We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“What a view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dante's View

Dante's View
Book In Advance
$209*
and up
Small-Group Death Valley National Park Day Trip from Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“What a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Had been to Death Valley before but missed going up to Dante's View. OMG what a view. Take a jacket with you as although it was in the high 90f in the valley floor you are about 8000 feet plus high and late morning it was only about 54F. The views are simply breath taking and nothing like I have seen before. Well worth the drive from Vegas. A view not to be missed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,062
    199
    29
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Sunrise spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

It is half hour drive from the DV resort centre up and up the switchback road to a large car park. From there you can take footpaths to get a little higher, and the view across the valley is amazing. The sun comes up behind you and we watched the peaks changing colour as the sky got lighter and the colours appeared. Well worth the effort and we came away with great photographs, though how those guys did it on bikes..... Wow, they must be fit!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
299 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“One of our favourite parts of our DV trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Heading out of Death Valley, this was one of our final stops on our 2 day adventure and boy did we save the best til last. Amazing views and a lovely drop in temperature after the scorching heat of DV.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindsay-and-Neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
149 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Sunset vistas are beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

While visiting Death Valley, Dante's View is a great place to see some beautiful vistas of Badwater Basin at sunset.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank maloney1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The 13 mile drive leads to a 1/2 mile hike to the vista, an early morning trek is just breathtaking!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Geneva K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dante's View also viewed

Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley National Park, CA
 
Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley National Park, CA
 

Been to Dante's View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing