We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some cool views”

Denali ATV Adventures - Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$87.50*
and up
Denali Wilderness ATV Adventure Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Denali's premier ATV tour company! 4 different guided tours in the Denali area. We use both 4-wheeler ATVs and 2-6 passenger side-by-side ATVs(tandem seating 4-wheelers not used due to safety concerns). Oldest customer to date: 105! We have car seats and booster seats for young children. All riding and rain gear (if necessary) provided.
Berthoud, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Some cool views”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very cool views but don't expect to see any wildlife! The ATVs are too loud for that.... We enjoyed the trip overall, it was VERY mild. You do not need to have any experience on an ATV and if you do have experience, you may get frustrated that you will not be traveling quickly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank GoldenGrahamGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mike8380, Owner at Denali ATV Adventures - Day Tours, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
While we may not see wildlife on every trip - wildlife is definitely wild - we definitely see a lot of moose, as they tend not to be affected by the ATVs - just check out our Tour Comments section on our website! Even on some of the bus trips into the Park itself wildlife may not be spotted, again, because the wildlife is wild and moves around quite a bit. This same frustration is expressed by those who come to the Denali area and never see Mt. McKinley because is is cloud-shrouded the whole time they are here. I wish we could control the weather and the wildlife but we have so far not found a way!

As noted in other responses to reviews, we serve a wide range of ATV skill levels and on a particular tour, we can only safely go as fast as the least experienced rider. Where we have mostly experienced riders on a tour, speeds can reach 30-40 mph on the smoother portions of the trail. But that is also why we offer our "Denali ATV Explorer," a customizable tour for those who either want to spend the whole time riding or those who want to "stop and smell the roses" many times during their ride.

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and we are glad that you enjoyed the cool views and enjoyed the trip overall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    606
    73
    15
    15
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
112 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wild ride lot of fun”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We are not wild life seekers but enjoy the outdoors and scenery. Not a lot of scenery here except scrub trees and mud, clouds covered any mountains there were. Had a great time on the ride, food was burgers and dogs over a campfire very hurried. Lunch in a grove of trees so nothing much to look at. Little narration by the guides but would have had to be at the camp site since the rest of the time we were on side by side ATV's. Drop of and go, eat and return. Efficient. Fun. Recommend it but don't expect wildlife or spectacular scenery. Driving you shouldn't be looking around anyway.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clintlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mike8380, Owner at Denali ATV Adventures - Day Tours, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thanks for the comments! Sorry that you were not able to see Mt. McKinley on your tour. It is about 80 miles away and creates its own weather. It is visible during many tours but unfortunately not yours.

To be honest, most riders really enjoy the 45 minutes or so spent at our rustic camp site, nestled among tall spruce trees, spending time talking with the guides and other guests. And while we don't see wildlife on every tour, it is not uncommon to see moose. However, the wildlife is wild so there is never any guarantee of seeing wildlife - and this is the case even on the bus trips into the Park itself. We are glad that overall, you thought the trip was fun! Many tell us that it was the highlight of their time in the Denali area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“OUCH!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Let me start by saying that I was excited about this excursion. It was raining pretty hard but I was determined to enjoy this as a novice ATVer. I was having a blast and really enjoyed the time I got to do the ride. Due to the rain the roads were washing away and the tours should probably have been cancelled. My machine went into the crevasse that was the road and my ATV flipped over.
Luckily I was OK but the Manager tried to tell me that while he was glad that I was OK I may possibly get a bill for repairs on the machine because I signed a waiver that I would be responsible. I did share my thoughts with him about the fact that his guides should have recognized a dangerous situation and avoided it to begin with and that they certainly shouldn't be taking out more tours. So I guess I would say try to do an adventure like this on a dry day if you are a novice!! But it was a BLAST!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mike8380, Owner at Denali ATV Adventures - Day Tours, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We appreciate your taking the time to write a review of our tour. While safety of our tours is our primary concern, there are times when trail conditions can change quickly. We run up to seven tours per day on this particular tour so that the guides are continuously monitoring trail status. It was, in fact, raining hard during the day this guest took our tour and conditions on the previous tour were still safe. However, during her tour, the runoff was such that a crevasse had widened and softened at the edges. While those in front of her were able to navigate it safely, she was not. Thankfully, she was able to jump off the machine without injury while it rolled several times down the hill. The manager, not knowing the full details of the incident yet, did respond correctly as we do have riders who run into trees or lose control of their unit and the waiver form, standard in the Denali area with all action-type activities, does indicate that the rider is responsible for any damage they cause through negligent use of the ATV. It was determined in this situation, however, that due to rapidly changing trail conditions, the rider was not at fault. Moreover, subsequent tours were routed around this area until it was repaired.

Thankfully, all ended well with the guest indicating she had a blast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun adventure around Denali”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This was a fun adventure to have during a stay at Denali. You can't drive until you're 16, so my 14 year old son shared a "side by side" with me (he really wished he could drive). My husband drove a single. We were lucky with the weather and had a really nice day, so I wish the trip could have been longer. You get to drive and stop at a couple of scenic overlooks. Even though you are technically outside Denali, it feels like you're inside ---- it looks the same. If you're looking for something to do other than hike, this is fun. One piece of advice. If you bring a backpack, I suggest you either leave it at their storage shed, or bring a plastic garbage bag to put it in (in the back of a side by side) to protect it from the dirt and dust.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank momsters_inc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mike8380, Owner at Denali ATV Adventures - Day Tours, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a thoughtful review - many guests to tell us that they wish the trip was longer! We are sorry that your son couldn't drive but Alaska law requires that drivers be at least 16 and have a valid driver's license. With the side-by-side units, it goes up to 18 years old since the driver is also responsible for a passenger. So ... maybe in a couple of years he can return and do the driving!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We had no plans to do ATV, but after a lame plane ride we decided to do something more adventurous. We went with very low expectations, but the ATV ride turned out to be super fun. We were a group of 10 people, so we got a private trip with 3 guides, all of them were super fun to hang out with. They gave us enough time to have fun at each spot. Only complaint we had was their "ATV test". A few of the girls in our group failed the test, but we truly thought that the test was way too hard for first timer, especially compared to the actual terrain we rode on, which wasn't that difficult. They should first allow new folks to ride on a flat path, before making them go through the tougher test.

Net/Net - This is a must do thing if you are in the Denali area and are looking for something different and fun!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harsh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mike8380, Owner at Denali ATV Adventures - Day Tours, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thanks for the honest and thoughtful review! Glad you all had a great time.

We actually have gotten a lot of compliments on our safety course from many of the safety compliance officers from our tour booking companies who indicate that they wished more ATV tour companies had such a course. In fact, most riders - even first-timers - have no problem with the course - it is about 50 feet long with bumps and small hills and uneven surfaces. But we have found that it is a good indicator of whether someone will be able to safely handle the trail we travel on - which can change as the weather changes. Moreover, we would rather have guests fail the safety course than fail on the trail where consequences can be more serious.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Denali ATV Adventures - Day Tours also viewed

Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to Denali ATV Adventures - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing