We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“Good place to see a local history”
Review of Scotty's Castle

Scotty's Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$214.99*
and up
Death Valley Day Trip from Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scotty's Castle CLOSED until 2019 due to flood damage. This 1920s vacation home in the desert was built by insurance magnate Albert Johnson. However, at the time most people believed it belonged to Death Valley Scotty, who claimed to have a secret gold mine in the tunnels beneath it. 99% of the contents are original from when the Johnssons vacationed there in the 1920s and 1930s. You can walk the grounds or read the exhibits in the visitor center for free. However, access to the House, Underground, or Lower Vine Ranch are by guided tour only. You can reserve tickets before 9pm the previous day, or tickets are usually available to customers upon arrival.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good place to see a local history”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Scotty’s Castle is a very interesting historical and architectural object. Each man - rich like A.Johnson and poor like W.Scott (and many more) lived in Death Valley and they are a part of history here.
Tour guide, (a young lady -park ranger) was very good by explaining a lot of historical details and even made theatrical show as tour guide of 1930-ties: when she took of her heat, she personified a castle guide of 1930-ties. When her heat was on – we were back in 21-st century again. Such guide effort definitely added charm to entire tour. Do not miss Scotty’s Castle – it is worth to see it!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank billytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    143
    56
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minden, NV
Level Contributor
117 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Guide made the experience unpleasant”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I have been looking forward to seeing this Castle for years and finally had an opportunity last week while spending 4 days in Death Valley. We went with another couple who had been on the different tours 4 x. They had given us a lot of information about the place and we had read up on the main characters that made Scotty's Castle a reality. We have been to many different historical attractions and often the docents are volunteers but we have always had the best experience with their knowledge and passion for the attractions. Not so here. The guide is a PARK RANGER who is paid to do this. Our guide dressed in the 30s outfit of a paperboy with blue jeans and blue jean shirt and sideways hat. He was almost autistic like in that he never made eye contact, he mumbled in a basic monotone and he kept his eyes closed most of the time except to read from a book. He was not well versed on the Castle (my friends learned more from the other tours and had not shared all the tidbits because they wanted us to see it for ourselves and were disappointed when most of the tidbits were left out). We did not enjoy the lecture as could not understand him most of the time due to his mumbling way. The Castle is great and is a must see and is absolutely fascinating. My favorite part with the marvelous organ - it was a wonder. Do go, but beware of that "park ranger" guide.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank christeenmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abby W, Manager at Scotty's Castle, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
I'm sorry you didn't have a good experience. I think I know which guide you had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Gotta do this one.”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Scotty's Castle is about 1 hour from Furnace Creek. They offer 2 different tours, one of the Castle and one of the underground. It seems some of today's technology was being used back in the 1930's. I took over 100 pictures of the castle and surrounding properties. There is a fee for this one, $15 for individual tours and $25 if you take both tours. Alex was our guide for the castle and she was amazing. Lots of history here.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Scotty Was a Con Artist”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

What a great story. Our NPS tour guide was excellent. The preservation and story of the "con" is well worth the drive. Reservations are a must. Nice trees and rough grass to hang out and have a picnic. The public is welcome to walk around and explore the grounds. Nice original stage coach and cars are on view in the old stables.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“great fun”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The Park Service gives a wonderful tour of this very interesting site and the owners--very colorful and fun. This is well worth the 1 hour drive from Furnace Creek.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scotty's Castle also viewed

Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley National Park, CA
 
Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley National Park, CA
 

Been to Scotty's Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing