We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun thing to do outside of Denali national park.”

Denali ATV Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
$125.00*
and up
3.5-Hour Denali ATV Off-Road Tour
More Info
$87.50*
and up
2.5-Hour ATV Tour of Denali National Park in Alaska
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Denali's premier ATV tour company! 4 different guided tours in the Denali area. We use both 4-wheeler ATVs and 2-6 passenger side-by-side ATVs(tandem seating 4-wheelers not used due to safety concerns). Oldest customer to date: 105! We have car seats and booster seats for young children. All riding and rain gear (if necessary) provided.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We did the shorter ATV tour offered by Denali ATV Adventures. We did some driving through mud and along some rough trails, which was great. The scenery was not as nice as that in the park, but it was still beautiful. There were two points on the trail where we stopped for pictures and breaks. The young men running our tour were outstanding. The company ran a shuttle from the office, which was conveniently for us located right across the street from Denali Princess Lodge. Overall, the trip was a little underwhelming but fun nonetheless. Because the river was still frozen, our raft trip was cancelled and we were happy we took the Denali ATV tour in its place.

Thank KevLena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mike8380, Owner at Denali ATV Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Thanks for taking time to write a review! Not sure why you felt the trip was a little underwhelming as most folks have an absolutely fabulous time! But we are glad that that that you came and were happy you took our tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (983)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

902 - 906 of 987 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a wonderful excursion with wonderful guides. Well planned scenic stops so you could get a visual. It was dusty but we were on atv's . The atv tour was exciting and if you have teenagers or kids I cannot imagine them missing out on this. Phil was a wonderful guide...

Thank Love2vacation12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mike8380, Owner at Denali ATV Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thanks for the honest and informative comments! When it hasn't rained for a while, yes, it can get dusty. And then when it rains, it can get muddy! Either way, most guests have an absolute blast as this is an ATV tour! And thanks for commenting about a particular guide - we always make sure that they are aware of compliments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We did a 4 hours stamped trail trip an evening in July
It was a fun evening but not scenic at all.
At one point on the way back the guide stopped and we could see Mt McKinley otherwise there was nothing to see. No wildlife - no nice nature.
Everything was well organized and we stop on the way to cook hamburger over a fire. Very nice.
Do this trip if you think it fun to race on an ATV - othervise I would no recomend.

Thank DenmarkLotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mike8380, Owner at Denali ATV Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. One of the main purposes of this tour is to follow and “re-live” to an extent the fateful story of Chris McCandless, whose tragic four months in the Alaskan bush was chronicled in the best-selling book and major motion picture “Into the Wild.” Beyond that, it does include opportunities to view Mt. McKinley and the potential to see wildlife. And most people are ecstatic to see Mt. McKinley, as only 20-25% see it at any time during their visit to Alaska. However, as we make clear in our brochure and on the shuttle bus ride to the staging area – and similar to the experience of those taking a bus trip into the national park - wildlife is wild so that there can never be a guarantee of seeing wildlife on a particular tour. We do, however see moose on many tours.

And, yes, it is a great ATV ride! Just check out other Trip Advisor reviews or our unedited Tour Comments posted to our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This half-day ATV ride was super fun! At first the ride was pretty vanilla, and had it not rained it would have been terribly dusty. Then we rode to the dry creek area, and everything changed. Not only is the geology of the area amazing, but due to the rain, the dry creek was not so dry. Riding up the creek was incredible! Lots of photo opportunities (though you might be too busy riding). We had a great time and Michelle was a super guide. Not for beginning riders. 2 for 1 coupon in the tour saver book.

Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mike8380, Owner at Denali ATV Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to post an honest and informative review! When the water is running in the creek bed, it indeed adds an additional element of excitement to the tour. And thanks for posting the great pictures!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The way the attraction was advertised, we expected to see some wildlife and at a minimum, some beautiful scenery. It ended up to be a noisy, wide open ATV ride through some scrub trees and mud in a side by side ATV. My husband enjoyed driving the ATV because it was challenging - but as a rider, I couldn't find much to recommend since I was bounced all over (I was glad for the helmet since I hit my head against the head rest numerous times). We didn't find out until after we had signed up that the ride was not even in Denali Park but in an area outside the Park that was definitely not as scenic. If you are simply looking for a mud run on ATV's, this is the excursion for you. The guides were definitely polite young men who made every effort to make the attraction fun - but it was not what we expected from the advertising.

Thank Marcy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mike8380, Owner at Denali ATV Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Well, as we tell everyone on this tour, the Alaskan bush is not a zoo! Many tours see wildlife, many do not, similar to bus trips into the Park. And, yes, we are not physically within the national park boundaries as ATVs are not allowed in any national park in the U.S. However, the area we ride in is surrounded by Denali National Park, as it was an area excluded back when the Park boundaries were set over 75 years ago because there was an operating coal mine in the area at the time. Had the mine not been there, then the area we go in would, in fact, have been part of the Park.

It does seem as if your husband enjoyed the tour. While we are sorry that you were bounced around a bit, this is an ATV tour on rough trails. Not only do our side-by-side units have several different handholds, most guests actually enjoy the ride, the two high scenic overlooks and the time spent in a creekbed viewing the many interesting formations.

Finally, the ride these guests experienced was exactly as stated in our brochure - simply go to our website and read about the Denali Wilderness Adventure. Not only do we not say that our tours are in the park but we include a map to show where are tours are conducted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Denali ATV Adventures also viewed

Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to Denali ATV Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing