We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Camping (without really roughing it)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Furnace Creek Resort & Fiddler's Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Death Valley National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Furnace Creek Resort & Fiddler's Campground
Save
You added Furnace Creek Resort & Fiddler's Campground to your Saves list
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Camping (without really roughing it)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We spent a few nights at this campsite in October and had a great time... it almost felt too easy. For just $5/person you can buy a pool/shower pass from the Furnace Creek Ranch next door. (The hot springs pool is lovely and the pool showers are completely adequate, just bring your own soap + shampoo). The ranch also has a couple of places to eat, a grocery store (which we used frequently), and a bar. I would recommend our site (#119) which has a great view and a small tree that provides some shade. Of course, it is especially nice if you have a little room between you and the next tent... but what can you do. The star gazing is incredible, and you certainly feel like you are in the wild once all of the coyotes start howling.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank RoadtripReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    63
    28
    10
    8
See reviews for
34
75
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We have been camping at Furnace Creek for more than 30 years. We feel it is the best, most centrally totally located in the Valley. The large tamarisk trees provide shade and some protection. Two years worth of construction were well worth the inconvenience. We make our reservations well in advance every year.

We have thoroughly enjoyed the (now 93 year old) WWII veteran playing taps at 9:00 in the evening, and also enjoyed the occasional patriot song. He continues to play in two or three bands in his home city. He is a trained, professional musician. He provides a quiet time of appreciation of our surroundings and freedom. The music lasts for 5-10 minutes. He is only there for the allowed 2-week stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jody S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is a very busy campground. The restroom facilites are nice and clean. No showers available, but you can purchase a shower pass at the Furnace Creek Ranch next door and shower at the pool. The showers there are large and clean, but only two per restroom and there is no power outlet for blow drying etc. The camp spaces are not too close together and each have a large fire ring. This camp ground books up far in advance. There are also a couple restaurants next door at the Ranch and a gift shop that carries some food basics too...like bread, milk and beer, but keep in mind you are far off the grid here in Death Valley so prices are very high. For example a loaf of bread is $7.00; a 12 pk of Bud Lite is $25.00 and gas prices are almost $6.00 per gallon. Is it worth your time and effort to see this place....absolutely!! Death Valley is an amazingly beautiful place and something you will long remember.

Room Tip: Camp site #86 is a very exposed campsite on a corner. I do not recommend this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank halemano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Our family of four spent 2 nights at Furnace Creek Campground on Thanksgiving weekend. Furnace Creek Campground was the only one allowing reservations, which I had made in August. Good thing, too, because the campground was full and we were surprised at the number of people throughout the park.

Furnace Creek Campground is fairly basic camping. It has flush toilets and drinking water, but no showers. Nothing fancy, but our site was clean and well-maintained.

We stayed in the tent-only loop, site 116. This site was perfect for us--some scrubby bushes for us to nestle our tents in. Many of the other sites were wide open with no bushes, so we appreciated our little bit of privacy.

Site 116 is open to the west, so we would have baked in the afternoon sun (it got up to around 80° during the day, even in November) but our son had brought along a beach umbrella and we had welcome shade. We normally use tarps, but there are no trees. We also had only a faint breeze. In a wind, the beach umbrella wouldn't have worked.

There was no moisture in the air (it is Death Valley, after all) so after a high of 80° during the day, it quickly dropped to a low of 37° at night. So be prepared with warm-enough sleeping bags.

Two nights was the perfect amount of time for us. We went on a couple of good hikes, saw the highlights of the park, and just generally had a wonderful time.
Death Valley is truly "magnificent desolation". Many of the views are breath-taking.

I can't imagine this campground in bad weather. The dirt is extremely fine and powdery, almost like flour. Underneath it is baked into hard-pan. So if it rained, water would surely mix into a muddy slurry, or so I imagine.
As for wind--we didn't have any wind, but I imagine that fine, powdery dirt would lift up like the Dust Bowl. Just something to keep in mind when planning your trip.

All-in-all, Furnace Creek Campground was a fine base for camping and taking in the beauty of Death Valley.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank lagirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
192 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at the Furnace Creek campground for three nights in mid-November in site 150 on the walk-in side. This site is fairly large and at the top of the loop, so you aren't sandwiched in with other campers. It doesn't have many trees, which was fine for our stay because it wasn't very windy. The biggest drawbacks to this campground are no showers and the fire pits are very shallow so they are hard to cook on. For $5 per person you can use the showers and pool at the Furnace Creek Ranch - we did this one night and our kids all went swimming, so it was worth the money but sort of a hassle as the FC Ranch is not walking distance (at least not carrying towels, a change of clothes, and shower stuff). The plus is it was only $18 per night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pat909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

It's just like any other National Park campground.
You arrive, pick a site, pay at the terminal and you're all set.
You get your own picknick table and most (but not all) campsites are large enough. Restrooms were not very clean but still ok. No showers.
During our stay, it stormed out there which made it quite special.
We got a drink at the nearby ranch.
At 12$ a night, it's what you can expect of a NP campground.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank kly86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We unfortunately could only stay one night, if you're there to see all the sights of Death Valley, you definetly need at least an extra night, but was OK since I've been there many times. We stayed in the "walk-in tent loop" section which is very quiet since there are no RV's/generators to deal with. The campground is conveniently located so you can walk to the golf course, store, restaurant, bar, etc. Very friendly and helpful camp hosts. Looking forward to staying there again in the Spring!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MelissaLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Death Valley National Park hotels
18.9 mi away
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Reso...
#1 of 4 in Death Valley National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 4,884 reviews
46.1 mi away
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel
#1 of 1 in Death Valley Junction
3.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
#2 of 4 in Death Valley National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furnace Creek Resort & Fiddler's Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furnace Creek Resort & Fiddler's Campground

Property: Furnace Creek Resort & Fiddler's Campground
Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Location: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Death Valley National Park
Number of rooms: 129
Also Known As:
Furnace Creek Campground Hotel Death Valley National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing