We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A.MA.ZING.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dante's View

Dante's View
Book In Advance
$208.99*
and up
Small-Group Death Valley National Park Day Trip from Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Makawao, Hawaii
Level Contributor
129 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A.MA.ZING.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Dante's View is an overview of Death Valley. Don't miss it. It is way up high, so it is very COLD and WINDY! So dress accordingly (not just a winter coat, but a hat, scarf, gloves! Seriously!). You'll be miserable if you don't bundle up. The view is seriously amazing, and you can hike/walk quite a ways for more views if you are bundled up enough.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Annalisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,229
    229
    33
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
stratford upon avon
Level Contributor
210 reviews
147 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Well worth the drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

We drove to Dante's View on our way back to Las Vegas as it was the last sight to see, we were not disappointed the view takes your breath away, we had been to the valley where the temperature was at 118f so it was a welcome change to have a cool breeze blowing, I took a panoramic view with my camera as it is difficult to explain to friends the beauty when we go back home.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“What a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Had been to Death Valley before but missed going up to Dante's View. OMG what a view. Take a jacket with you as although it was in the high 90f in the valley floor you are about 8000 feet plus high and late morning it was only about 54F. The views are simply breath taking and nothing like I have seen before. Well worth the drive from Vegas. A view not to be missed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Sunrise spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

It is half hour drive from the DV resort centre up and up the switchback road to a large car park. From there you can take footpaths to get a little higher, and the view across the valley is amazing. The sun comes up behind you and we watched the peaks changing colour as the sky got lighter and the colours appeared. Well worth the effort and we came away with great photographs, though how those guys did it on bikes..... Wow, they must be fit!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
313 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“One of our favourite parts of our DV trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Heading out of Death Valley, this was one of our final stops on our 2 day adventure and boy did we save the best til last. Amazing views and a lovely drop in temperature after the scorching heat of DV.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindsay-and-Neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dante's View also viewed

Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley National Park, CA
 
Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley National Park, CA
 

Been to Dante's View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing