We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Las Vegas airport o Dantes View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dante's View

Dante's View
Book In Advance
$209*
and up
Small-Group Death Valley National Park Day Trip from Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Las Vegas airport o Dantes View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Can a fellow tripper help us to identify the best route out of Las Vegas Airport to Dantes View in Death Valley please. We'll be picking up a hire car about 11am ish at the airport and overnighting at Furnace Creek Resort before travelling on to Yosemite. Can we "do" Dantes View and journey on to Furnace Creek with it being a "rush"?
Does anyone know the best route from Death Valley to Yosemite - we've been told to journey via Fresno but it seems way out - are there road closures in May which resulted in this advice?

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank redfox68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,062
    199
    29
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mohave Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
131 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best View in Death Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The drive to Dante's View is well worth the extra time. Be sure to stop here for the best view of Death Valley National Park.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank sweetatr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, Utah
Level Contributor
187 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A great view of Death Valley and the salt flats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We were at Dantes on 2/20 and found it to be a great view on the valley. Be prepared for some wind and cooler tempatures (we ended up wearing our winter coats and gloves) but the view is worth it. You get a good view from the parking lot but hike the 1/4 mile out to the overlook for a better view.
The drive up is paved and pretty easy, the last 1/4 is a bit twisty and steep but nothing to worry about. Overall it took us about 1/2 hour to make the drive.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great views, but time of the day is important”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I think Dante's view is the perfect destination - the views are awesome, the road is beautiful.
I believe the height of that place is just right for the views you see, we also visited Aguereberry Point which is at higher elevation and while it was also very nice I liked Dante's view more.
But the time of the day is important - we had to go there twice, because first time we got there after sunrise at Zabriskiy point (like 1.5 hour after sunrise) and part of the Valley was in a shade, so we couldn't take good pictures, so we went there for the second time in the middle of the day and were able to see the whole valley.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank seaagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Possibly one of the most beautiful view points on earth, it's a photographers paradise. It is a must when visiting Death Valley. Easy access via paved and well maintained road and parking lot.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Meraj A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dante's View also viewed

Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley National Park, CA
 
Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley National Park, CA
 

Been to Dante's View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing