We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I guess we ordered the wrong thing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prospectors Pizzeria & Alehouse

Prospectors Pizzeria & Alehouse
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Enjoying hand tossed, wood stone fired pizza surrounded by our extensive collection of historical photographs, maps and furs makes for an unforgettable experience in Denali. At Prospectors Pizzeria & Ale House our selection includes traditional favorites such as our McKinley Margarita or step outside of the pizza box and try some of our Alaskan specialties like the Lower 48 It Ain't, Kodiak Bear, or the Deadliest Catch with Alaskan King Crab. For the beer enthusiast, we offer over 49 beers on tap showcasing craft brews from Alaska and hand selected renowned beers from around the world.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
278 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“I guess we ordered the wrong thing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Staff at Denali princess lodge all told us to go here for dinner....which we did, but we weren't in the mood for pizza. I ordered a pasta with ricotta and spinach which my server told me was "great" and my husband ordered a bratwurst. Wish we had just ordered pizza. My dish's tomato sauce was bland. Not bad, just not much taste. My husband said the same for his dinner. Atmosphere was casual, fun, laid back, and loud. Service was friendly. Go with a group and just order pizza and dessert (which looked good - but they were out of the homemade ice cream by the time we ordered. Guess it just wasn't our night). You'll probably like it better than we did.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nreyesok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    667
    380
    82
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Charles,Missouri
Level Contributor
304 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great alternative to hotel offerings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

After reading TA reviews, we tried this place for dinner tonight. Great atmosphere worthy of Alaska, and good local ale to suite various tastes! Pizza crust is light, crisp, and yet puffy. Many choices to suit your particular preference. The 5 star is because after our pizza was delivered, Nicole our server made a point to come by and ask how things were. When we said the pizza seemed a bit cold, she said typically they let it cool for a few minutes before serving, but she readily took it back, and warmed it to suit us!! Good service and good food!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank sattelite10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had a great meal after a day in Denali National Park. Pizza's were awesome, salad was delicious and beverages were good too!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious pizzas and great wine selection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We tried one of the vegetarian pizzas and it was really really good! They were out of the blueberry zin, but strawberry zin was delicious too! Good service and food. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrinalini K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
308 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“So good we ate here 3 times”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

AS my title indicates, we ate here three times - twice for dinner and once for lunch. Our first meal was a dinner of a large Junk-o pizza; Nicole was our server and she was pretty cool. She was attentive, friendly and provided some great beer recommendations. The pizza was delicious. Our second meal was lunch, and I had the Alaskan Elk Meatball sandwich - three gigantic meatballs on a perfect roll - delicious! The steak fries were actually a huge portion of fried potatoe wedges, crispy on the outside and creamy (HOT) on the inside. Finally, our third meal, dinner, we ate at the bar because the place was packed. We started with the artichoke dip - yummy! - and then I had eggplant rolletini and my husband had the four-cheese ravioli. We both enjoyed our meals very much. I should note that each meal was made even better by the enormous selection of beers on tap.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prospectors Pizzeria & Alehouse also viewed

Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to Prospectors Pizzeria & Alehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing