We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
wildlife

we were able to see much wildlife in their natural habitat. bears, wolf, eagles, owls, moose... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
db9476
,
North Olmsted, Ohio
really need to take the ride into the park

Visitors are limited how far they can take personal cars into the park, so taking one of the buses... read more

Reviewed October 3, 2018
HollyBerryElf
,
Weilerbach, Germany
Read all 1,173 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Denali National Park and Preserve
from $139.00
More Info
from $95.00
More Info
from $159.00
More Info
from $99.00
More Info
Reviews (1,173)
Filter reviews
1,109 results
Traveler rating
791
224
61
23
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
791
224
61
23
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shuttle bus dall sheep eielson visitor center school bus savage river tundra wilderness tour grizzly bear beautiful drive past mile long ride polychrome pass wildlife viewing toklat river hour trip wilderness access center wild animals green buses
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,109 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we were able to see much wildlife in their natural habitat. bears, wolf, eagles, owls, moose ,caribou and the native bird.

Thank db9476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

Visitors are limited how far they can take personal cars into the park, so taking one of the buses is required. Depending on your driver, you can learn a lot or a little. Ours was really informative and stopped several times so we could see animals... we lucked out and saw about 20 caribou, 2 bears and some snow bunnies as well as a few other animals. Gotta check out the bear-deterrent on the old cabin. The trees were changing when we were there, so we also experienced fall colours. Fun trip and we plan to go back "someday".

Thank HollyBerryElf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018

I recently took the park road into Denali to past the Wonder Lake area while headed to North Face Lodge. We saw tons of wildlife (some just outside the bus) and there was indeed a new scenic landscape around every turn. Do not concern yourself with the 4+ hour bus ride. The fascination with the landscapes, the park itself and the wildlife will make the hours go by very quickly … it may get a little tiresome traveling the whole distance there and back in one day though. You are more likely to see wildlife as you go deeper into the park's interior. The road does get a little busy at times as the Park officials have allowed for greater traffic - I truly hope this does not become an increasing problem.

Thank Timbersrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018

We booked the Denali Backcountry Adventure bus tour about nine months before our trip. The tour travels to their lodge which is 92 miles into the park--the end of the road. Anna, our driver/guide was the best! We were lucky to have great weather, clear views, and spotted lots of wildlife. Buffet lunch at the lodge was included and very satisfying.

Thank Patty Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018

This is the 2nd time we've won the road lottery in 5 years. We travel up from Tucson when we win because this road opportunity is so spectacular. The road is only open for 3 or 4 days each year. This year the clouds blocked the view of Denali on our day but it was viewable on the other two days and the trip was still spectacular. We saw Wolves, Bear, Moose, Sheep and unbelievable mountains. I recommend going for the lottery each year to try and gain access as this is a once in a lifetime trip (twice if you can work it). Apply in May for Sept lottery days.

Thank Roseann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2018

We took the green shuttle bus to Wonder Lake. It's a long drive, but took us deep into the park with great views of the mountain and the wildlife. We had time to walk for an hour on the McKinley River Bar Trail between buses. Although these are not, officially, narrated tours, the drivers do give a lot of useful and interesting information. Taking different buses for the outward and return journeys meant we heard from two different drivers: Bear was a good storyteller with a rather theatrical manner, Rex was more matter-of-fact but had interesting insights into the wildlife.

Thank Pittsburgh_cyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018 via mobile

For viewing Denali (the mountain), recognize that the mountain will only be seen by 30% of people and only 10% will see it without any cloud cover. The mountain is so tall, it makes its own weather pattern, so the conditions outside don’t necessarily help you either. Most people agree that late spring-early summer tends to be clearer, but the mountain can be seen year round. I would recommend staying in the area for at least 2-3 days if the mountains on your bucket list.

For viewing wildlife, Denali National Park and Preserve is unmatched in September. The fall colors are often out at this time, and all the animals are very active as they are preparing for winter. In one September trip I witnessed over 10 brown bears, 30 Dall sheep, 7 caribou, 2 moose, and many avian species. In July, the “dead zone” for animal viewing, it was still beautiful, but we saw 7 Dall sheep, 3 caribou, and many avian species.

I would strongly recommend the $40 dollar buses if you aren’t going to Wonder Lake. The buses do not have narrations, but the bus drivers are still super knowledgeable and you can save the money you save on the gift shop locations (Toklat) once you enter the park. If you go off trail near Eielson, I would highly recommend a bear spray that has a safety on it.

Overall, a day in Denali is exciting, long, and beautiful. It’s a must if you visit Alaska.

Thank ashleyelizabethsarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

What a surprise and thrill to visit in September during fall peak colors and warm sunshine! We also went into park at 11 pm to experience a bit of the northern lights and stars! Took the tundra bus tour and saw some animals in the distance. Hard to describe the vastness. Denali is a very special place indeed.

Thank 782sandrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018

We took the long tour to see as much of the park as we could. You are only permitted to drive the first 15 miles by private car, which we did the first day we arrived. The views were so wonderful we decided to take the bus the next day to try to see more. Our driver was entertaining and interesting and worked hard to spot wildlife for us. We were fortunate to see Dall sheep, caribou, grizzly bears, golden eagles, arctic ground squirrels, red squirrels, and ptarmigan. The moose, unfortunately, were elusive even though it was rutting season. The scenery was truly awesome. Unfortunately we could not capture it well in pictures because it was drizzly and a bit foggy for most of the trip. Even with that it was still well worth seeing.

Thank debbieleeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2018

Certainly Park Road offers tremendous landscape views and the occasional glimpse of wildlife, but it is a two way trip on the same path. So, in my opinion half of the time is somewhat wasted by retracing the same route. We did see some caribou and I understand other animals have been seen as well, but as large as the park is the animals really have no reason to come close to the roads like they do at Yellowstone or Smokey Mountain National Park. I just think the hiking trails and adventure style tours are a far better use of time in Denali for the average healthy person. If you have limited mobility, by all means this road is a great way to see the park and I would recommend it.

Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews