room was unfriendly with little gluten free choice, the bar smelled musty and was tiny.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peterTownsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Denali National Park and Preserve hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denali National Park and Preserve
0.6 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#3 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
65.6 mi away
Denali Backcountry Lodge
Denali Backcountry Lodge
#1 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.6 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#4 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Healy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
13.0 mi away
McKinley Creekside Cabins
McKinley Creekside Cabins
#1 of 26 in Denali National Park and Preserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.3 mi away
Denali Princess Wilderness Lodge
Denali Princess Wilderness Lodge
#7 of 26 in Denali National Park and Preserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McKinley Chalet Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McKinley Chalet Resort

Property: McKinley Chalet Resort
Address: Milepost 238. 5, George Parks Hwy, Alaska, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Location: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — McKinley Chalet Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 345
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your McKinley Chalet Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mckinley Chalet Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve
Hotel Mckinley Chalet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing