We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views even in the rain!”
Review of Base Camp Bistro

Base Camp Bistro
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views even in the rain!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Great food, terrific martini, staff very nice, try the blueberry bread pudding. Wow! This is a little more casual than King Salmon for dinner. We went here our last night. So glad we did!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dabo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    23
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Alabama
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Good food for the casual dinner ... burgers, salmon,, etc. Great view from the back deck. Some good micro brew beer.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BlueBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food - fun atmosphere ”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Great pub atmosphere - our waiter Chaska was outstanding. We had both soups and would recommend. Also the fish and chips were great. The salads were very fresh- enjoyed the experience!!!

Helpful?
Thank JoyLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
142 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Never been lied to before”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Went to this place while staying at Denali Princess (anything but) and asked for a hamburger. I asked if I could get it medium (pink) inside and asked specifically if I could get it this way and the waiter assured me I could. He came back and told me it was a state law that hamburgers had to be cooked well done. I said I couldn't believe that but ordered it anyway as they didnt have my first choice. Any the hamburg came and was very well done. The manager came by and asked how everything was and I complained that I had a hard time that Alaska regulated how hamburgers had to be cooked and he assured men that there was a state law. There is no state law. What happens is that the hamburgers are frozen to get to Alaska and you almost never get them any other way than well done. Anyway I needed to get this off my chest and didnt appreciate being lied to my face.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeorgefromRhody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level Contributor
426 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Beautiful View, Nice Meal”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We sat on the deck overlooking the mountains and rapids, watching rafters on the water. Our service was excellent and the light dinner was very good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AnnC576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Base Camp Bistro also viewed

Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to Base Camp Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing