We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST BUY”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denali National Park and Preserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Denali RV Park & Motel
SPRING HILL
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“BEST BUY”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

OK its a small room..BUT at $79 a night, in one of the most expensive places in Alaska-who cares what size room! It was very clean, carpet looked like it was just cleaned, hot, hot shower--warmed the cold body.
AAAAAAAND FREEE WIFIF!!
We had a queen and a twin- even a desk!
We gave it a thumbs up--we used it for sleeping and had a great nights sleep..
Who could ask for more?????

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    45
    20
    7
    2
See reviews for
27
43
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aubrey, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Don't expect a 5 star place, it is a RV park with cabins. It's a great value, located 8 miles north of park entrance. I called them day of, they were the only place with a room. However it was their larger cabin (trailer) which goes for $139, but they gave it to me for $99. Great folks. Just don't expect alot and you'll be fine. No places to eat, need a car.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnluvsAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
274 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

of course most lodging near denali is very overpriced, so it was nice to find this motel and rv park just 7 miles from the park entrance.
the rooms are small, especially for 2 people. everything was clean. the bathrooms are also very small, as is the shower stall. there was a space heater to use for the chilly summer nights. the tiny tv has 12 channnels but was wall mounted in the top corner so it was very uncomfortable to try to watch it. there was a dirty microwave and fridge in the lodge hall to be shared by the rooms in the back of the motel. there were other motel rooms with kitchenettes and private entrances but they probably cost more than the basic lodge rooms. the hallway was noisy whenever people came in but overall the motel was ususally quiet. the motel is surrounded by rvs but they were also quiet. the mountain setting is nice, as were the workers in the motel office.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whomever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Me and my mom stayed here (at the motel) for 2 nights on a quick trip to Denali. It's only 8 miles away from the start of the National Park road and the Wilderness Center (where you meet up with Denali tours). It's only 3 miles away from Healy which has Rose's Cafe, great food! The rooms are pretty tiny and very simple, but we were only there to sleep. They were clean, the beds were comfortable enough, and they did have a few cable channels to keep you occupied at night. The RV side of it looked very nice as well, with hook ups and a communal bathroom (with showers) in case you did not want to use the one (or didn't have one) in your RV. The owners were very friendly and made you feel welcome. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silvanmellome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Heard bad stories about parks in Denali near all the shops and motels,we checked out 2 parks and realised what everyone had said was true. We drove 8 miles north of Denali and 3 miles south of Healy and found this park sort of in the middle of nowhere, glad we did great service very welcoming hosts ,level sites with all services, clean restrooms and a nice quiet laundry not big just 4 machines of each which all worked very well and very clean.A handy gift shop with some really good prices.The park was probably 90% full and is a good size park, also has Motel rooms.we stayed in a motor home. Would stay here again great place. The scenery is pretty easy on the eye as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MICHAEL D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This property provides both RV and motel accomodations. This review applies only to the motel. The motel is located in the back of the property so it doesn't get highway noise. There are 18 rooms. According to a busdriver who was staying here, the rooms were originally built as temporary housing for Alyeska Pipeline builders and when the work was done, they were sold off and carted away. In fact, we've seen the same rooms at other motels in Alaska. As these were built to be temporary, the walls are very thin and the construction is not fancy. The accomodations rate about two stars, but the location and price are what give this three stars overall. The motel is located about 7 miles from the Denali Park entrance and the rates are reasonable for the area. So if you plan to stay here, be aware that the rooms are quite basic, the towels are thin, and the free wifi can be slow; but you are close to the park and are not paying a lot. Another perk is the small wild blueberries on the hill by the RV park if they are in season.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank poodytat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We visited many websites for lodging in Denali area. The Trip Advisor division was confusing. Just look at the mile marker #s; none of places are actually on the park road. Those listed as inside the park are just inside the edge and not necessarily at the entrance road. Those places close to the entrance are great for people without their own transportation, but otherwise hold no advantage for the independent traveler. The RV park was a perfect location. Not only was it just 8 miles from the park, it was also close to Healy which has several good restaurants. It was a quite scenic area rather being in the middle of lots of commercial buildings. If you aren’t planning on spending a lot of time in your room or at the resort, this is a great option. The room was not updated, but that is reflected in the price. The people in the office were all very nice and helpful. The items for sale in their store were reasonably priced (for the area). We had to travel to the entrance area to go to the park, so we had coffee at the motel, then stopped at a restaurant and had a big breakfast before starting our day. Saved enough to pay for a meal each day!

Room Tip: You can request a room with mini fridge and may get it if you reserve early; We did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pranalotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denali National Park and Preserve
6.2 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
540 reviews
2.0 mi away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Healy
365 reviews
5.6 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
754 reviews
12.5 mi away
Denali Grizzly Bear Resort
Denali Grizzly Bear Resort
#3 of 7 in McKinley Village
356 reviews
5.8 mi away
Denali Rainbow Village RV Park & Motel
Denali Rainbow Village RV Park &...
#5 of 7 in McKinley Village
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denali RV Park & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali RV Park & Motel

Property: Denali RV Park & Motel
Address: 245.1 George Parks Highway, P.O. Box 155, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Location: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Denali National Park and Preserve
Number of rooms: 84

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing