We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tundra Wilderness Tour”
Review of Denali

Denali
Book In Advance
More Info
$87.50*
and up
Denali Wilderness ATV Adventure Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: America's tallest peak, this 20,320-foot mountain is the most famous part of this national park.
Brockville
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Tundra Wilderness Tour”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We did this tour on a beautiful sunny Sept day. It was the last tour of the season as the park was closing. We had 20 year veteran tour guide Marsha Anderson driving our bus and she has to be the most knowledgeable tour guide I've ever met. Her eight and a half hours of informative dialogue, spotting of wildlife and plant life made this tour as excellent as it could be. Even though we had a sunny day our arrival at Mt McKinley was met with cloud blocking half the mountain. I would highly recommend this tour. We saw many bears, dall sheep, cow & bull moose, caribou, eagles etc..

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank RiverSwim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,764 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,466
    218
    60
    12
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
228 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Hardly can see it but was worth the trip”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We looked into all the options that takes you close to see Mt. Mckinley and at the end decided to make reservations for the park shuttle bus that takes you to the end of the road, Kantishna, and back.

I am very happy that we made the right choice for us. It was the most economical way and we were fortunate enough to see both bears and Mt. Mckinley peaking through the clouds which was for about 20 minutes, but seemed like 20 seconds.

With that being said, however, if you would like to spend more time off and on the bus to take pictures, etc. when you do encounter exciting things like bears and Mckinley peaking through the clouds, when they DO show, it might be worth taking the other tour buses like Kantishna Experience Tour which is more than triple the price, but is more flexible with time.

After all, the shuttle buses runs on a schedule, so they can not take too much time at one place to stop and let everyone take pictures or let people off the bus. They only let us off at the stops, not when bears or Mckinley appears.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Chia2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
136 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Everyone should see Denali National Park”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

unspoiled-wild-nature at its best-wildlife in their natural habitat-rangers were very informative-seeing McKinley in the clear would have been nice but we could see enough of the whole mountain range so it was terrific

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank NoFuFu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoschton, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ride a Plane for the Best Views of Mt Denali/McKinley”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

If you can't hike up the mountain, the next best thing is to hire a plane to see the mountain and surrounding vistas. I would recommend K2 Aviation in Talkeetna. We rode in a 6 passenger twin prop plane and the views were fantastic. Our pilot (I can't remember his name) was an older gentleman who was born and raised in Alaska, and was an excellent guide. We flew around the peaks and valleys of the mountain and sometimes seemed so close that our wings were brushing the snow covered mountain (not really). He also showed us several of the glaciers in the area, as well as other nearby mountains. Just spectacular!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank gsk24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
studio city, calif
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“mt mckinley”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

tallest mt. in north america and very scenic. the road is not that close, but your not going to climb it

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank wayne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Denali also viewed

Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to Denali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing