We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't rent bikes there”

Denali Outdoor Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$94.00*
and up
Canyon Run Oar Raft Whitewater Rafting
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Denali Outdoor Center (D.O.C.) is a full-service outfitter offering whitewater rafting, mild-water float trips, kayaking, canoeing and mountain biking adventures on the boundary of Denali National Park, Alaska. We also offer lakeside nightly cabin rentals and camping at our premier location in Healy, Alaska on the shore of Otto Lake.For convenience, we have 2 office locations, one at Denali Park and the other in Healy, just 10 minutes north of the park entrance. We also provide free shuttle service to and from all local lodging, AKRR Depot, Denali Park Visitor Center and the Wilderness Access Center.Our operating season is from mid-May to mid-September and we are open 7 days from 7:00am to 10:00pm. Our winter hours are M-F 9:00am to 5:00pm Alaska Time.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had planned to rent bikes and to cycle through Denali National Park. When we got to the Denali Outdoor Center and asked for bikes, the reaction was "Uhmm, let's see... I'm not sure if we have some nice bikes left..." The guy ransacked his bikes, mumbling "Noo, I can't give you this one, this one has issues... No... neither that one, it has a flat tire..." At the end he gave us two really poor looking bikes and let us try them on the parking lot. The brakes on both bikes didn't really work, one of the bikes had issues with the chain, and none of the bikes had any kind of repair kit / pump on it. It's obvious we decided not to rent the bikes (they would charge $40 a day!)....

2  Thank Hovat85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill O, Owner at Denali Outdoor Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

First, I want to apologize for your disappointing experience with Denali Outdoor Center. However, I want to be clear that Darin is a very genuine person and makes every possible effort in these situations to satisfy our customers. It is unfortunate that the bike rental didn't work out but apparently we did not have an available bike at the time. The bikes that Darin was inspecting had been rented, returned in a state of dis-repair and Darin is not the bike tech.

We are very pleased that Darin took the time to inspect the bikes before merely sending you with bikes that would not perform. D.O.C. makes sure every bike is mechanical sound before renting it, and in the event there is a problem, we make every effort to correct the situation. Please see the review from August 22nd, "Awesome Customer Service."

My recommendation would be to make a reservation next time to ensure that bikes are available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"rafting trip"
in 35 reviews
"nenana river"
in 42 reviews
"dry suit"
in 26 reviews
"otto lake"
in 14 reviews
"white water rafting"
in 26 reviews
"scenic wilderness"
in 12 reviews
"ride the bull"
in 3 reviews
"hour paddle"
in 4 reviews
"raft company"
in 3 reviews
"guy named"
in 3 reviews
"class iii rapids"
in 6 reviews
"hour scenic"
in 3 reviews
"stay dry"
in 6 reviews
"water proof"
in 3 reviews
"safety instructions"
in 4 reviews
"an amazing guide"
in 3 reviews
"waterproof gloves"
in 4 reviews
Filter

189 - 193 of 293 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

I had never attempted any white water rafting before in my life, but in 2001, I thought since we were in Alaska, I wanted to try it. My thought was how many people could say they had rafted in Alaska, and in Denali to boot. So I went on an oar raft with DOC. It was icy cold, so cold I thought I was soaking wet, but nope. We were bone dry.

So this year, I wanted to show this side of Alaska to my sister. Off we went on an oar raft with DOC again and had a blast! Johnny, our guide was awesome. Shannon, our instructor was most lively and energetic. We really had a great time.

Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill O, Owner at Denali Outdoor Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Wow! What a treat to receive a review from a return customer who enjoyed their experience on both occasions. Thank you so much for writing to express your feelings about our trips and your guides. We really appreciate your feedback and I know Johnny and Shannon will be glad to hear you "had a blast!" We hope to see you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Reserved a tandem bike for Denali National Park for 6 hours at the rate of $50.00. The bike had a few issues like gear shifting and maneuvering the bike was difficult. At the end of our reservation we spoke to Darren. He asked how our ride was and we told him the issues. He apologized and refunded us the total reservation cost. I was not expecting that at all. He also took the bike inside immediately after we left to get it fixed. I really appreciated the amazing customer service he gave us.

Thank you Darren !!

Thank Andrea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill O, Owner at Denali Outdoor Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Well, I'm not sure how it happened, but I'm glad you returned safely. As the owner, I'm curious to know how you managed to get the tandem bike, because we are not supposed to be renting it. I sincerely apologize for the mechanical issues you experienced but I'm not surprised since I'm not sure when it was last tuned. I was apparently off-duty that particular day and I can only hope that our mechanic had time to at least take a quick look before it went out. I'm happy Darin refunded your money and very pleased to hear you didn't have more serious problems. We stopped renting that bike shortly after we bought it because it was scary for us to ride it much less people we didn't even know their ability or if they had ever ridden tandem before. Yikes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I cannot compare with other rafting experience it was our first time but we loved it.
You can choose paddle or oar , paddle is more fun and you have your guide with you anyway. It was not hard.
Our guide was so nice and knowelegable.
The scenery is so nice. So much fun.

Thank dd13UsaBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill O, Owner at Denali Outdoor Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Fantastic! Hopefully, you will find other rafting excursions wherever you travel and have similar experiences. Thank you for writing your review and sharing your positive feedback with other potential first-timers. Denali Outdoor Center takes pride in creating whitewater enthusiasts out of first-time rafters. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We took our family of 5, kids age 13, 11, 8. We had sooo much fun. We did the scenic wilderness 2hour tour. They are a safe company. Our guide is a science teacher so that was great for the kids. It was sunny and 70 degrees out but the water is 35 degrees and you do get splashed. They give you these crazy full body feet to neck gortex suits that keep you dry. I wore fleece pants with hiking pants on top. I wore an ice breaker long sleeve top, fleece top with a light but insulated jacket. Then the gortex outfit is on top. I was not cold at all. Your hands are exposed and they dont give you gloves. I had a water resistant camera that I am so glad I brought with me. My pictures are fantastic. But your camera WILL get wet. Even though you have these crazy gortex things on your feet your socks WILL get wet. Bring extra socks to put on when you are done. Really really fun activity for a family.

2  Thank E J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Denali Outdoor Center also viewed

Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to Denali Outdoor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing