We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stop between Talkeetna and North Pole” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prospectors Pizzeria & Alehouse

Prospectors Pizzeria & Alehouse
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Enjoying hand tossed, wood stone fired pizza surrounded by our extensive collection of historical photographs, maps and furs makes for an unforgettable experience in Denali. At Prospectors Pizzeria & Ale House our selection includes traditional favorites such as our McKinley Margarita or step outside of the pizza box and try some of our Alaskan specialties like the Lower 48 It Ain't, Kodiak Bear, or the Deadliest Catch with Alaskan King Crab. For the beer enthusiast, we offer over 49 beers on tap showcasing craft brews from Alaska and hand selected renowned beers from around the world.
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stop between Talkeetna and North Pole”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Good pizza and Excellent beer from 49th State Brewery. Try the Vienna Lager...it is an excellent 'red' beer. Quick service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dove030221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    667
    380
    82
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Positives
1. Good food, reasonably priced
2. They can pick you up from your hotel and drop you back

Negatives
1. Dishes were not very clean

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank lakshmi m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
2 reviews
“Great Denali Restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

After having a very expensive dinner on our first night at the Park, we opted for this restaurant on our second night based upon trip advisor reviews. As usual, the recommendation did not fail us. The beer was the best selection of Alaskan beers on tap we had ever seen. The food was great. For apps we had the spinach artichoke dip and the mozzarella bricks. We had the Wilderness Tour pizza, the raviolis, and the pasta pomodoro for dinner. Everything was fantastic. The service was terrific and it was a packed night. Loved the Alaskan ambiance. Definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Theresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Surprising”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Much better than anticipated. On a recommendation from our tour guide we tried it and we were very pleased. Good pizza with local toppings (elk, raindeer?) plenty of beers. We had fantastic service considering how crowded this place can get. If it's warm in Denali try to get a seat outside,with the pizza ovens running it can get very hot inside.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Bay
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Atmosphere plus”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Anyone who has traveled to Alaska has experienced sticker-shock over food prices. We paid $16 in the same area for soup & salad bar. There was one soup which was an adequate vegetable beef and a limited salad bar. The salad bar had no protein besides faux bacon bits. We were delighted when someone said that this was a good bet for pizza.

For the same amount of money, I got a large cheeseburger on sourdough. The burger was tasty with lots of toppings and done just as I requested, rare but not bloody. The steak fries were home made & the best I believe I have ever tasted: crispy outside and fluffy inside.

Our waitress was very entertaining and the décor was in keeping with a frontier Alaska theme.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aine997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prospectors Pizzeria & Alehouse also viewed

Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to Prospectors Pizzeria & Alehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing