We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awe Inspiring.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dante's View

Dante's View
Dante's View Rd. off Rte. 190, 30 mi south of Furnace Creek, Death Valley National Park, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$209*
and up
Small-Group Death Valley National Park Day Trip...
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tacoma, WA
Level Contributor
290 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Awe Inspiring.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I used to be stationed at nearby Fort Irwin. While there, I went to Death Valley several times and thought I had seen almost everything that Death Valley has to offer, but I had never driven up to Dante's View. What a mistake that was. After having taken the 13 mile drive from CA-190, I can honestly say that the view from Dante's View is one of the most photogenic of any National Park. I came to Death Valley to say that I had been to the lowest spot in North America, but the highlight of my visit was Dante's View. You should go too.

Vehicles over 25 feet and trailers are prohibited from the last couple of miles on the road and you should heed that warning. There are a few tight spots where you could easily become stuck. Ther is a spot where you can unhitch and park a trailer.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank County-Hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Nipomo, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Map and binoculars add value to the spectacular view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

About 40 min. from Furnace Creek Ranch up to 5.000 ft.+ for panoramic view of DV. Overlooks Badwater, lowest point in USA. Scenic and well-paved road, with turnouts and parking to leave trailers, which are prohibited higher up. Parking and short walking trails to vista points at summit. At the time I visited the wind was 30-40 mph, rocking parked vehicles back and forth. Also it was cool enough for a jacket while 90 degrees down at Badwater.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Stunning view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This is well worth seeing in Death Valley, and is rivalled only by Padre Crowley's point for the spectacular view. Highly recommended!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank so3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newland, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awe inspiring view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We were told by a park ranger to skip Badwater basin and see this instead. He was absolutely correct. The view was breathtaking.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank drcarpenter70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickenburg, Arizona
Level Contributor
690 reviews
406 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 571 helpful votes
“On top of the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This viewpoint is at the top of the mountain, on a breathtaking lofty height above the valley, with Badwater and the salt flats laid out at your feet. This is one of the best - if not THE best - views of the valley. You can look far up and down the main valley and across at the range to the west, and it is simply breathtakingly stunning. This viewpoint is best in the morning with the sun still in your back. You can drive up – all paved – to the parking lot, but trailers and very long vehicles – such as those behemoth RVs – can’t negotiate the last part with the very steep and tight switchbacks. There’s a parking lot below the peak where trailers can be left.
There’s a good view from right there at the parking look at the top, but a trail to north and south leads to some great spots from which to see what feels like all of Death Valley. These extra miles off 190 east off the Zabriskie Point – Badwater – Furnace Creek Ranch intersection are well worth it – the reward is stupendous!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Esty666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dante's View also viewed

Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley National Park, CA
 
Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley National Park, CA
 

Been to Dante's View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing