We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kantishna Roadhouse
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Good Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

My husband and I were originally booked at the Northface Lodge, just a short distance from the Kantishna Roadhouse. However, our independant travel agent really screwed up and never made the full deposit to the Northface Lodge, so we scrambled to find a new place to stay. Word travels fast in Alaska and by the time I phoned the Kantishna Roadhouse, they already knew of our plight and were holding a room. Fantastic!

Turns out, we think we lucked out. The Roadhouse is really laid back, with lovely grounds, good food, and great hikes. Our cabin was large and comfortable, although the wall separating our room from the adjoining one was paper thin. Fortunately, our friends were next door and we all agreed to be quiet.

It's possible the North Face Lodge offers a more personal experience, but when we rode our mountain bikes over to the North Face Lodge to look around, we decided we liked the Roadhouse better.

If you're taking the train to Denali, we would recommend both the Kantishna Roadhouse at the end of the park road, and its sister property, the Denali River Cabins near the park entrance. We spent one night at the River Cabins and were impressed by the incredible scenery and casual ambience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SharonO_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    46
    21
    11
    3
See reviews for
43
81
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Islamorada, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

We had this trip in July, we were worried because is very long, but it was the best decision we have beautiful weather, saw Mt. Denali, and so much wildlife, bears with the cubs, Moose on the lake male and females, caribous, a lynx cat, more bears, sheep, and so more. Our guide mark was excellent, we have so more knowledge, and make the tour interesting, I usually sleep at some point in long trips, but I never close my eyes with him, learn so much about the ark and history, I will do it again and recommend this trip to anybody who visits Denali.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mari250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
355 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

The 8 hour trip in was amazing ( helped by the great weather). Kirsty the driver was a wildife enthusiast she spotted 8 grizzly bears, dall sheep,caribou, ptarmigan and chicks, tundra swans and signets for us to watch. There were plenty of restroom stops with water, homemade cookies and fruit provided.
The cabins were well fitted for such an isolated location with 2 double beds, plenty of storage, en-suite bathrooms. they were spotlessly clean with plenty of towels. It was great not to have disturbance from TVs and mobile phones
The food was of a high quality with choices. Being European we found the portions large with always plenty left at the table if you wanted more.
It was good to have complimentary lemonade, tea and coffee
During our full day went on a hike with Ethan we saw a Moose and old Beever Dams and lodge. We could have done more activities but just enjoyed sitting out on the deck relaxing in the sun. There were some mosquitos but nothing like at Wiseman on the Dalton Highway or at Katmai. In the everning had bus trip up to watch the Alaska Range. Saw all of Denali and some of teh other larger summits bathed in evening sunshine over wonder lake - it was magical. Next morning had 6.30 am departure but at same site saw the whole 150 miles of the Alaska Range, including Denali - quite spectacular. also saw a largemale moose ina lake bathed in mist andearly morning sun
Don't come here for 5 star bland luxury - you are in an amazing setting and don't come here for that. Come if you want peace and quiet within a beautiful setting with quality accomodation and food
The staff were all efficient, friendly and very knowledgable

Room Tip: Ask for a duplex near the lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
211 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Before you stay at the Kantishna Roadhouse, either get mortgage on your house or rob a bank because this place is going to cost you a real BIG bundle of dollars, like $495 per night!

That price was most definitely NOT worth the stay at this joint. Yes, I know that Kantishna is located in a very remote location 90 miles through Denali National Park, and it costs plenty to haul in supplies there, but just down the road I discovered another almost as comfortable place for “only” $230 per night.

I stayed two nights at this roadhouse. The young college staff were extremely friendly, fully aware that they were waiting on fat cats. The cabins were not at all luxurious; rather, they were just like hostels with comfortable beds and a flush toilet. There was no TV, radio, Internet or cell phone connections (who needs those in that wonderful wilderness?), but the cabin had adequate heat and it was quite clean.

The room contained two twin beds, a chest of drawers, an end table, and a lamp. The place had electricity that always worked.

The food at the roadhouse restaurant was included in the room price. The food was tasty, especially the desserts, although I did have to send back my nearly raw salmon.

Guided hikes, gold panning, bicycles and helmets, plus several “wilderness” lectures by college students were also included in the room price. I enjoyed all of those goodies.

I would recommend this place IF the price were under $200 per night; otherwise, it’s a genuine ripoff, as one of the college employees told me “off the record.” You would think they’d give you a complimentary glass of beer and maybe one massage for the Big Dough you pay at the Kantishna Roadhouse. But nope! In fact, you are charged Big Money for those luxuries – far, far more than any other place I’ve been on this Earth.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cyclopath43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

This was an amazing part of our Alaskan adventure. Our bus ride in was with Gary. We enjoyed his humor and ability to spot wildlife. He was very patient and even stopped when my husband spotted a rock bear! The cookies were delicious! The staff was waiting for us and showed us to our cabin quickly so we could freshen up before dinner. All meals were very tasty. I went on a hike the next day with Ethan. He was very knowledgable about the plants and wildlife in the area. All the guides have had extensive training and many are doing their internship there. The guides amazed me because they are young and have chosen to spend four months in the wilderness without cell phones, computers, video games, or TV. They love it so much that on our ride out three of the staff hitched a ride with us to go hiking on their day off! The second day we chose to ride bikes to Wonder Lake. The bikes were in good shape which is good as there are lots of hills on the way to the lake. The ride back was a blast! That afternoon we hiked to the end of the road. We saw the airstrip and Fanny Quigley's cabin. We went down with Kirsta. We had amazing views of Mt. McKinley (Denali) and saw lots of wildlife. Again Kirsta was very knowledgable and patient with us. It was worth it to me to spend the extra money to stay here.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

This lodge is located about 90 miles inside Denali National Park. Very nice main lodge and cabins. This is a very remote location with electricity provided by generators. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Only complaint is the food. The restaurant allows a meat and veggie option but food is bland and don't ask for more bread. For the price you pay for this lodge with meals included, you should be offered more of things and we were told we couldn't have extra bread. Always just the exact amount of food and no more, even at breakfast. Realizing this is a remote location and probably difficulty to ship here, guests still expect to be able to have another roll. The beauty of the location and warm staff makes up for their stingy restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Kantishna Roadhouse. Our experience began at the park entrance where we were greeted by Gary who drove us and about 13 other patrons on a 6.5 hour bus guided tour to the roadhouse. He was friendly, informative and funny. We made several stops along the way and had several animal sightings.
We were greeted at the bus when we arrived at our destination and our bags were brought to our room. We then sat down to a gourmet like dinner served family style. We were given a brief introduction to the activities that were available for the next day.
Once the kids were happily in bed after their long day we were able to enjoy a drink in the "Saloon" and treated to the company of John the bartender, a delightful older gentleman who has worked there for years.
The next day we had a great breakfast and headed off for a 3-4 hour hike up a mountain. We had wonderful views of Denali from the top of a mountain; what more could we ask for?
Later that day my seven year old and I attended the sled-dog demonstration (petting the dogs is encouraged) and went panning for gold (she actually found a small flake).
Dinner that evening was scrumptious again and followed by free time to read, hike, mountain bike, play board games or attend a presentation on animal and plant adaptation.
We loved our stay. The location is unbeatable and the stay wonderfully accomodating.
The only downside is the mosquitoes (nature's fault) but they can be controlled with repellent.
If you can swing the hefty price I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephenoneil87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denali National Park and Preserve
133.7 mi away
Denali Backcountry Lodge
Denali Backcountry Lodge
#1 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Fairbanks
3.9 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kantishna Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantishna Roadhouse

Property: Kantishna Roadhouse
Address: 1 Doyon Pl # 300, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99701-2941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Denali National Park and Preserve
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kantishna Roadhouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kantishna Roadhouse is a backcountry lodge resort in the heart of Denali National Park. Comfortable well-appointed cabin lodging, all-inclusive experience. Enjoy abundant activities including daily guided hikes, gold panning with expert guides, free mountain bike rental/usage, and fly-fishing for Arctic Grayling in Moose Creek. For those that choose to stay in camp for the day, our comfortable natural history library, cozy lobby, or outdoor screened-in porch -- offer pleasant alternatives. This is a true Alaskan adventure in one of the most beautiful national parks in the world. The transportation to and from the resort is half the fun. Our red and white bus, marked "Kantishna Roadhouse," gives you the opportunity to see abundant wildlife in its natural setting, including grizzly bears, wolves, moose, caribou, dall sheep, among other critters. Kantishna Roadhouse is the only resort in the backcountry with a bar/saloon. Sip wine on the banks of the Moose River while you take in a beautiful sunset by the fire. Enjoy activities and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Kantishna Roadhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantishna Roadhouse Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing